We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,027)
Filter reviews
1,027 results
Traveler rating
955
60
3
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
955
60
3
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square mint tea yogurt homemade jams perfect hosts other guests private terrace an oasis first morning the hustle and bustle the entire staff authentic experience atlas mountains tagine every morning hammam and massage a wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 1,027 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights in Marrakesh, what an experience with its bustling, energetic lifestyle! But thank goodness for Riad Houdou's calm and relaxing atmosphere. Didier and Eric could not have been more welcoming, they went out of their way to ensure we had everything we could need or want. The refurbishment has been done so well and the food was sublime, we high recommend staying here if you get the chance and you want the best experience in Morroco.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byrnsey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thanks a lot for your kind review. It is an honor to read that for you, we are the best riad in Marrakech. We continue to do our best to keep this award!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our first trip to Marrakech and on arrival my wife and I hadn't slept for 24 hours, tense and not knowing what to expect we were greeted by the immaculate and elegant Eric and Didier who made us feel welcome and immediately at ease, during our three day stay they helped us at every turn, their willingness to answer questions and assist made us feel comfortable about asking more.

The interior design of this small romantic Riad is breathtaking, it's heart is Moroccan but there are other influences to be found. All that you see, touch and smell within is beautiful and interesting. The warmth, love and life experience not to mention hard work that went into the recently completed refurbishment (undertaken by Erik and Didier) is inspiring. The food is superb, breakfast hours flexible (we had ours at 11.30 one morning after an enjoyable evening with our hosts) the staff very well chosen, beds are extremely comfortable, and its well situated inside the Medina.
my wife and I enjoyed Marrakech a great deal and we are already planning our next trip, Neither of us would consider staying anywhere else but the Riad Houdou.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Hello Alastair. It was a real pleasure to receive you and Elena in the riad. I'm very touched by your review. We try to receive our guest as if they were friends, and it's very grateful to realize that you feel it. We hope to see you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We arrived by car and got perfect directions. The Riad is completely refurbished last year and it shows, lovely rooms and common area's, a small pool and a roof terrace. Our suite was perfect for a family, spacious and cosy.The dinner provided is great and freshly made everyday. Ask for the local speciality, Tanger, which is simmered in te Hamman ovens over for 7 hours.
Didier was very helpful but never to much. Next time in Marrakech we will definitely stay inn Riad Houdou.

Room tip: We had the suite, very spacious and 4 beds.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Offemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family. It is important for us to help you to discover somme specialities of Marrakech as the tanjia. i'm happy that you enjoyed this meal. We hope to see you and Wahid, the cat, missed sophie's caress!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Riad Houdou is really exceptional! Its a small, romantic and warm place to stay in the centre of the Medina of Marrakech. Very warm and friendly owners who are willing to make you feel at home. If you want you can also take the lunch or dinner, really wonderful maroccan food.
We will return one day.....

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you very much for this kind review. You come back when you want, the maroco sun you enjoy so much will wait for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

For my 50 years birthday, my wife organised a 3 days trip in Marrakech and reserved the suite of this beautiful riad.
The small street leading to the riad is awful, but once you're there ... it's a world apart : rarely had I seen an hotel where each corner, each piece has been selected or decorated with so much taste and care.
The owners and the personnel are warm and kind, and take care of your wishes : Didier, one of the owner, even brought us to a short night tour of Marrakech (the riad is in the heart of the souk, few minutes from place Jemal El Fna).
There is no restaurant in the riad, but dinners can be arranged on demand ; we had a dinner in the patio with a great tajine lamb.
Not to forget also Aziz's mint tea and the breakfast in the terrace.
Last but not least : it was end of April, sunny and 30° in the day. More than a holiday, was a privilege...

Room tip: The suite is really superb. Ask Didier to collect you at the airport, otherwise getting to the riad isn't easy
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ma22Genova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Massimo. It was an honor that your wife choose our riad to celebrate your birthday. We are very happy that you enjoy your stay. You know, it is the principle of the riad to be a peaceful house preserved from outside. It is a little bit strong to say that the street is awful… In the medina, all the derb seems poor, but for example our familial derb is also shinny when the sun reflect on the marrakech red wall.
We hope to see you again. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews