We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and welcoming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad O2

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad O2
Ranked #197 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

Our stay was lovely. We arranged a transfer to ensure we were met and safely delivered to the Riad, after reading that it was a bit hard to find. Very glad we did - we'd never have found it on our own (though there was no shortage of people who would have shown us for a few dirham!).

The staff were extremely welcoming on arrival and throughout the stay. We were sat down with some delicious mint tea and provided with maps and guidance on how to get to the main square almost as soon as we walked through the door (invaluable as it's very easy to get lost in the Medina). We actually only got lost once in the whole 4 days (and that was at 11pm on our arrival day when we took a wrong turn on our way to the main square – ended up in the souk (which closes at 10pm - which essentially entails various passageways being closed off with doors, turning the whole place into a labyrinth! Great story though!!).

Our room was spotless. The beds are hard, but that's good for your back, right?! And there are plenty of cushions and pillows. The jacuzzi was lush - definitely a must if you're travelling with a partner or spouse as you can literally closet yourself in there (with a nice bottle of wine, if you plan ahead!).

There are various trips you can do from the Riad, with their assigned drivers Isham & Aziz (both of whom speak excellent English, which cannot be said of a lot of drivers you are assigned if booking trips online - French being the default language for most).

All in all, if you are looking for somewhere nice to stay in the Medina, with all of its sights and smells (not all pleasant!!), then Riad O2 is a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    67
    9
    15
    6
See reviews for
56
99
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

We have travelled to over 60 countries and we have never stayed in a Riad before but let me explain why I give this Riad a low rating. The location is difficult. It is in a maze of small alleys and you have to quickly know which turn you took in order to make your way to and from the Riad. Many of the alleys are dead ends and a few are covered over so a person has to constantly be aware of where you are located. The location is also quite far from the main square and there are no restaurants in the area.
The room we had required work.. One of the matresses should definately be replaced as it sagged badly in the middle. The shower should be redone as the cement work is giving way. There are water stains on the main room ceiling and wall. The shower drain could not handle the water so we had to use very little water to shower or the bathroom floor flooded.. The toilet bowl is in a small closet so if you have long legs it is difficult to use it.
Noise does travel readily throughout the building so if you have people up early or going to bed late, you can hear them .
The staff were great and helpful. They spoke Arabic and French but we were able to communicate quite well ( sometimes with humour).
Also be aware of pick pockets as one of the guests lost his cash when in a crowd. He was bumped and his cash was taken.
The breakfasts were set and very basic ;and were too sweet for us.
Make certain you negotiate and be firm with any of the taxi drivers as they will demand more money from you.
There are also a number of touts around who will direct you and walk with you and even though you say you do not need a guide and will not pay them, they persist and I was grabbed by the arm by one and another repeatedly rang our door bell.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

We loved our stay at Riad O2 - it was a perfect quiet haven in the middle of busy Marrakesh.
We didn't have the best of weather during our visit so we were at the riad quite a lot but we loved how peaceful and calm it was and how easy it was to just relax and unwind.
For a first time visitor to Marrakech the medina is difficult to navigate and a little overwhelming but Moad made the experience so much easier. He was very resourceful on a couple of occasions when we needed some help; very chamrming and accommodating and, as an added bonus for us, his English was excellent. He really made us feel welcome and well looked after.
We would definitely recommend Riad O2 to anyone who didn't mind being a bit outside of the centre of the medina and who can cope with how tranquil - almost monastic - the atmosphere is. It was perfect for us!
Thank you very much for our stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBeverly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faeham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

Having only two nights in Marrakech we wanted to stay somewhere within waking distance of the souks and Place Jemaa -el-fna. Riad O2 is located up near Zaoia Sidi Ben Slimane, no matter how detailed a map you obtain you will not locate the Riad as it is tucked down very small alleyways, as such arranging a transfer from the airport is a must. Once at Riad O2 we were welcomed with traditional mint tea and shown our room. There was no outside look on the door which was a bit worrying at first but since access to the Riad is restricted by staff (no keys provided to guests at all) is was not a problem.
The staff are all very friendly and welcoming and offer good advice for the sights to see especially with limited time. The best bit for us was the jacuzzi and fires especially as cold in the evenings (feb).
Although the location is still in the medina it is towards the northern end and requires a prompt hike via the souks to Place Jemaa -el-fna which takes 15-20 mins. This is all part of the fun and once you recognise a few buildings and shopkeepers making it back even at night is easy. Be prepared to spend a few dirhams for directions the first time as Riad O2 is not very easy to find and the locals are all keen on showing you for a price !!

Overall we had a fantastic stay although 2-3 nights in Marrakech is enough as so hectic.
Riad O2 also serves alcohol which is hard to find elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

The Riad O2 is amazing. The roof garden is spectacular, the rooms beautiful, and the staff brilliant. Rachida, Hassan, and the rest made us feel really welcome, and Isham took us on some great day trips. I wish I was still there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorelei77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

We ended our honeymoon in Marocco with a stay in Riad O2 and it was an absolut fantastic experience... Very charming and quiet place in the otherwise buzzling city, friendly staff, clean rooms, delicious breakfast and great service!

Go there! - you will not regret it!

Linnea & Jesper, Denmark

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linneapigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

We booked this place after reading out about it in Lonely Planet and browsing the website. After we had made the booking, we read some reviews on TripAdvisor that gave us some second thoughts. We were therefore very happy to discover that we encountered none of the concerns that others had noted. In fact, it seemed as though the owners/managers had gone out of their way to address earlier. For instance, several days before our departure, we were told that payment was cash only so that this did not come as a surprise. Or, upon reaching the riad for the first time, the manager--Moad, who was exceedingly nice and competent--sat us down with a map to show us how to find our way back to the riad.

On the location more generally, it's true that the riad is not particularly easy to find, but it seems that very few of the riads we passed in the medina are particularly easy to find. The advantage of Riad 02 is that this is relatively far from the souks in what appears to be a part of Marrakech inhabited largely by Marrakchis (or more so that many of the more touristy areas). Getting to the riad requires going down several small alleyways, but so does getting nearly anywhere in Marrakech. We felt completely safe and far less hounded than we did in parts of the city closer to the souks and the main square. We preferred to be well outside the more touristy areas, but it is a bit of a walk from the Riad to most places of interest.

The staff were very helpful. For those who do not speak French, the manager and the person in charge of transport both spoke very good English. It appeared that most of the other staff do not, so this could pose a problem if issues arise when neither are around. I spoke French to nearly everyone during our stay in Morocco, so we didn't encounter any problems. In fact, the staff were very helpful. The food was also fantastic. Dinner doesn't come cheap, but we didn't find to many sit down restaurants in the medina that were particularly cheap either. And for the 17 Euro per person, you get a ton of food--far more than you can or probably should eat--that is probably the best we had during our week and a half in Morocco.

Other than that, as you can see from the website, the place is absolutely beautiful. The decor is really tasteful and interesting. I am not sure about value for money relative to other places in Morocco or specifically Marrakech, but this really felt like a luxury boutique hotel at the prices one would pay for a really lackluster place in the US or Europe.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indiasafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Shama
Riad Shama
#177 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Tahili & Spa
Riad Tahili & Spa
#126 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad La Rose D'Orient
Riad La Rose D'Orient
#320 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#95 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#44 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#265 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad O2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad O2

Property: Riad O2
Address: 97 Derb Semmaria Sidi Ben Slimane | Sidi Ahmed soussi, Zaouia, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#110 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#130 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad O2 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As soon as you enter Riad O2, you will be seduced by the peacefulness and sobriety of the house. A subtle blend of elegant oriental curves and sleek modern lines. Moad, Rachida and Hassan will welcome you warmly with mint tea and Moroccan pastries. You can relax on the patio in the shade of the banana tree, or on the sun loungers on the magnificent roof terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad O2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad o2 Marrakech
Riad o2 Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing