We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely guesthouse with kind owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zouar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dar Zouar
Ranked #433 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely guesthouse with kind owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I had booked the Riad only for one night, after a trip to the desert and had planned to travel to Meknes the day after. Unfortunately I was trapped with stomach problems, after eating something wrong during the trip and Thierry, the owner of Dar Zouar, was very kind, making sure I could stay in my room the whole next day and night with somebody around all the time, eventhough I was the only guest that day. He also had the maid cook me some rice without charging anything extra. I really recovered well because of the nice environment and friendly assistance. The guesthouse is located in a less touristy area, a bit further from the Djemaa El-Fna square, but nice and quiet and easy to access with the car from the close Bab Taghzout gate of town. It has the flair of a historic building with a beautiful internal courtyard and a rooftop terrace and is great value for the price!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are brighter and have a lovely view into the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    38
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
61
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a very good stay at Da Zouar at the end of May 2013. The room was cleaned everyday to a very high standard, beds and towels were changed and the room remained cool throughout the day. We made made the most of the Riad, spending time on the lovely roof terrace and the equally tranquil courtyard. Breakfast was lovely, especially the Msemen with Honey and the coffee. The staff were also very helpful and polite, helping us out wih directions and recommendations of places to visit. We had a little issue a few days into our trip, but this was resolved immediately by Thierry and we continued our holiday as planned. Location seems a little confusing on the first day, but take a day to explore by foot and you will soon get an idea of the area. The walk to the Souk is around 10 minutes and to Jeema El-Fna is around 20 minutes, which seems like no time at all when there is so much going on around you.

We would most definitely return to Da Zouar in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewhitmore31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at the Riad for two separate nights in the same trip, the second night was organised at the last minute and they were very accommodating. We stayed in different rooms and both were light, airy and very clean. Both breakfast and dinner were lovely, despite the early/late time we requested them.... service was excellent.
We would recommend this Riad for a stay in Marrakech for its location and value but mostly because it is a little oasis of clam and comfort in the heart of the bustling city!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed four nights at Dar Zouar. Truly a clean and quiet oasis within the bustling and, at times, tiring Medina. Thierry and his staff are helpful and friendly. The wifi can be at times spotty, and the breakfasts could have used more than just breads, spreads, and yogurt, but otherwise this was a delightfully unexpected luxury for our Marrakesh experience. The location is a bit hidden, but the folks nearby tend to have better things to do than bother you for a handout. There is a parking lot just outside the gate where a taxi can pick you up and drop you off.

If you're looking for an authentic Medina experience at a low cost, but without skimping on cleanliness or comfort, I highly recommend Riad Dar Zouar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

One of the best value deals you probably get in Marrakech. This riad is very hard to find on yourself. However, that does reflect the charm of the medina of Marrakech. It is located in an interesting, bustling part of the medina, away from the tourist trapping and hazzling people ("Square? Square! This way! - pointing the wrong direction). The location is authentic, staff very friendly and helpfull. When you're in Marrakech it is an oasis of rest and charm, including its roof top terrace and spacious rooms. And even the square (if you're interested) is in walking distance, as is - for example - the Jardin Majorelle in the new town.

The only downside I can think of in this riad is that you can easily hear the noise coming from other rooms (or people in different rooms communicating through the atrium). Unfortunately I got sick one of the four nights we stayed here. I can imagine I have woken up some of the other guests at least three times that night...

One night we decided to skip the crowds and have dinner in the riad itself (possible if you make the reservation earlier that day). Surprisingly, the meal was one of the best we had in Morocco! It was served - like the breakfast - in a living room like area of the riad which made us actually feel special guests with private service. :-)

Alltogether I would definately recommended this place to any couple seeking a comfortable and calm retreat in the middle of the medina.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runneeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed for one night in the Dar Zouar hotel in Marrakech, and didn't want to leave. This hotel encaptures some of the amazing contrasts to be found in Marrakech, from the chaos of the medina into the peace, style and comfort of this riad. The hospitality offered by Thierry and his team was wonderful, the delicious breakfast and coffee was the best we had in Marrakech. The room we had was so pretty and comfortable, and just sitting in the courtyard watching the birdlife was a pleasure. One outstanding feature was that on arrival my daughter had an upset stomach and one of Thierry's staff made her homemade thyme tea to help it settle. A home from home.

Room Tip: our room was stylish and comfortable, and we peeped in at the other rooms and found them to be simil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iluvexploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

it was a short but beautiful stay. quiet and comfy..thanks to Thierry and his dedicated team. its not very far from medina too....and yes the people are always ready to show you the way....rooms are traditionally decorated. rooms with shower and lockers..rooftop garden .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Amssaffah
Riad Amssaffah
#479 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#430 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Kennaria
Hotel El Kennaria
#391 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad El Faris
Riad El Faris
#448 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jnane Mogador
Jnane Mogador
#200 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zouar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zouar

Property: Dar Zouar
Address: 14 Derb Marhouk | Bab Taghzout, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Zouar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the far end of a small quiet street in the serenity of the Marrakech medina; at the heart of the old quarter of Sidi bel Abbess; 5 minutes away from the infamous " Place Jamaa el Fna; the riad " Dar Zouar " (house of visitors) is an authentic and peaceful guest house, renovated with precision and flair in the Moroccan tradition. Dar Zouar has preserved the essential of the legendary Moroccan charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Budget Places, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Dar Zouar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing