We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and welcoming staff”
Review of Riad O2

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad O2
Ranked #201 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Faeham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very friendly and welcoming staff”
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Having only two nights in Marrakech we wanted to stay somewhere within waking distance of the souks and Place Jemaa -el-fna. Riad O2 is located up near Zaoia Sidi Ben Slimane, no matter how detailed a map you obtain you will not locate the Riad as it is tucked down very small alleyways, as such arranging a transfer from the airport is a must. Once at Riad O2 we were welcomed with traditional mint tea and shown our room. There was no outside look on the door which was a bit worrying at first but since access to the Riad is restricted by staff (no keys provided to guests at all) is was not a problem.
The staff are all very friendly and welcoming and offer good advice for the sights to see especially with limited time. The best bit for us was the jacuzzi and fires especially as cold in the evenings (feb).
Although the location is still in the medina it is towards the northern end and requires a prompt hike via the souks to Place Jemaa -el-fna which takes 15-20 mins. This is all part of the fun and once you recognise a few buildings and shopkeepers making it back even at night is easy. Be prepared to spend a few dirhams for directions the first time as Riad O2 is not very easy to find and the locals are all keen on showing you for a price !!

Overall we had a fantastic stay although 2-3 nights in Marrakech is enough as so hectic.
Riad O2 also serves alcohol which is hard to find elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    67
    9
    15
    6
See reviews for
57
100
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2010

The Riad O2 is amazing. The roof garden is spectacular, the rooms beautiful, and the staff brilliant. Rachida, Hassan, and the rest made us feel really welcome, and Isham took us on some great day trips. I wish I was still there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorelei77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We ended our honeymoon in Marocco with a stay in Riad O2 and it was an absolut fantastic experience... Very charming and quiet place in the otherwise buzzling city, friendly staff, clean rooms, delicious breakfast and great service!

Go there! - you will not regret it!

Linnea & Jesper, Denmark

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linneapigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We booked this place after reading out about it in Lonely Planet and browsing the website. After we had made the booking, we read some reviews on TripAdvisor that gave us some second thoughts. We were therefore very happy to discover that we encountered none of the concerns that others had noted. In fact, it seemed as though the owners/managers had gone out of their way to address earlier. For instance, several days before our departure, we were told that payment was cash only so that this did not come as a surprise. Or, upon reaching the riad for the first time, the manager--Moad, who was exceedingly nice and competent--sat us down with a map to show us how to find our way back to the riad.

On the location more generally, it's true that the riad is not particularly easy to find, but it seems that very few of the riads we passed in the medina are particularly easy to find. The advantage of Riad 02 is that this is relatively far from the souks in what appears to be a part of Marrakech inhabited largely by Marrakchis (or more so that many of the more touristy areas). Getting to the riad requires going down several small alleyways, but so does getting nearly anywhere in Marrakech. We felt completely safe and far less hounded than we did in parts of the city closer to the souks and the main square. We preferred to be well outside the more touristy areas, but it is a bit of a walk from the Riad to most places of interest.

The staff were very helpful. For those who do not speak French, the manager and the person in charge of transport both spoke very good English. It appeared that most of the other staff do not, so this could pose a problem if issues arise when neither are around. I spoke French to nearly everyone during our stay in Morocco, so we didn't encounter any problems. In fact, the staff were very helpful. The food was also fantastic. Dinner doesn't come cheap, but we didn't find to many sit down restaurants in the medina that were particularly cheap either. And for the 17 Euro per person, you get a ton of food--far more than you can or probably should eat--that is probably the best we had during our week and a half in Morocco.

Other than that, as you can see from the website, the place is absolutely beautiful. The decor is really tasteful and interesting. I am not sure about value for money relative to other places in Morocco or specifically Marrakech, but this really felt like a luxury boutique hotel at the prices one would pay for a really lackluster place in the US or Europe.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indiasafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2010

I stayed at Riad 02 with a friend of mne for 5 days of The New Year.

It was a comfy and cosey Riad that was peaceful yet you could feel you were in the heart of Marrakesh. Nothing was too much of a problem for the staff at the Riad. Moad was very sweet, gentle and helpful, the cleaners and cooks were smiley and accomodating.

The Roof Garden was perfect for relaxing and catching some sunshine, with a peek of the mountains in the distance.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarleyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2009

A very nice Riad, not to big with lovely rooms with stylish badthrooms in Maroccon style. The location in superp, as well as the service from the hosts. A nice and quiet place with a lovely roof terrace where you can enjoy the sun or have your breakfast.

You feel truly as a valued guest.

Very recommandable!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpack-Naatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, uk
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2009

Having initially been a little disappointed that the Egg room was unavailable at the time of our stay we decided to opt for the Chewing Gum room. The room itself was truely superb, as was the rest of the riad.
Staff were friendly and informative and the food was so good we opted to eat there for the whole duration of our stay. Food and drinks were reasonably priced. The staff were more than happy to arrange a variety of excursions and spa treatments. An ideal relaxing end to our holiday after spending the first few days right in the heart of the hectic souks.

One tip would be to take enough cash to cover the bill, credit card machines are not available (as with the majority of morocco) and a late night trip to an atm (further than you might be accustomed to in the UK) was the only slight problem we encountered.

Oh and if you want a bath in the chewing gum room you need to allow plenty of time for it to fill up.....its BIG!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manhattan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad La Rose D'Orient
Riad La Rose D'Orient
#338 of 500 in Marrakech
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Shama
Riad Shama
#183 of 500 in Marrakech
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#73 of 500 in Marrakech
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#204 of 500 in Marrakech
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dollar Des Sables
Riad Dollar Des Sables
#216 of 500 in Marrakech
161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#150 of 500 in Marrakech
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad O2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad O2

Property: Riad O2
Address: 97 Derb Semmaria Sidi Ben Slimane | Sidi Ahmed soussi, Zaouia, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#110 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#132 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad O2 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As soon as you enter Riad O2, you will be seduced by the peacefulness and sobriety of the house. A subtle blend of elegant oriental curves and sleek modern lines. Moad, Rachida and Hassan will welcome you warmly with mint tea and Moroccan pastries. You can relax on the patio in the shade of the banana tree, or on the sun loungers on the magnificent roof terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad O2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad o2 Marrakech
Riad o2 Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing