We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Simply fabulous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Houdou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Houdou
Ranked #19 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Accra
Level Contributor
11 reviews
“Simply fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Throughout our holidays in Morocco we enjoyed many different accommodations amongst them a number of Riads in different cities. But without hesitation we can say that the Riad Houdou has been the most inviting, wonderful, inspirational place that we stayed at. It was as if being at home: An oasis in the heart of Marrakech's Medina and our hosts would be available for help whenever necessary. Fabulous!


Thank you! We'll be back - that is absolutely certain and a promise!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello Doris. It is an honor for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our riad. Thank you so much for this very warm and enthusiastic review. It will be a pleasure to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    51
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
161
269
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights in Marrakesh, what an experience with its bustling, energetic lifestyle! But thank goodness for Riad Houdou's calm and relaxing atmosphere. Didier and Eric could not have been more welcoming, they went out of their way to ensure we had everything we could need or want. The refurbishment has been done so well and the food was sublime, we high recommend staying here if you get the chance and you want the best experience in Morroco.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrnsey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kind review. It is an honor to read that for you, we are the best riad in Marrakech. We continue to do our best to keep this award!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aljezur, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our first trip to Marrakech and on arrival my wife and I hadn't slept for 24 hours, tense and not knowing what to expect we were greeted by the immaculate and elegant Eric and Didier who made us feel welcome and immediately at ease, during our three day stay they helped us at every turn, their willingness to answer questions and assist made us feel comfortable about asking more.

The interior design of this small romantic Riad is breathtaking, it's heart is Moroccan but there are other influences to be found. All that you see, touch and smell within is beautiful and interesting. The warmth, love and life experience not to mention hard work that went into the recently completed refurbishment (undertaken by Erik and Didier) is inspiring. The food is superb, breakfast hours flexible (we had ours at 11.30 one morning after an enjoyable evening with our hosts) the staff very well chosen, beds are extremely comfortable, and its well situated inside the Medina.
my wife and I enjoyed Marrakech a great deal and we are already planning our next trip, Neither of us would consider staying anywhere else but the Riad Houdou.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Alastair. It was a real pleasure to receive you and Elena in the riad. I'm very touched by your review. We try to receive our guest as if they were friends, and it's very grateful to realize that you feel it. We hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We arrived by car and got perfect directions. The Riad is completely refurbished last year and it shows, lovely rooms and common area's, a small pool and a roof terrace. Our suite was perfect for a family, spacious and cosy.The dinner provided is great and freshly made everyday. Ask for the local speciality, Tanger, which is simmered in te Hamman ovens over for 7 hours.
Didier was very helpful but never to much. Next time in Marrakech we will definitely stay inn Riad Houdou.

Room Tip: We had the suite, very spacious and 4 beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Offemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family. It is important for us to help you to discover somme specialities of Marrakech as the tanjia. i'm happy that you enjoyed this meal. We hope to see you and Wahid, the cat, missed sophie's caress!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duiven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Riad Houdou is really exceptional! Its a small, romantic and warm place to stay in the centre of the Medina of Marrakech. Very warm and friendly owners who are willing to make you feel at home. If you want you can also take the lunch or dinner, really wonderful maroccan food.
We will return one day.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you very much for this kind review. You come back when you want, the maroco sun you enjoy so much will wait for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genova
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

For my 50 years birthday, my wife organised a 3 days trip in Marrakech and reserved the suite of this beautiful riad.
The small street leading to the riad is awful, but once you're there ... it's a world apart : rarely had I seen an hotel where each corner, each piece has been selected or decorated with so much taste and care.
The owners and the personnel are warm and kind, and take care of your wishes : Didier, one of the owner, even brought us to a short night tour of Marrakech (the riad is in the heart of the souk, few minutes from place Jemal El Fna).
There is no restaurant in the riad, but dinners can be arranged on demand ; we had a dinner in the patio with a great tajine lamb.
Not to forget also Aziz's mint tea and the breakfast in the terrace.
Last but not least : it was end of April, sunny and 30° in the day. More than a holiday, was a privilege...

Room Tip: The suite is really superb. Ask Didier to collect you at the airport, otherwise getting to the riad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ma22Genova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Massimo. It was an honor that your wife choose our riad to celebrate your birthday. We are very happy that you enjoy your stay. You know, it is the principle of the riad to be a peaceful house preserved from outside. It is a little bit strong to say that the street is awful… In the medina, all the derb seems poor, but for example our familial derb is also shinny when the sun reflect on the marrakech red wall.
We hope to see you again. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I can only say that this riad is PERFECT, and Eric and Didier are lovely, very warm, kind and helpful. They were always ready to help and to show us interesting places in Marrakech. Raja, her sister and Aziz are also wonderful, they made our stay so comfortable. The riad is marvellous, extremely clean and very nicely decorated. We recommend it to everybody, it´s quiet and peaceful, with excellent breakfasts! Thanks again Eric, Didier and all your team for the wonderful days that we had at your riad!
Lohitzune & Rosana

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lohitzune L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didieric, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you Lohitzune and Rosanna for this enthousiastic review. We hope to see you another time. Friendly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#13 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#27 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#18 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Houdou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Houdou

Property: Riad Houdou
Address: 54 Derb el Hammam, el Moukef | Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#151 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#166 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Houdou 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historical quarters and typical of the medina of Marrakech, the ryad Houdou is a masonry of the XVIIe century, middle-class old property of a rich family astronomers. Associating traditional architecture and a contemporary furnishing, the decoration of the riad reflects Morocco and our personality. Living on the place, we want to give again all his direction with the concept of guest house. Here, you will discover expatriation all while feeling you as on your premise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Houdou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Houdou Marrakech
Riad Houdou Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing