We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad, Good Location, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Ranked #27 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I (and three friends) stayed at the Maison Arabo-Andalouse in Marrakech in mid-October. We paid 90 Euros ($122) per night for a junior suite, including breakfast each day.

There are several things we loved about our stay here. We found this riad (a traditional Moroccan home converted to a bed and breakfast) to be affordable, charming, and well-located for exploring the Medina. The innkeeper, Mohammed, was extremely helpful - arranging transfers to and from the airport and train station, purchasing train tickets for us, recommending restaurants, and providing instruction on how to find local attractions. Mohammed’s English is good; he is fluent in Arabic and French. The décor was delightful, with beautiful tilework throughout the riad. My wife and I stayed in the excellent room 8, which has an enclosed, air-conditioned bedroom, a covered outdoor seating area, and an open-air rooftop terrace. Taking all of the living space into account, the room/suite was quite spacious.

If there are negatives, the list is short. The shower was a little small, and the wi-fi works best on lower floors (barely at all on our rooftop terrace). As with almost all buildings in Morocco, there is no elevator.

Overall, we loved the Maison Arabo-Andalouse and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Lower levels have a stronger signal for wi-fi (and fewer stairs, obviously); however, room 8 (junior...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjandthemissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Salam Aleykoum,Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, much appreciated and so enthusiastic about our Riad.
I'm sorry for his bad points about the WIFI, for which we always try to improve, regardless of the possibilities' local
Regarding the width of the shower, I find it difficult to improve.But others Suite play the compensation,same are too big;.
Thanks to all the staff who remember your kindness.
Shukran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
There are newer reviews for Maison Arabo Andalouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 486 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

The riad was very pretty, and excellently located - 5 minutes from the Sadien Tombs and palaces and ten minutes to the big square. Despite being right in the middle of Marrakech, our room (no.8) was very quiet. The room was also comfortable, and large. We had a bedroom, sitting room and our own large, very private terrace with sun loungers and dining table. We had dinner up here twice and it was lovely.
The courtyard in the middle of the riad was lovely and quiet, and a great place to sit with your feet dangling in the cool water after a long hot day walking around the city.
The best thing about the riad without a doubt were the extremely friendly and welcoming staff who looked after us like we were family. Thank you to GPaulo, Muhammed, Eunice, Zara and Fatima. Zara and Fatima also prepared us a wonderful Marrakechi dinner - which was the best meal we had during our stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had room no.8, which had it had it's own private roof terrace which was fantastic.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Hosts,yes we try to have with all of you a family friendly relations, when the relations become more confidential start a really friendly relation.
Happy,you enjoy our Junior Suite the terrace and all floor belonging to .
I hope the Moroccan- cuisine course help you for the preparation of your ethnic meals at home,it seams you appreciate your preparation under control of our cook.
Shukran,to share mutual knowledge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed three nights in a room for three and were well looked after. The riad is hidden away but close to the main square and is perfect for a walking tour of the Medina. The rooms are clean and air conditioned, and the service is impeccable. The roof garden is a particular feature and breakfast there was a great start to the day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sawmillbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

If we had known we would have done to get better your sleep quality,sorry.
I appreciate,that, for the rest of the time you where at the Riad you enjoin,breakfasts,your large Suite,the different terraces,important, the 7 minutes distance and the hidden of our Riad, from the SquareJemaa El Fna, finaly, become a VALUE .
Next time we will discuss in advance about yours need
Shukran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

sono tornato con la mia amica giorgia in marocco perché ci mancava. e non potevamo non trascorrere una notte a marrakech in questo splendido riad, i cui proprietari ormai sono diventati come amici. se volete un posto tranquillo, affidabile, pulito, bellissimo, centrale e volete sentirvi coccolati e consigliati, bè, questo riad è cio' che fa per voi! david

I went back to Morocco with my friend Giorgia because we missed it. ANd we couldn't but spend one night in marrakech in this wonderful riad, whose owners have become our friends! If you wish to spend your days in marrakech in a quiet, reliable, secure, clean, beautiful, central place, and you wish to be cuddled and advised, this is the riad you must absolutely go to! david

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidSalvatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013
Google Translation

Rispondo in Italiano a questi** Amici del Riad**in quanto il mio Inglese al confronto é superficiale.Mi dispiacere che le volte che sono venuti da noi,anche se brevemente,o stavo per partire o non c'ero proprio. Quanto sembra il nostro Staff ha saputo ricevere con altrettanta premura, forse é anche il luogo che affascinae richiama i nostri ospiti, Shukran, siate sempre i benvenuti,spero di poter spendere piu' tempo con voi le porte della vostra casa Marrachi sono sempre aperte.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our family of four stayed at the riad for four days during the month of August. We traveled with our two children (8 & 9) and stayed in the family suite, which was not only beautiful, but also roomy. The entire hotel was immaculate (even the bathroom in our room was beautiful & clean). Our room also had air conditioning and wifi. Since we were there in August I just want to point out that the hotel has a plunge pool (although small, we were very grateful for it!) The raid was close enough to the main square to walk, but far enough to have a quiet's night's sleep. Also, we were able to do laundry for very cheap. A large laundry bag cost us about 200 dirhams ($25). A great breakfast (including fresh fruit, coffee, tea, croissants, fresh bread, jam, etc..) was served beside the pool every morning. Mohammed attended to our every need and made us feel like family. The raid would not have been the same without the attentiveness of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alana912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

I am very happy that our Staff love kids,I think it's very important for the family to know that Kids they are welcome.Even with hot temperature the patio-garden with plunge-pool give a sensation of fresh,also the calm and not traffic noisy make everyone more relaxed,what our hots expect for the really relax.
Fantastic that you shared those priority
Shukran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our family stayed here at easter 2013. The riad is well situated in the centre of Marrakech, and most attractions are within walking distance.
The rooms are well equipped with storage space and a mini safe. We missed reading lamps though.
The roof terrace is very nice, and attended all day. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, always at your service. They really go out of their way for you.
Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

You stay so short time,also obligate to ask you to stay one night on our close by friend Riad,sorry I asked you because you and the splendid family you are so kind and flexible,but our living garden-patio- saloon was open for all of you,as for our terrace;
Sorry for the reading light,you know,sometime,to be to discrete don't pay,!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Next visit to us you will get a great SPOT........
Ciao,Vi aspetto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We couldn't have asked for a better setting for our holiday with our children (aged 9 and 11). Having debated whether we should stay at a large hotel, we opted for the uniqueness and charm of a riad. Maison Arabo Andalouse is full of charm, beautifully restored to retain its original features (carved celings, painted doors, tiled floors) with a cool inner courtyard with a small swimming pool and a wonderful roof terrace. The riad is perfectly located for all the major sights of Marrakesh, including Djema el Fna square. The rooms are beautiful and spacious and all have air-conditioning. Some reviews focus on the dark rooms (ask for a room with windows overlooking the courtyard and some have their own terrace) but riads were built like that for a reason - they keep the inside cool and the noise outside. However, Maison Arabo Andalouse's best feature by far is how it treats each of its guests as family, providing a home away from home. GianPaolo and his staff provide a wonderful warm and friendly service and made every aspect of our stay so easy, from airport pick-up, to recommending local eateries, helping us organise a day-trip with the kids.(they recommended a couple of water parks but we never went - Marrakesh is far too much fun and the riad offered everything we needed after a day out) and the lovely mint tea and hot chocolate provided on the roof terrace every night. Breakfast is provided at your convenience, a variety of fresh breads, pancakes, different fruits every day and eggs on request (all the food is locally sourced). We opted for dinner at the riad on the last night and were treated to a wonderful feast in a magical, candle-lit setting (its pricier than many local restaurants but the food is fresh, its quality outstanding and the setting is unbeatable). We all left with heavy hearts but knowing we have found somewhere truly special to return to someday. Highly recommended and take the kids!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

I don't understand great part of others Riads they don't like to have family with kids,perhaps me I am specially fortunate because I received till now very Special persons,even the kids educate and well appreciate. Thanks,for having reply at the previous guest who complain about the light,you exactly said the trough I can't make modification in a House more than 100 Years old trying to let more light to get inside, at summer time with more than 50 degree centigrade.............
We are not perfect,but with the staff we try to do our best,without necessary looking the profit,if property of sheets or towels one fruit or vegetable or all kind of local product don't satisfy us immediately it's changed,but not through away,a lot of people need a help.
Thanks for all your positivity,we will not forget you,you are not commune
Grazie,.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#13 of 502 in Marrakech
560 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
816 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
#31 of 502 in Marrakech
646 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 502 in Marrakech
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 502 in Marrakech
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Arabo Andalouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Arabo Andalouse

Address: Derb Touareg No 67 | K'Sibt N'Hass Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $92 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Arabo Andalouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the old walls of the “Medina” (old city) this stunning Riad is right next to the buttresses of the XVI century Palace “El Badi, and offers you a priceless experience of traditional Moroccan hospitality. While relaxing on our rooftop terrace, you are literally right next to the palace walls, on which hundreds of storks makes their nests. Within the Riad you will find many original features; stuccos, encaustic tiles, cedar wood carvings, decorative plasterwork, vaulted ceilings of brick and geometric floors laid on clay for maintaining a constant temperature. Marrakech is a city of mystery and Minarets, exciting contrasts and contradictions, intense colours and smells, and we provide you with the starting point for your voyage of discovery into this exciting world. The Riad consists of 6 bedrooms, two with private terraces, a public roof terrace, a garden patio with a plunge pool (4 x 3 x 1.30 m) and a salon and restaurant area. One of our suites on the ground floor is specially adapted for people with limited mobility. All rooms have: private bathroom with shower and reversible air-conditioning. Rental Includes breakfast served every morning. Breakfast and other meals, if required, can be served on the roof terrace, on the terrace at the edge of the small pool or in winter by the fireplace in the living room, or in the comfort and privacy of the rooms or private terrace. All our menus feature Moroccan dishes made from local products. There is also free Wi-Fi access, a roof terrace with sunbeds and a garden patio with a plunge pool and palm trees. Our wonderful staff will be on hand to offer advice on where to visit and are happy to show you the area. Evening meals can be booked in advance. We are situated in the Kasbah, just a 7-minute walk from Jemaa El Fna Square and a 10-minute walk from Koutoubia Mosque. We are 4 km from Marrakech-Menara Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Arabo Andalouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Arabo Andalouse Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing