We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, friendly, homely place :)”
Review of Dar Zouar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Zouar
Ranked #498 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Only stayed one night but would have loved to have stayed longer... The welcome and introduction by Thierry on arrival was great, very helpful. The room was lovely and had a nice homely feeling. The place had a lovely atmosphere - open, friendly and relaxed. The area surrounding is hectic, busy, fun... and a little intimidating.. but thats all part of the experience! Overall, i would definitely reccommend this place and would love to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizardcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 147 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2011

We have recently returned from our third trip to this enchanting riad... and we are still loving it.

Each time again we are amazed by the tranquility and peace and quiet this riad offers. As soon as you set foot through the door, the hussle and bustle of the medina seems to disappear and instead you are surrounded by silence only interrupted by bird song... it's simply an enchanting experience!

Thierry is a brilliant host and will ensure that your stay is enjoyable in every aspect.

When you stay here, a meal cooked by Amina to eat in is an absolute MUST - we look forward to it every time we go.

The rooms are truely comfortable - even with 36 degrees outside in July and the decoration is truly Moroccan and very 1000 and 1 night.

A big plus in our eyes is the location of the riad. dar zouar is in a more authentic part of the Medina far from the Club Meds and this makes you experience the real Morocco.

It's so much more than value for money...

Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pixiescove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Brilliant hotel with lovely rooms, delicious breakfasts and very hospital staff. Special thanks to Mr. Thierry for his recommendations on where to buy the same tableware they have in the hotel =)
The only negative point is location. But it's Marrakech and it's anyway a kind of chaos.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hel0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

The place is really awesome! The pictures shown on line are exactly what they have and more. It is cosy, the owner is very kind and the assistant Mohammed is very thoughtful. The place is quiet and breakfast is delicious. Me, my partner and my mom shared a awesome bedroom full of comfort. Wifi Internet is free and connects really good. The area is quiet and safe. going to the souks and the market is easy. There is a taxi stop nearby which is really convenient. Marrakech is a beautiful city and the place is so nice perfect stay ... hopefully we will come back! Thanks! Merci.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gilberto40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Red Room, which looks amazing from the photos. The entire riad is peaceful and quiet from the outside hustle/bustle due to the thick walls. The only thing that bothered me was the unbearable smell from the bathroom, almost as if the toilet had overflowed and no amount of cleaning was going to remove the stench from the cracks in the floor.

Otherwise, the place is lovely, service is excellent, and the inner courtyard is so peaceful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAbeachbum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Dar Zouar fulfilled all our expectations - tucked away down an alley, but less than a minute to the bustle of Bab Tagzout. We were met at the airport and swifltly transferred to Dar Zouar - definitely worth being met, as it might be a little baffling to find otherwise.
We really enjoyed being a little way away from the souks and the frenzy, as it gave us a much better idea of normal life in the Medina. It's twenty minutes at most to the main square, so quite an easy walk. Thierry and Co were all very friendly and helpful, and we felt very relaxed and at home. Delicious breakfasts and an easy, relaxed atmosphere. Lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DevonFatima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I stayed at Dar Zouar last month with my three teenage daughters and we had an excellent stay. It complimented a memorable week's visit to Marrakech - our first time in Morocco. My daughters quickly adapted to the bustle of being in the old town and we did a lot in one week both in Marrakech and on several day trips. The owner Thierry was very helpful and I hope we can go back soon for another stay - my wife missed the trip because of work and she is very envious of all the things we did!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeremysetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#100 of 501 in Marrakech
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 501 in Marrakech
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 501 in Marrakech
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 501 in Marrakech
1,279 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
2.9 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#203 of 501 in Marrakech
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zouar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zouar

Address: 14 Derb Marhouk | Bab Taghzout, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #498 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $39 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Zouar 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the far end of a small quiet street in the serenity of the Marrakech medina; at the heart of the old quarter of Sidi bel Abbess; 5 minutes away from the infamous " Place Jamaa el Fna; the riad " Dar Zouar " (house of visitors) is an authentic and peaceful guest house, renovated with precision and flair in the Moroccan tradition. Dar Zouar has preserved the essential of the legendary Moroccan charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Zouar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing