We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Chouia Chouia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Chouia Chouia
Ranked #300 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Good value accommodation with an oasis of a rooftop terrace. The staff were excellent in making use feel welcome and looked after. The main square is a stone's throw away through a series of atmospheric alley ways. These can seem unsafe after dark but during our stay, there was a security guard en route who would walk us back to the Riad and waited until we were in doors before returning to his post. Really glad we picked this Riad and would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wing C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    76
    18
    2
    4
See reviews for
59
96
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The two owners are so helpful and attentive. You feel like their most important guest. The roof top garden is beautiful and just the place to sit and enjoy mint tea as you watch the sunset. The rooms are small, and a bit eclectic, but that adds to the charm of staying in Marrakech. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keresch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Thank you for a great stay! We booked last minute on a two day trip from Agadir and weren't disappointed. The Riad Chouia Chouia was traditional which is what we were looking for after staying in a large hotel. We shared an air conditioned en suite room with 2 comfortable double beds for our party of 2 adults and 2 children. The host, Mamoud was most welcoming and friendly and really looks after his guests, providing breakfast on the terrace roof which was a lovely touch. Would definitely recommend staying here as the location is great and right beside the square. Marrakech can be really busy and manic but the Chouia Chouia is a haven of tranquility.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is Riad was perfect! We arrived and net Momo- the host of the riad who was extremely helpful and friendly with whatever we needed!
The rooms were very nice, clean and spacious. We stayed in the cheapest room thefirst night and then got upgraded to the suite the second night. Both were lovely- only complaint was that the suite was a bit dark at night- not enough lighting..
The breakfast was beautiful in the mornings, enough to keep you going for a few hours.
At night there was a night guard who took you through the alley way back to the riad which was great too.
Only 5 mins walk to main square with restaurants and shops.
Overall perfect experience at this Riad!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlitab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I am back from a five-night stay here. I arranged an airport transfer which was cheap and efficient. As a previous Reviewer noted Mohammed (Mumu) was there with a big smile to greet me at the street and escort me to the riad. The entrance is a bit funky off the street and a labrynth. But referenced from the Khatoubia entrance and the latterie, reasonably easy.

The rooms were riad style, smaller but sufficient. Of course the building is old, but in good order with modern en-suite bathrooms. Beds were very good. Breakfast was good: Tasty and filling. The guys were happy to Steve it wherever I wanted, even up 4 stories to the roof.

All in all a very good riad, with great service, and an excellent value in a great city.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leroi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Ake issrebeh moulana, shukran, merci and thank you to Muhammed and Mamoud for a great stay! Your hospitality was great making our stay at your your riad enjoyable. You are the best.

This is a great place to stay within the medina with access to many fun things to do and access to the many other places in Marrakech.

The rooms are a tad small and basic but nevertheless enjoyable.

I highly recommend this place for a variety of travelers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klhchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

As soon as our taxi stopped, Mohamed was waiting with a big smile to take our bags and lead me, my wife, and teenage daughter through the back streets in the Medina. The place is located about a 3 minute walk from the entrance of the Medina and about 2 minutes from restaurants, pharmacies, grocers, and other shops. Walk another 2 minutes and you're in Jemma El Fna - the heart of the medina. Rooms are large and quiet. The terrace is large and has many places to sit and relax. Mohamed serves breakfast on the terrace. The pool is kept very clean, and by Moroccan standards, it was large enough to cool us off in the hot afternoons. Our host, Olive was great. Friendly, funny, and helpful. We had some problems with our Visa card clearing in many areas of Morocco, including the Chouia Chouia. Olive trusted us to pay when we got back to the states. I left my sunglasses at the riad and Olive emailed me for my address to send them to. I thanked him and told him to keep them, since I bought them in Italy for 5 Euro.
I strongly recommend this place for its location, the price for what you get, and just the overall great treatment we received from our hosts. Great for honeymooners, families with kids, seniors, and young travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pete f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad La Croix Berbere De Luxe
Riad La Croix Berbere De Luxe
#274 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#268 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#131 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#201 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#120 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Alamir
Riad Alamir
#167 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chouia Chouia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chouia Chouia

Property: Riad Chouia Chouia
Address: 40 rue Fahl Zefriti Ksour | Djemmaa el fna, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#177 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chouia Chouia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quartier El Ksour is an area full of secret palaces. Riad Chouia Chouia is an exceptional house. Cool off in the swimming pool which is situated in the courtyard patio. Within 2 minutes from Jemmaa el fna square. Price range: 35 to 100 euros. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Riad Chouia Chouia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chouia Chouia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Chouia Marrakech
Riad Chouia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing