We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins d'Issil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Les Jardins d'Issil
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Only stayed one night (thankfully) in late July and were happy we didn't book more nights. We arrived at 2pm, had to carry our suitcases from the car the 400 yds to the room. There was only one staff member and Patrick on arrival, and the staff member chose our only wheeled suitcase to 'carry' leaving us with the rest. There were perhaps two other guests staying yet it took them 30 mins to prepare our room leaving us twiddling thumbs in the restaurant. As we had been travelling since early that morning we were keen to get some something to eat, perhaps a late lunch? No. This 'hotel' could not serve anything except Moroccan tea until that evening. And because its miles from anywhere there is nowhere else to go.

The room? Definitely average. Nothing really wrong. Oh, its not a 'tent' except for some internal drapes.

Dinner was good...hence the second star.

Left early the morning to catch a plane...carried our own bags to our taxi...let ourselves out...no, they couldn't do an early breakfast. Shan't be going back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tall_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    50
    10
    9
    7
See reviews for
95
137
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I first visited Les Jardins D'Issil 6 years ago for a friends 50th birthday party. I have recently returned from my own birthday celebration and can honestly say that it surpassed all of my expectations! The well maintained gardens are mature now and very lush. The accommodation was immaculate (we stayed in the Princiere Suite) We were lucky enough to have exclusive use and were very well looked after throughout our stay. The communal areas are great, good sized pool with shaded seating areas. My guests all enjoyed the meals that were served and Patrick and Ghislaine provided a wonderful banquet evening that all went to plan with great food , music and belly dancing. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating and were genuinely delighted that we enjoyed ourselves so much! When we left I felt that we had made good friends. Will definitely be returning in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lunastewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the gardens after 4 nights in the medina, and it was a delightful change of pace. We stayed in one of the standard tents, which was clean, relaxing, sumptuous and wonderfully air conditioned. The bathroom was a bit of a squeeze, and the shower was quite weak.

As it is in the middle of nowhere, you will most likely eat all your meals here. The food is really good, and very reasonable. Traditional moroccan cuisine, with 2 courses for lunch, and 3 for dinner. It is a set menu which changes every night, and you have no choice (separate meals for vegetarians). I'm sure this is to save costs, but it also ensures that the ingredients are really fresh.

We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Not too sure about this place. Rooms are pleasant enough. Owners Patrick and Ghislaine are really nice and welcoming. Atmosphere around the place is chilled out and easy. Pool area is great. But I think you'd go mad after a couple of days. If you're in Marrakech for a few days/week, and want somewhere totally quiet and to spend time by the pool to recover from the hectic life & heat of the souks - this is probably a good shout. I'm sure in time as the gardens get more developed it will get better and better. Really nothing wrong with this place - just not really my kind of thing. It is however good value if you're a family who can all stay in one tent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently stayed in Les Jardins D'Issil as a group of 30+ people to celebrate a birthday.
What a wonderful weekend we had. The owners, Patrick and Ghislaine were wonderful as were the staff that worked tirelssly to make our stay so enjoyable. The place itself is in the middle of nowhere, but only 20 minute taxi ride into Marrakech. Its a calm peaceful oasis.
The rooms were beautiful, all decorated in authentic Morrocan style.
As previsouly commented on, there isn't any chouce when it comes to food, but I didn't find that to be a problem. The food was tasty and wonderfully presented.
I would definitely return here, either as just adults or with children (great pool!).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cree96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently spent a weekend at Les Jardin d'Issil for a friends 40th birthday - we had an absolutely fantastic time in a beautiful tranquil setting which was just what was needed. I am not a camper and did have some anxieties before but this was 5* camping (although not sure it can be called camping as much more upmarket). There was air conditioning, private ensuite bathroom facilities (porcelain), very comfortable beds too. We felt very safe in our tent and left the door unlocked throughout the weekend (actually the lock did not work on our tent but as we were in a group that took over the whole place, we did not feel any threat adn so did not even mention it).

The owners and staff were brilliant, nothing too much trouble, organised taxi's for us, drinks, and catered for our ever changing numbers for lunches without an issue.

it was actually refreshing to not have to choose a meal. With it being a set menu, it did make you try new things that you may not necesarily try and eat the local food.

It was all fantastic and we will definitely be returning soon in October.

Room Tip: All looked good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Please disregard the negative reviews of Jardins d'Issil. I understand that the road is much improved the Jardins opened and is within easy reach - about 20 minutes from the airport / Marrakech. Trips to Marrakech cost Dh 450 return, thus making it ideal for a sun and shopping trip. The tented accommodation, grouped around large pool in a tropical garden with views of the Atlas is beautiful, spacious and extremely comfortable. Safes for the rooms are provided and if anything in the room does not work, it is fixed the same day. The calls to prayer and toads croaking around the swimming pool at night add to the charm. The owners are solicitous of their guests as are the charming and helpful staff. The food is terrific value and absolutely delicious. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you want your private terrace shady or sunny during the afternoon, this will affect the room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
6.3 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#111 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
1.0 mi away
Be Live Family Aqua Fun Marrakech
10.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,366 reviews
10.9 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#14 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
11.2 mi away
Riad Emberiza Sahari
Riad Emberiza Sahari
#18 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins d'Issil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins d'Issil

Property: Les Jardins d'Issil
Address: Route de l'Ourika, km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 258 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Jardins d'Issil 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Budget Places and Hotwire so you can book your Les Jardins d'Issil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins d`Issil Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing