We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Like staying with family ....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Arabo Andalouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Ranked #43 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
717 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Like staying with family ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We chose the hotel totally based on trip advisor recommendation. Seemed well placed when, the day after booking, we were emailed by the owner to ask about our flights and introduce himself. We continued our email correspondence right until departure, arranging airport transfer and looking at some tour options.
We were met as arranged on arrival and taken to the Riad. It is in a small road in a back street within a few minutes walk of the Badii Palace (the top floor of the riad has a view of the ruins) and 5-10 minutes to the Jemaa El Fna square.
We were given tea and biscuits on arrival, shown our rooms and explained the procedure for locking the doors, heating etc. The room was very impressive - a huge private terrace, the bedroom, shower room and a lounge. It was all tastefully decorated and furnished in the Moroccan style. There were plenty of plug points for charging laptops etc but the wifi didnt reach our floor. However the views and terrace more than compensated for that!
Paolo could not have been more helpful - any time we wanted to visit somewhere, be it an attraction, somewhere to eat or an excursion, he was on hand to help and advise, as well as providing endless glasses of mint tea!
The only downside we found - and that was with a struggle - was that it is about 10 mins walk through chaotic streets to get to anywhere decent to eat in the evenings. Everything else - service, price, breakfast, decor is excellent. Paolo and his staff are, without exception, superb - friendly, courteous and helpful.
We had a brilliant meal on the last evening, cooked by Fatima and served by Paolo - a delightful ending to a memorable stay.

Room Tip: Have a look at the rooms first - some have lovely terraces and there is a family room that sleeps 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
I think this dear Host it's to generous about the compliments regarding our Riad and the staff.
We had during they stay 24 hours Internet and telephone off ; one pipe of water damage;etc......,like at home I tried to discuss with the Hosts about the problems and together we find the way than can continue to relax at one of the 2 private terraces without to much inconvenience,it's fantastic how become like a ordinary family duty.
Thanks for your really appreciation and for the review concerning all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    46
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
126
189
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed over Christmas in December 2012, and Paolo's riad is truly a lovely place. From the common spaces, to the rooms, to the lovely rooftop terrace, there is great attention to detail, and everything is done just right. The riad was spotless, and the two rooms we had were both beautifully decorated. We loved the breakfast, and the Christmas dinner we had was outstanding.

Paolo will arrange for pick up from the airport, and excursions to just about anywhere. He, and all his staff, were always very helpful throughout our stay. We have traveled extensively with our 3 youngest children, and can honestly say this is one of the most enjoyable places we've ever stayed. Located in the Medina, it is within easy walking distance to many of those places one would most wish to visit. When we return to Marrakech, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the upper floor, overlooking the inner courtyard, and it was quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLP1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
It's simple to be kind with kind and well educated people.
I like, when ours efforts are appreciate,hoping with the staff to improve more and more.
My duty it's the happiness of ours guests,many thinks are still on project ..............
Thanks at this kind family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Conveniently located in the medina, easy access to main sightseeing spots (koutoubia, palaces, place el jemaa and souk). It was our first time in an african country and we were pleased to find such pleasant people at the riad. GPaulo and his sidekick Mohammed always give you some practical and useful advises. They are friendly, helpful and even though outside the peaceful riad, life is quite noisy and chaotic you feel that if something goes wrong during your stay you would call the riad and they would help straight away. I would recommend to take the taxi option as the first time it is bit tricky to locate it as no street name. Overall fantastic people, nice riad and well located, just enjoy! J&K

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jejef f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
I know that it's difficult to keep clean all the Riad because all the nights we have many birds sleeping under ours Palms Bananas and Bougainvillea trees,sorry for the inconvenient,kind hosts hoping to improve
Thanks for sharing a moment with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A very beautiful and quite place to stay in the center of the old town.
GianPaolo made a true jewel out of this authentic Riad.
All the staff was very helpful and did all to make our stay very enjoyable.
Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allemandperdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
It was a pleasure to get you like guest so simple and enthusiastic on all our proposal,that encourage us to find always the best for ours friends-guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I cannot recommend this riad highly enough! The riad itself is beautiful and well-maintained. The location is very convenient and a welcome haven of peace and quiet from the hustle and bustle of the city centre. The owner and staff are the kindest and friendliest people you could hope to welcome you in Marrakech. I am certain that without Gpaulo and his amazing staff, our short visit (3 days) to Marrakech would have been nowhere near as wonderful. They were full of welcome tips and suggestions, as well as making sure that we (as 3 ladies travelling alone) always felt safe and comfortable. The breakfasts were delightful as well. You'd be missing out if you didn't stay at this fantastic riad! And please do contact Gpaulo directly for reservations via his email/ website listed on this page-best way to go! Best wishes and a heartfelt thank you for making our stay unforgettable to everyone at Maison Arabo Andalouse from Jolie, Sara & Roxy!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jolie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
I field like a father with those 3 charming girls they decided to have a break week-end on our Riad, Marrakesh it's very safe but of course every place asked to go was discretely controlled. Ours staff consider all ours guests like someone from the family and me as Papa'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtownards
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Quite simply, this is an excellent riad, in a central location, with wonderfully attentive and accommodating staff. We used the taxi service provided by Maison Arabo Andalouse and this dropped us about 2 mins walk from the riad. Mohammed was on hand to help us with our cases and guide us through the alleys to the riad. On arrival, Gian-Paolo met us and both he and Mohammed chatted to us about the local area, places to visit, etc., while we were served some excellent mint tea and local pastries. The riad is situated within the Medina and about 10 mins walk from the 'big square' Jemaa el-Fnaa, Koutoubia Mosque, Saadian Tombs and numerous other sites of interest, so you're well placed for sight-seeing on foot. Even though the riad is located centrally in such a busy and noisy city as Marrakech, when you close the door, you're in an oasis of calm. Palm trees and banana trees stretch up from the peaceful courtyard, and here Fatima provided us with a great breakfast each morning. Mohammed is very attentive and always available to arrange taxis, trips and to provide helpful advice and guidance. The riad is tastefully decorated throughout, with Berber influences, magnificent wooden doors and wonderful lamps. We stayed in Room 7 and it was clean, comfortable and perfectly fulfilled our needs. There's an airy roof terrace, so if you can't face another adventure through the labyrinths of the souks, you could easily spend your day lazing quietly on a lounger, under a shady canopy. All in all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Mohammed said the Wi-Fi might not reach our room, but we stayed in Room 7 and access was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
I meat this couple before I returned in Europe was afraid for the long stay and Mohamed and others local staff, taking care,as for the guests reviews it's seems they are very satisfy and sometime they prefer the local staff to feel more relaxed, for that reason after given my impression and suggestions about what to do and see at Marrakesh and nearby,I prefer the staff as more contact with the guests.
Even the WiFi seams appreciate.(usually not rich the Junior-Suite 7)
Thanks to Guest and tanks also ours staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Marrakech can be rather overwhelming for those who have not been before - and even for those who have! This is especially the case if you stay in the old city rather than in the 'new' town - which you really should if you want to really experience Marrakech.

Fatima, Zara and Mohammed - the staff at Maison Arabo Andalouse are wonderfully kind and caring of their visitors needs. And incredibly helpful.

I travelled for a long weekend with my daughter and I cannot fault the service. The Riad entrance is just a brief walk from the road where the taxi drops you, down a couple of narrow (but well lit) alleyways. However, Mohammed was waiting when we arrived, walked us to the road every night when we went out, walked us to the nearest Bank ATM when I needed to withdraw money, set us on the right road for the nearby Koutoubia Mosque and the Djemma el Fna Square (all just a short walk, but easy to get lost without first hand advice) and was waiting (heaven alone knows how he knew!) when we came back late one night from a lovely evening at a restaurant the other side of the medina.

He is also incredibly helpful at general advice on what to see. Whilst I had been before and had planned most of my trip meticulously, it was Mohammed who pointed out that we could take a wonderful horse drawn carriage (they are everywhere, used by Morrocans and tourists alike) for a tour, choosing where we would stop and for how long - ie just renting by the hour - and choosing where and when we wanted to finish. We visited two of the fixed price government run artisanal centres and the Majorelle Gardens - including a tour of some of the new town and the walls and gates of the old city, stopped for a drink whilst all the while the carriage waited for us. And for the princely sum of just under £20.00 for just over two hours.

The only small issue was that we were not given the room we had specifically chosen and confirmed with our booking. However, everyone was so charming and another room - which my daughter adored - was offered the morning following our arrival - so really no complaints.

As we went in November, the roof terrace wasn't open - although Mohammed did show it to us. Its wonderful - and a great addition to the Riad when the weather is right.

All in all, it may not be a fancy hotel but it is beautifully decorated, feels authentically and wonderfully Morrocan, was spotlessly clean.

Perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maitlands1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPaolo B, Owner at Maison Arabo Andalouse, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
I' m sorry for the room problems,even if finally was appreciate,at those time only another suite was available but on stand -by for another guest coming from Australia,it is important that our staff don't feel obligate to be kind but just do it's job like a ceremony,me and ours Guests appreciate for that reason they know where they go and they are happy when everybody it's back satisfied
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.8 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#29 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#27 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#40 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,000 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#39 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#47 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Arabo Andalouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Arabo Andalouse

Property: Maison Arabo Andalouse
Address: Derb Touareg No 67 | K'Sibt N'Hass Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Arabo Andalouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the old walls of the “Medina” (old city) this stunning Riad is right next to the buttresses of the XVI century Palace “El Badi, and offers you a priceless experience of traditional Moroccan hospitality. While relaxing on our rooftop terrace, you are literally right next to the palace walls, on which hundreds of storks makes their nests. Within the Riad you will find many original features; stuccos, encaustic tiles, cedar wood carvings, decorative plasterwork, vaulted ceilings of brick and geometric floors laid on clay for maintaining a constant temperature. Marrakech is a city of mystery and Minarets, exciting contrasts and contradictions, intense colours and smells, and we provide you with the starting point for your voyage of discovery into this exciting world. The Riad consists of 6 bedrooms, two with private terraces, a public roof terrace, a garden patio with a plunge pool (4 x 3 x 1.30 m) and a salon and restaurant area. One of our suites on the ground floor is specially adapted for people with limited mobility. All rooms have: private bathroom with shower and reversible air-conditioning. Rental Includes breakfast served every morning. Breakfast and other meals, if required, can be served on the roof terrace, on the terrace at the edge of the small pool or in winter by the fireplace in the living room, or in the comfort and privacy of the rooms or private terrace. All our menus feature Moroccan dishes made from local products. There is also free Wi-Fi access, a roof terrace with sunbeds and a garden patio with a plunge pool and palm trees. Our wonderful staff will be on hand to offer advice on where to visit and are happy to show you the area. Evening meals can be booked in advance. We are situated in the Kasbah, just a 7-minute walk from Jemaa El Fna Square and a 10-minute walk from Koutoubia Mosque. We are 4 km from Marrakech-Menara Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maison Arabo Andalouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Arabo Andalouse Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing