We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little piece of heaven on earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Houdou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Houdou
Ranked #18 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven on earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

For all those that want to feel truly and pleasantly surprised, try the Riad Houdou! When the driver dropped us off and we were guided through a maze of little streets of the medina (old city) we were wondering where we had landed! But once the door to the Riad Houdou opens, it is as if you enter a piece of heaven on earth. This beautiful Riad has recently been redecorated in a very elegant style but keeping with the traditions of the country. The Riad is held by two very nice French men, who have given us a warm friendly welcome and who have been most helpful during our trip (showing us the way through the medina, giving us tips, changing their menu to suit our desires, etc). One night we stayed in and had a lovely dinner in the court yard with other guests and nice traditional music. If you are looking for a friendly clean place with cosy ambiance, then try out this Riad! We stayed there for four days in October and had a lovely time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douzemai, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello Christina. Thanks a lot for your kindly reviews! best regards from riad houdou's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    49
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
150
252
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

I have been in the wonderful place a few weeks ago..The place is clean and tidy and sitting in that roof terrace you could feel the energy of the authentic medina. You can always take a dip in the pool if you want. As a vegetarian, i loved the authentic morrocan food served by the ever smiling cook. I loved the fresh oranges she would pick for us from the garden for the breakfast..and as a yoga and meditation teacher , I found a wonderful place on the roof terrace with fresh air and great view. I would totally recommend it!.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with roof terrace..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kannan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houdou, Propriétaire at Riad Houdou, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Google Translation
Cher Jean

Merci beaucoup pour cet avis élogieux et pour vos recommandations Cela nous fait très plaisir de lire que vous avez apprécié votre séjour parmi nous.
Nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous revoir un de ces jours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed here with my husband in April. At first I was a bit disappointed because the rooms were not quite as presented in the photos in Trip Advisor. i.e. no curtains or scatter cushions and the low wattage made the rooms appear dulll/dingy when we arrived in the evening.
However, once I got used to the fact that a Riad is not like a hotel I enjoyed the difference and the romance of it.
We ate there the first night and the food was great.
Zhara gave us a guided tour to the Square the next day, explained where everything was and made sure we knew our way back thorugh the maze of the Medina. She also gave advice on taxi fares etc and helpfully booked tables and a hamman for us at our venues of choice.
The breakfast was great and plentiful.
We did not use the plunge pool because we thought there was something wrong with it, but only found out when we were leaving that if we had wanted to use it, we should have advised Zhara and she would have put on the filter. It would be good for future guests to be told this at the start of their stay.
The Riad was a good 15/20 minute walk from the Square, but handy for walking to pick up a taxi to go to the new town.
I did recommend the Riad to a friend on my return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMT1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed at Riad Houdou for 2 days and found it to be a welcoming and beautiful haven from the madness of the medina. Zahra the owner, created a very relaxed and friendly ambience, and the breakfast of homemade breads and pancakes with fig jam was delicious. Our room was basic but pleasant, and the main courtyard is stunning. Riad Houdou is well located close to the souks but we found it quite easy to get totally lost - all part of the fun/experience of Marrakesh. We must give a special mention to Mohammed who was always so cheerful and friendly and helped make it a fantastic stay at Riad Houdou.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rintintin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

the Riad was very comfortable - the Noujoum suite was lovely, the Warda room was comfortable and definitely adequate. Zahra who runs it was extremely helpful and friendly, but not imposing (even gave us a short tour down to the souk area). She definitely gave her place a very inviting atmosphere. And her kitchen staff, although we couldn't speak Arabic with her, was so very kind and helpful too. It was nice to be a bit away from the extreme hussle of the centre of the medina, but only a short walk to there. The meal our first night there in the riad, although a bit pricy, was superb.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Such a friendly charming ambiance - the service was impeccable - nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms are spotless and the food and wine was of the highest quality.

My highest recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Castie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed here as a group of 4 couples in our late 40’s early 50’s. The riad itself was a tranquil and calm haven hidden away behind an unobtrusive front door from the madness of the medina. We arrived in the early evening, we had arranged to eat at the riad on our first night; we were given a traditional soup, fish tagine, fresh fruit salad followed by coffee, the meal was served in a tastefully decorated room off the central courtyard, it was typically Moroccan and was an enjoyable experience, we were also very relieved to find that reasonably priced wine and beer was available in copious amounts if needed. We were met on arrival by the owner Sara/Zara who I can only describe as being extremely helpful and very ‘hands on’, she helped to serve dinner/breakfast, showed us around her riad and let us choose which rooms we wanted to stay in. On our first morning she told us about all the different activities that we could do whilst in Marrakech, she advised us on what prices to pay for different tourist attractions which came in extremely handy, she advised us on local restaurants and told us where we could find eating places that served alcohol. She took us down to the main square and showed us some of the main points of interest, nothing was too much trouble. On our second day the general ‘handyman / night porter’ at the riad offered to take us around the tannery which was 5 minutes away. Everyone at the riad was extremely helpful.

If you are looking for a luxury hotel then this riad is not for you; my husband and I have stayed in some really wonderfully luxurious hotels and we probably wouldn’t have stayed here out of choice but we were going away with a group of friends and we fitted in with what everyone else wanted to do. We were pleasantly surprised and it was very good value for money. We were not overly happy with the position of the riad (although some of our party thought it was great), it took about 10/15 minutes to walk back from the main square, at times we didn’t feel too safe and slightly uncomfortable in our surroundings, one of our party was ‘pick pocketed’ the police said they wouldn’t advise tourist to walk through the back streets after dark, having said that if you want to see the ‘real Marrakech’ then this is probably an excellent place to stay, just don’t carry any valuables with you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BandJWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#12 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#11 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#13 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#25 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#19 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 709 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#23 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Houdou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Houdou

Property: Riad Houdou
Address: 54 Derb el Hammam, el Moukef | Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#152 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#167 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historical quarters and typical of the medina of Marrakech, the ryad Houdou is a masonry of the XVIIe century, middle-class old property of a rich family astronomers. Associating traditional architecture and a contemporary furnishing, the decoration of the riad reflects Morocco and our personality. Living on the place, we want to give again all his direction with the concept of guest house. Here, you will discover expatriation all while feeling you as on your premise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Houdou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Houdou Marrakech
Riad Houdou Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing