We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Garden Sanctuary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Mesc el Lil

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Mesc el Lil
Ranked #814 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serene Garden Sanctuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

What a haven we found in Patricia’s serene Marrakech garden riad! We arrived in Marrakech after a rather stressful all-day drive up from the Sahara, with one of us rather sick. To step into that leafy, green courtyard was such a sweet relief. Patricia met us and served us refreshments in the candlelit garden and made us dinner reservations. The room was wonderful, with a beautifully-designed shower and all the comforts. In the morning, we woke to birdsong among the orange trees and hibiscus, and were served an absolutely beautiful breakfast in the sunlit garden. It was a quiet form of paradise. We stayed in the garden until noon, resting, and if this had been our entire experience of Marrakech, it would have remained one of the sweetest memories of our time in Morocco. To have this sweet haven as our home and orientation point in the Marrakech medina was such a pleasure. Patricia showed us the way to the main street of the medina, and it was very easy to find our way. After just one walk out, we became quite familiar with the route between the riad, directly up one of the main streets of the medina and to the Djmaa el Fna. Between our explorations of Marrakech, it was always a delight to come back to the riad and experience a different moment of light in the garden.

Patricia was the animating spirit of the place and added immeasurably to our enjoyment and comfort there. She was extremely helpful both before and after our arrival, helping us coordinate our complicated arrival and the drop-off of our friends at the train station. Her emails were clear and always had clear back-up plans (and we needed them). When we had to leave for a very early train, Patricia arranged for her driver to come get us at an unspeakable hour, and he made it easy to get our heavy bags to the car and get on our way. He was even able to change plans when one of us was too sick to take the train, and drive us all the way to Rabat on five minutes notice.

I highly recommend this beautiful garden sanctuary, and look forward to being able to return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriCalifornia516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    8
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

The maze of narrow alleyways leading to this Riad is at first daunting, and with a memory like mine, I was wondering if I'd ever get a handle on it. But strangely, it all fell into place very quickly and this quiet Riad at the end of the maze became a welcome home (after a hectic Marrakech day). Host Patricia and her charming helpers went out of their way to sense and meet our every need, the three rooms, salon and other areas were decorated with an eclectic mix of traditional Moroccan, Art Deco and assorted treasures collected by Patricia who has lived here for 13 years. All rooms open to the glorious courtyard, where a canopy of trees keeps the temperature cool, and provide a leafy home to an assortment of tuneful birds. A highlight was the tranquility of this garden at night, with the balmy air and candles lighting the foliage. Great place to read and relax.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Spent 4 days in Marrakech with friends. Already Patricia's riad had been recommended to us by friends from New Zealand, and we in turn are happy to pass on what a wonderful oasis Mesc el Lil is. We were met at the airport by Ahmed and this is where our adventure began. Patricia is a great; sharing some of her Marrakech secrets with us; not all I hope as we plan on returning and having some cooking lessons! The breakfasts were perfect. Everything was perfect. Thank you Patricia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngoinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This Riad was just lovely, extremely clean and tidy - flowers in our room. Three rooms available - and extremely quiet. Patricia arranged for us to be met at the airport. She goes the extra mile by ensuring you know where you are going and is full of handy hints of where to shop. She has a wonderful list of great restaurants - we are also sorry we didn't arrange to have a meal at the Riad as the breakfasts were great. Highly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwisinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were 3 couples of grown-ups from Denmark. We stayed a week at a riad by Patricia in the middle of the Medina in Marrakesh.
It is a wonderful place ! beautiful decorated with great taste. There are 3 bedrooms with separate bathrooms – all very nice and big clean towels every day. Fresh roses in the vases everywhere. The breakfast – which is included – with Arabic pancakes, fresh orangejucie, fresh fruit, coffee and the as you like. Patricia will everything to help you – finding good restaurants, tours out of town and what so ever.
Marrakesh is not a cheap town, so the prices are a bit high as to what you expect it to be in a poor country as Marroco. But we can highly recommend it if you want quietness, beauty and friendliness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammenspisningen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This Riad is an oasis within a very short distance of the hustle and bustle of the souks and the splender of the Medina. It defies belief that you can enter into a completely different world that this Riad offers. It is a world of calm, sophistication and mystic; a true oasis that provides relaxation and a chance to catch your breath and re-live the excitment of the day or night. The Riad has fantastic accommodation - very tastefully, and authentically, decorated and set out in a way that provides any level of privacy that you desire. The garden setting is magical, the roof terrace is welcoming, the gentle background haunting music sets the scene and helps you to live the dream. Breakfast in the garden is a real pleasure and a superb start to the day. This place is a real gem and so too is the host, Patricia, who brings a wealth of experience and knowledge to ensure that your stay, both in and out of the Riad is optimised. Get to know her; she really adds value and is as good a host as your will find anywhere. I never return to the same place........for Riad Mesc el Lil I will make an exception........I definitely plan to return. "Excellent" does not do this place justice.

Room Tip: Three rooms available; it doesn't matter which one is allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is the place to stay and experience the real Marrakesh - you won't be disappointed. Patricia arranged for a taxi to meet our bus from Agadir and a porter to take our bags through the winding alleyways to her Riad where she gave us a warm welcome. What a great place - it exceeded our expectations. Lovely big rooms, beautifully furnished, big windows and doors that open on to the central garden area where breakfast was served each morning. It was lovely to have such a nice place to retreat to in the afternoons when it got too hot. A highlight was the cooking class that we had there - a local lady showed us some dishes she cooks at home and then we had what we cooked for our dinner in the garden. Staying with someone like Patrica who has such good local knowledge is a real bonus - she even went out and bought us spices on the last day while we were on a trip to the base of the Atlas mountains - which she also organised. I hope to get back and stay there again some time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiToon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dar Choumissa
Dar Choumissa
#585 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
2.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mesc el Lil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mesc el Lil

Property: Riad Mesc el Lil
Address: 88 Derb Snane | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #814 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rare traditional 18th century Riad beautifully restored and elegantly decorated by the owner. All the cedar doors open onto the vast patio with 4 parterres planted with 7 old orange trees and other verdue around a marble fountain. Hidden behind the doors are three large bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms large salon with fireplace music salon dining room. The vast terrace is surrounded by trees and palms. A secluded peaceful romantic setting in the heart of the old Medina. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing