We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Houdou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Houdou
Ranked #18 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant Riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in Marrakech for about 5 days and stayed in Riad Houdou for the last night. Everything was fantastic, the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was the best we had in the whole of our trip and the Riad is just beautiful in general. I especially liked the Tortoise and Kitten which live downstairs in the courtyard.

If you are thinking of staying in Marrakech I cant recommend this Riad more highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
dear Adam,
Thank you so much for this so warm review! We are very happy that you enjoy your stay in our riad. And our cook, Rajaa is very proud to know that her food is the best you have taste in Morocco. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    49
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
150
252
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The stay at the Riad made the whole trip to Marrakesh stand out in my memories of my trip to Morocco. Erik and Didier are the most welcoming people I have ever met. The Riad's location and the warm atmosphere can not be beat. The most delicious food I had on my trip prepared by Rajaa and Fatima can not be found anywhere else. The welcoming smile and dimples of Azziz are such a heart warming memory. This place is a MUST stay when traveling to Marrakesh! Thanks Erik and Didier! You both will forever be in my memories of Morocco!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello Jennifer. Thank you so much for your warming review! We have spent a very pleasant evening with your company and it has been a great pleasure to receive you. I'm very happy to noticed that you have a good memories of your stay. All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilsen-Stokkem, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

It was a lovely Riad to stay. Every thing was taken care of. It is strange but true there is nothing I can say that was not good. We enjoyed everything. The hamam and scrub. Massage. The company of Erik, Didier. The food of Rajaa en Fatima Zahra and the big smile of Azziz. O sorry I nearly forget the king of the Riad WARID. A place I certainly recomend to our friends. We will go again.

Room Tip: We had the suite which was a lovely room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
It was a pleasure to meet your family. We have spent a lot of very pleasant evening in your company. And of course our little Wahid missed Yasmine! We hope to see you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Throughout our holidays in Morocco we enjoyed many different accommodations amongst them a number of Riads in different cities. But without hesitation we can say that the Riad Houdou has been the most inviting, wonderful, inspirational place that we stayed at. It was as if being at home: An oasis in the heart of Marrakech's Medina and our hosts would be available for help whenever necessary. Fabulous!


Thank you! We'll be back - that is absolutely certain and a promise!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello Doris. It is an honor for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our riad. Thank you so much for this very warm and enthusiastic review. It will be a pleasure to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights in Marrakesh, what an experience with its bustling, energetic lifestyle! But thank goodness for Riad Houdou's calm and relaxing atmosphere. Didier and Eric could not have been more welcoming, they went out of their way to ensure we had everything we could need or want. The refurbishment has been done so well and the food was sublime, we high recommend staying here if you get the chance and you want the best experience in Morroco.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrnsey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind review. It is an honor to read that for you, we are the best riad in Marrakech. We continue to do our best to keep this award!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aljezur, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our first trip to Marrakech and on arrival my wife and I hadn't slept for 24 hours, tense and not knowing what to expect we were greeted by the immaculate and elegant Eric and Didier who made us feel welcome and immediately at ease, during our three day stay they helped us at every turn, their willingness to answer questions and assist made us feel comfortable about asking more.

The interior design of this small romantic Riad is breathtaking, it's heart is Moroccan but there are other influences to be found. All that you see, touch and smell within is beautiful and interesting. The warmth, love and life experience not to mention hard work that went into the recently completed refurbishment (undertaken by Erik and Didier) is inspiring. The food is superb, breakfast hours flexible (we had ours at 11.30 one morning after an enjoyable evening with our hosts) the staff very well chosen, beds are extremely comfortable, and its well situated inside the Medina.
my wife and I enjoyed Marrakech a great deal and we are already planning our next trip, Neither of us would consider staying anywhere else but the Riad Houdou.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Alastair. It was a real pleasure to receive you and Elena in the riad. I'm very touched by your review. We try to receive our guest as if they were friends, and it's very grateful to realize that you feel it. We hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We arrived by car and got perfect directions. The Riad is completely refurbished last year and it shows, lovely rooms and common area's, a small pool and a roof terrace. Our suite was perfect for a family, spacious and cosy.The dinner provided is great and freshly made everyday. Ask for the local speciality, Tanger, which is simmered in te Hamman ovens over for 7 hours.
Didier was very helpful but never to much. Next time in Marrakech we will definitely stay inn Riad Houdou.

Room Tip: We had the suite, very spacious and 4 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Offemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family. It is important for us to help you to discover somme specialities of Marrakech as the tanjia. i'm happy that you enjoyed this meal. We hope to see you and Wahid, the cat, missed sophie's caress!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#12 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#11 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#13 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#25 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#20 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#23 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Houdou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Houdou

Property: Riad Houdou
Address: 54 Derb el Hammam, el Moukef | Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#152 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#167 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historical quarters and typical of the medina of Marrakech, the ryad Houdou is a masonry of the XVIIe century, middle-class old property of a rich family astronomers. Associating traditional architecture and a contemporary furnishing, the decoration of the riad reflects Morocco and our personality. Living on the place, we want to give again all his direction with the concept of guest house. Here, you will discover expatriation all while feeling you as on your premise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Houdou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Houdou Marrakech
Riad Houdou Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing