We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Riad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dalia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Riad Dalia
Ranked #39 of 276 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Mohammed has taken care to decorate each room (they have windows and look better than in the website photos, book with confidence) in luxurious Moroccan style, with all mod cons. Excellent breakfast. I booked directly via email. At night (or if you want to avoid getting lost in the medina), you'll need to walk about 15 minutes outside the medina to get there. Directions: walk to the end of Djemaa el Fna toward the mosque minaret, (where the horse and carriages line up). Make right to the larger street and walk 300 meters or so, passing the guard booth and some tailors shops. Make a second right on the next main street, 300 meters, passing another guard booth where you'll go right again and back into what looks more like the medina. About a 100 meters after the guard box, look for the "Riad Dalia" sign on left. You're still not quite there, but I'll let you figure out the rest ;) .

Room Tip: Even the ground floor rooms are quiet, no need for an upper floor.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    43
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
28
91
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Wow, this is a really authentic antique shop. The owner has decorated each room with antique decorations so you feel like you are staying in a Riad from 50 years ago...yet the plumbing and everything works like new! This is a great place to stay and the owner cannot do enough to help you...ask to be taken to the local Hamman and he will organise for you to be collected and taken there. There is a nice breakfast each morning and they gove you a different table each day, something in the courtyard and sometimes on the roof. The owner here really does care that you have a great stay so you can be sure that you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, the €35 per night rooms are great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

I had a great stay at Riad Dalia. Very nice rooms. Extremely clean. The owner Mohammed was extremely hospitable and helpful with any questions I had. The Riad is about a 10 minute walk from Djamaa El Fnaa. While it is a little tucked away in the narrow streets of Marrakesh, I felt safe coming back and forth. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deano328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We picked Riad Dalia initially because it was cheaper than others, and as it turned out, we far preferred it to others where we had stayed for double the price. Our room was beautiful, complete with bathrobes and an enormous bathroom and tub. Breakfast was beyond ample, and we enjoyed it on the rooftop terrace. Service was incredible. We returned on our first day find our room made up, and a large pile of clothes that we'd left out folded and put away. Mohammed was extremeley friendly and gave us helpful tips for navigating the city and sites to see. It should be noted that the place is difficult to find at first, but once you get a guide to lead you there once, it's easy to find. The house was recently remodeled and is in great shape, impeccably clean, but it still maintains a feeling of coziness and charm missing in some of the more 'up-scale' riads. All-in-all, our only regret was not finding Riad Dalia earlier on in our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreaM518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Suitably tucked away along a winding derb, Riad Dalia is a great place to stay in Marrakech medina. It's far enough away from the Djema el Fnar (sp?) to be a peaceful spot in the midst of the soukstorm, but not so far that you can't hear the Gnawa drums into the night. Breakfast on the roof terrace was excellent with the view of the Atlas range in the background a calming visual escape from the shambling rooftop confusion. Supper there will set you back a bit, but is very high quality fare. Worth it on the first night perhaps.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

A perfect and amazing calm stay in a wonderfull but crowded and noisy Medina. Perfect help from the staff as well on booking/reservation (one night in a other Riad in the neighbourhood) as on transportation from/to the airport. Good breakfast and we had once a very good, traditional Marrocan diner too.
This is the right place to stay, at a very good location with friendly and helpfull staff. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EvanGroesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

Riad Dalia is a fantastic place to stay when visiting Marrakech. It was our first time visiting Morocco and it was fabulous, in no small part because of the fantastic welcome and stay provided by Mohamed and Leila.

They provided a taxi from the airport which took us as close to the door of the Riad as possible and Mohamed met us and took us the rest of the way, this level of service continued throughout our stay. We enjoyed the food cooked by Leila so much that we only ate out once because her cuisine was entirely Moroccan and absolutely mouth-watering. Our favourite dinner was the chicken with preserved lemon and olives, we had three courses at the Riad most nights and were never disappointed. On one evening Mohamed started chatting to us after dinner and mentioned that he played the lute, we were very interested in hearing some of the local music and he agreed to play for us which was fantastic. Following this we had mint tea on the roof terrace looking out at the Katoubia Mosque, it was blissful.

The room was very well appointed and perfectly met our needs. The breakfasts were excellent and kept us going for most of the day; we have not found orange juice that is in any way comparable back in the UK!

Whilst in Morocco my partner wanted to experience a proper hammam and we looked around at several spa type establishments but none of them seemed to fit the bill, they were all very westernised and offered lots of other experiences that are available at home. When we mentioned it to Leila, at Riad Dalia, she offered to take my partner and another resident to her hammam. My partner had a fantastic experience which cost a fraction of the price of the more tourist-orientated spas and described it as a thoroughly liberating experience and she was clearly revitalised after several days of adventures in the medina. She also had incredibly soft skin as a result and bought he own exfoliating mitt and savon noir as a result.

If you hadn't already guessed we had a fantastic time in Morocco and at Riad Dalia. I would recommend Riad Dalia to anyone; Mohamed and Leila were firm friends at our departure and we will definitely be staying again.

Sam & Lauren

Room Tip: I recommend Chambre Ghita for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPM1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Dar Ihssane
Dar Ihssane
#344 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad la Fibule
Riad la Fibule
#401 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Moulay
Riad Moulay
#639 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad La Rose Du Desert
Riad La Rose Du Desert
#11 of 276 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Julia
Riad Julia
#413 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dar Fangui
Dar Fangui
#550 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dalia

Property: Riad Dalia
Address: 40 derb Tizegarine | Rue Dar El Bacha Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 276 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dalia 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dalia, located near the palace of Pasha Glaoui, once home of a boss of it renovated by the miniaturist painter Mohamed El MRAMER, create a calming effect. A vine (Arabic Dalia) and a fountain adorn a patio surrounded by 5 bedrooms. In this haven of serenity, your desires will be satisfied by the artist and his staff. Your vacation will be a dream holiday. Warm welcome, airport transfer, shows organized, traditional Moroccan cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Riad Dalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing