We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Money stolen and lack of interest from owner” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Jardins d'Issil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Jardins d'Issil
Harpenden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Money stolen and lack of interest from owner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had three main issues with our two-night stay. First, the fact that we had money stolen from our tent. Yes, be very wary if you plan to stay here. Our doors WERE locked by us but we retuned on two occasions to unlocked doors. There can't be too many people with keys can there ?

Having money stolen is not a great part of your holiday. Arguably, the second and more problematic part of the stay was the attitude of the owner to the situation. Having money stolen was (apparently) 'simply not possible - never, never'. My wallet, of course, felt otherwise. For me, rubbish happens in all our lives but, as the saying goes, it is how you deal with the rubbish that is important. This was not dealt with well by any stretch of the imagination - far, far from it. A more honest and less aggressive assertions that this was simply not possible would have been more helpful. We only came to realise 30mins before departure and I suspect the thief (yes stealing requires a thief) knew this. If we had more time I would have wanted to have called the police.

Just to be clear, I would not want to make such observations lightly. This is not my style. But the fact is we had money stolen and the patron simply washed her hands of it. Not good at all.

For foodies- you might be a little disappointed. But that is a much more of a personal comment. There was seemingly no choice in the evening. This is made more problematic due to the remoteness.

Of course, I should acknowledge some good features - the fab grounds and the tranquility was a super antidote to the busy parts of Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkBRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patmarrakech, Owner at Les Jardins d'Issil, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We had the feeling that everything was fine during your short stay and at the moment to pay the bill you said that you did steal money in your room, but you have a safe in your room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    52
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
97
143
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

A very friendly welcome and it is also very quiet and relaxed and beautiful. Lying on a sun bed in front of the pool with the snowy peaks of the Atlas mountains in the background was bliss. I am gluten free and there was no fuss about adapting my meals. The tents are luxury Morroccan style. We went camel riding nearby one day with our daughter - great fun. The stables and horses were outstanding. We will be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essaouira, Morocco
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Loved this place but were disappointed the last day : the "welcome drink" and "breakfast includeds" appeared on the bill and were an unhappy ending to what otherwise would have been perfection. Keep your eyes peeled when you check out !

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ginovandevelde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patmarrakech, Owner at Les Jardins d'Issil, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Google Translation
Booking.com affichent des tarifs hors petits petits déjeuners, nous offrons à ,nos clients pour les accueillir un thé à la menthe et non pas le jus d'orange mais votre souhait étant d'avoir un jus d'orange frais, nous vous l'avons offert avec plaisir, regarder bien votre facture, les jus d'oranges ne sont pas facturés.
Si toutefois vous l'avez égarée nous avons le duplicata. Je signale au passage que nos tarifs n'ont pas augmentés depuis l'ouverture des jardins d'issil il y a 8 ans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just back from a wonderful 5 day break in Marrakech - we stayed at Les Jardins after reading some UK magazine recommendations and some reviews on here.

What a marvellous place - about 20 mins drive from the center of Marrakech and situated in open land teeming with wildlife. We had the company of peacocks, tortoises, frogs and numerous local birds during our stay.

Meals taken in a wonderful central area with a tree filled terrace, bar was lovely with great service throughout and the meals we ate onsite were excellent, lovely tagines with fresh ingredients and local flavour.

Our accommodation was a smaller 'tent' - although you can hardly describe this as camping - with concrete walls and a full hotel room contained within, this was not like the camping trips you know! We had a canvas roof, but under it was fantastic comfortable bed, a lovely bathroom (with sometimes quirky Moroccan plumbing!), air conditioning and a dressing room/wardrobe - we even had a window for a birds to peck at in the morning.

The hotel was peaceful, with a remote call to prayer being heard in the morning as well as sounds of wildlife - but no noise from other guests and a calm, relaxed approach to service and hospitality throughout.

Be aware of the drive in and out of Marrakech - it is a good 20/30 minutes - but for me, this was a perfect way to see some life away from the touristic areas of the city AND get some peace and quiet away from the bustle. This is not a hotel to go walking out into the souks from.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - perfect, quality time for us and a wonderful oasis away from the medina of Marrakech and it's assault on ALL the senses.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattRutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Please be aware that the place locates 13 (Route de l`Ourika) +4 (small road to left if you come from Marrakech)+3 (even smaller and narrow) kilometres from Marrakech. Luckily we managed to convince our taxi-driver to continue until the destination:).

Beautiful garden, picturesque place!

Unfortunately we discovered upon the arrival that there is no restaurant, only ONE CHOICE MENU is available in this place, no alternatives possible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Incca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

At end of long Northumberland winter and at end of burst of hard work it was exactly the kind of place I had in mind - but even better ! Service, food, peace and quiet and even the weather surpassed all expectation - only negative is that Madame is so chic and elegant in an unmistakably French way that I felt a very scruffy Brit in comparison ...but at least it shamed me into the two hour Hammam special (which was divine) and a resolution to improve both my personal grooming on turn (so I can look like her one day) and my French language skills . Very welcoming and charming couple runt this place with staff to match and even a nice dining room hound who was integral to the ambience. Food alone was a reason to go but they achieve a classy and relaxed atmosphere and unbeatable prices in lovely surroundings. Many thanks and nous revenons.
Joanna and Simon (16 March - 23 March)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We arrived to the Jardin and I wasnt quite sure what to expect.. I booked after it was recommended in the guardian as a great experience. What can i say, I am SO glad that i did. The tent was beautiful and had so much room for two people. We stayed in the zen room and it was lovely! It is impossible to not relax here. The staff are all so friendly and helpful and the owners who really nice and wanted to make sure you enjoyed your stay. The food was delicious - with a set menu for both lunch and dinner - freshly prepared. My favorite tagine of the whole trip and thats saying something! The gardens and pool are completely picturesque and the mountain views are spectacular. I would 100% return here if we were ever to return to Marrakesh! Thank you very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonFoodie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
10.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
11.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#97 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Be Live Family Aqua Fun Marrakech
11.2 mi away
Riad Emberiza Sahari
Riad Emberiza Sahari
#19 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
8.3 mi away
Manzil la Tortue
Manzil la Tortue
#1 of 266 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins d'Issil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins d'Issil

Property: Les Jardins d'Issil
Address: Route de l'Ourika, km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Jardins d'Issil 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Budget Places, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Les Jardins d'Issil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins d`Issil Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing