We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chouia Chouia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Chouia Chouia to your Saves list
Riad Chouia Chouia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 rue Fahl Zefriti Ksour | Djemmaa el fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Hi

What made the whole experience while staying in Marrakesh, was the friendly and very attentive staff especially Aziz, nothing was every any bother or hassle. The beds were quite small but the views over the terrace and the quant decor made it a very pleasurable stay

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishbandits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Our biggest issue here was that our plans altered a bit and I contacted the raid 4 days ahead to change our reservation from 4 to 3 nights. The French owner insisted on charging for the full 4 nights. He claims the policy is on his website, but I cannot find that. No negotiation at all. This issue put me in a pretty grumpy mood-not so fun on vacation. Riad was otherwise charming and assitants Aziz and Massoud were great. Decor more French Moroccan (French owner) than Moroccan Moroccan.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maghrebia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olivemarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Chouia Chouia, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
reservation by the client agency on the internet has J-24 it decided to cancel his stay. automatically conditions of cancellation of agency applies no show
the next day will come when the same client at the riad because we have him explain that his card was debitter
Écouter
Lire phonétiquementDictionnaire - Afficher le dictionnaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Liked the Riad, the staff speaks a lot of languages (really amaxing). The only con was that it was a bit loud if peopled entreed or exeted the riad.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank none3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Unlike my Riad in Fes, this Riad was a gem. When Aziz picked me up from Djemaa al Fna, I was surprised to see the excellent location of the Riad, very close to the square, and also secluded and quite. There is a great terrace (2 levels actually) from which you can watch the beautiful sunset, and the rooms are decorated beautifully, with very comfortable beds. It is also very safe. Aziz is something on his own. He is very friendly and helpful, a very good soul. I was there the first day of Eid, and he shared with me the food his mom had sent over for him. The place will certainly see another visit from me, and this time with bunch of friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nilkalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

Stayed here with some girlfriends last weekend and had a great time. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was perfectly adequate and good value for money. Ideally situated for the main square and sueks. 5 star hotel round the corner for pre dinner cocktails and après dinner wine, pricey but worth it after a hard days haggling in the sueks.
The best bit about Riad Chouia is the roof terrace, fab views over the roof tops of Marrakesh and very comfortable. We checkout at 11 but didn’t have to leave for the airport until 3.30, we sunbathed on the roof terrace until it was time to go. We were provided with water, coffee, a room for our luggage and a shower room to freshen up in. This was particularly appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
552 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We arrived at the Marrakech train station in the early morning. We were informed that a taxi ride from the train station (in Ville Nouvelle) should cost about 15 dirham to the Jemma el Fna, close to our Riad. We had a hard time finding a taxi driver who would turn on his meter to drive us there, but after a few, we found one that was willing. If you don't have a lot of luggage, the walk is about 25 min. There are no signs pointing to this Riad, but by now, we were used to not having any directions on the streets. There is a small passage way close to Jemma el Fna that leads to a small maze of passageways that leads to this Riad (the door is at least marked). We were greeted by the owner of the Riad and his young son. The courtyard of the Riad is spectacular, with lots of greenery, large fountain/pool in the middle, many artifacts, maps and art around and on the walls. It's very charming and tastefully decorated. Our room was on the main floor, and we were surprised at how big it was. It had plenty of storage space. It was clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was very spacious and clean and even had a bidet. The bathtub was showing small signs of water damage, but nothing too concerning. We had plenty of hot water, although, again, no shower curtain :). In the morning, we had breakfast on the roof terrace, which had amazing views and was very spacious. Breakfast was a typical Moroccan breakfast - tea, pancakes, jams, fruit, bread.
We had put down a deposit to reserve this Riad, and to pay the difference we had the option of paying credit card or cash, however, they charge 10% extra to use the credit card, so it's better to pay by cash if you have it. Also, all the Riads in Morocco charge a 'staying tax' on top of the room rate, so beware of this, as it may not say that when you book the room. It's usually very small - about 3 euros per room (or per person - can't remember).
Overall, we really loved this Riad - it was so beautiful and spacious, and the staff were very helpful and nice. It was close to the Medina and all the sites. We would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Bug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

It's such a shame that the drains (not the fault of the riad) made an impact upon this stay. The welcome was great as were the breakfasts on the terrace in this very pretty riad. Just two minutes from the Djemma (action), but also two minutes from the mosque (night time calls to prayer) - either could be seen as an advantage or disadvantage depending upon your point of view. Our room (2) had ceiling vents up to the terrace and conversations up there sounded as if they were in our room. If you want a good rest - this is not the place. But if you are more nocturnallly minded, this would be great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaCob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#133 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#161 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#169 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chouia Chouia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chouia Chouia

Address: 40 rue Fahl Zefriti Ksour | Djemmaa el fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#178 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chouia Chouia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quartier El Ksour is an area full of secret palaces. Riad Chouia Chouia is an exceptional house. Cool off in the swimming pool which is situated in the courtyard patio. Within 2 minutes from Jemmaa el fna square. Price range: 35 to 100 euros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Chouia Chouia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chouia Chouia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Chouia Marrakech
Riad Chouia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing