We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Jardins d'Issil

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Les Jardins d'Issil
Bad Zurzach, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just returned from a short stay . Well worth every penny. great value. Fun accomodation . Beautiful pool and great food. Highly recomended as an alternative to staying in the centre of Mrrakesh. Just a 20 minute drive from the Medina area

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 198854JohnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    54
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
100
149
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights after a longer trip in Morocco and enjoyed the tranquility as the rest of our trip had been a bit hectic. WE did 2 trips into the atlas mountains which were great but the taxi into Marrakech was expensive so we didn't venture out of the hotel much otherwise, as we had already stayed in the city itself. The pool was very cold when we were there and even the 2 kids (4 and 7) couldn't stay in for more than a few minutes at a time. this was the main drawback and would put me off going there with kids again. However, they loved the gardens and had a great time playing and exploring in them. The staff are lovely, friendly and helpful, but the French owners are a bit less warm. I had a problem with locking our room and they never got back to me about it. luckily I got it to work myself.
The food was great, different every night of our 6 night stay and our somewhat fussy kids were fine with all of it. It is a bit expensive as you have to buy all your water which seems a bit much not to provide free drinking water for guests in a hotel, and it was considerably more than in local shops. All that said its a beautiful place, the rooms are gorgeous and the staff excellent.
I would recommend it but worth speaking french to the owners as they don't make much / any effort to communicate in any other language.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMagezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

My wife, booked the hotel for 46 of us for my 60th birthday for 3 nights. Everything was absolutely fabulous. The luxurious tents are far apart for every couple's privacy, the swimming pool was the main attraction during the day, the food was very good and "la fête" on the Saturday evening with whole Maroccan lamb ( Mechoui) was a whole new experience for the South African men who pride themselves in BBQ's. Patrick and Ghislaine were the perfect hosts and kept the cold Rosé wine flowing. The staff were also extremely friendly and kind.

I would gladly recommend Jardin D'Issil for any large event, but do book the whole place for yourselves.

Merci beaucoup, Patrick et Ghislaine.

Room Tip: All the tents were great, the African huts were a little basic for some, but had a small kitchen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buks v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This place is very special after a long journey in a 4X4 or a day in the busy souks of Marrakech.
Located at about 13 km from the city, everything is made for you to feel relaxed, reading a good book, cooling off in the big swimming pool, or listening to soft music in a very romantic but pragmatic tent set in idylic gardens.The staff are very friendly and welcome children and adults alike. The food is unique and unfussy. There is nothing you can not receive from this place owned by two bretons passionate about exotism and escapism. My wife ripped an article from a magazine about this place four years ago , it has taken us this long to get there, it was well worth the wait.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsFostier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I've never actually taken the time to write a review of anywhere I've stayed before but I just had to write about this fabulous little place. I'm actually doing this review before I've even headed home. What an absolute heaven of tranquility. The staff anticipated our every need. The owner was a total sweetheart. The food was great and served when we wanted it, not within set hours. We had fabulous hammam and massage. And will be floating home on a cloud of shisha, mojitos and relaxation. I couldn't recommend it more. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KittyBangBang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patmarrakech, Propriétaire at Les Jardins d'Issil, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion, it was a great pleasure to welcome you to the jardins d' Issil and my wish is to see you soon for a mojito together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed for three days and really enjoyed it here. Some things are quite basic - the showers aren't very good, they aren't powerful and the water doesn't ever get really hot, and there's not a choice of things to eat at mealtimes. There wasn't a TV or much available in the shop. But this didn't bother us. We were picked up from the airport and taken straight there and the staff helped us to arrange the next leg of our journey. The gardens are lovely and the pool, though cold, is a decent size. The pool area is beautiful and very relaxing. Every meal was simple but plentiful and delicious. On arrival we were given mint tea and asked if we wanted lunch and given a choice of times to dine.Because there were not many guests we also received a free upgrade. We found the junior staff slightly too deferential at times - more like servants than staff, but the senior staff were very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. This was perfect for us as we just wanted to relax and unwind. We spent the evenings sipping morrocan wine and playing the boardgames provided in the restaurant area and the days in the lounge areas by the pool or playing mini golf. A perfect way to unwind!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalyan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We came to the Jardins on the 5th day of our stay in Marrakesh as we had decided to combine our one week holiday with a 4 day stay at a Riad in the city centre of Marrakesh and the final 2 days at the Jardins D'Issil. We very much liked the idea of combining the hustle and bustle of the Medina with a more tranquil and relaxing few days at the end of our holiday.

We arrived at the Jardins at 3pm in the afternoon and were quite hungry upon arrival. When we tried to order lunch we were informed we should have made a reservation for this and that no food was on site. After some discussion and some shouting between the cook and the waitress in the kitchen we were served our lunch.

In the evening we enjoyed dinner here and settled into the TV room (where a TV was spotted when we looked on arrival but had since disappeared) with our laptop to watch a film and were told 15 minutes into the film that they were to close the bar/restaurant/TV room (which are all situated in the same building). This was at 11 at night and although we put up a bit of a fight we ended up being sent to our tents...I felt like a teenager again!
Seeing as there is no internet connection or any other entertainment in the tents, and the lighting is very very dim (and this is coming from someone who likes a candle lit room) we had no choice but to retire to bed early.

The tents themselves looked nice from the inside and out, but our tent unfortunately leaked as we found out during the rain we had on the two nights we stayed, and I ended up with a few wet items of clothing. The set up of the tents themselves is fairly basic, and by no means luxury. Just because they have a double bed and a shower/sink this does not qualify them as luxury in my opinion. The bathroom was a whole different story altogether. The shower was luke warm in temperature (not good in November!) and the pressure was not there so it was quite the job to try and get washed. Our toilet had a very mucky and dirty interior and did not make us want to use it during our stay, the guest toilet in the restaurant however was fine so we used this instead.

We facied the idea of booking the hamam for a scrub and a massage but when we asked to see this it was basically another tent with a bathroom similar in size to the one in our own tent with a sink and two benches. There was no heating arrangement here so obviously not to be used as a hamam seeing as the basis of this is a heating element of some sort! We ended up getting a taxi into Marrakesh and getting a hamam and massage treatment there instead.

My friend who is a smoker had been informed that it would be possible to buy packs of cigarettes in the shop at the Jardins, however we soon found out this was not the case. I know not smoking is of course a healthier option but I thought it a bit hard to make guests stop during their holiday by simply not having it on offer.

The staff were not very friendly or helpful during our stay but I am unsure whether this was due to the fact that we were there out of season (November) or because we mainly spoke English.

The only positive point I can say about the Jardins is the gardens and the decor in the restaurant and bar. The owners obviously put a lot of thought into this and this area looks without a doubt far better than the rest of the complex or accomodation on offer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliveLounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patmarrakech, Propriétaire at Les Jardins d'Issil, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
We find exaggerated and unfair to criticize this way the Jardins d’Issil. Please note that my wife and I are present every day and it is very easy for us to accept complain and try to make every effort to satisfy our customers.
In fact, yes the light in this tent is very soft for the “romantic ambiance”. The family tents are much more lighted. Cleaning is done every day, the bouquet of roses is changed every day plus we burn incense every day. It is difficult for us to believe that the toilet was dirty after the passage of the maid every morning. And if so why they didn’t complain at that time……we cannot accept that kind of complain…..
About the hammam: true, it is a tent, but there is a hard bottom part below. And however can you say that there was no heater ? as you didn’t use it…... Is it off when unused .. We have a lot of customer coming from far just to use our hammam and we work with the same lady specializing in massage for 5 years……
There is no TV room, but great music, our customers appreciate more the music than TV in this kind of establishment. The wifi works well in living rooms and the restaurant, even near the pool. In the tents it does not work, that is true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
6.3 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#92 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
9.9 mi away
Riad Alma
Riad Alma
#115 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
10.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
11.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
8.3 mi away
Manzil la Tortue
Manzil la Tortue
#1 of 276 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins d'Issil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins d'Issil

Property: Les Jardins d'Issil
Address: Route de l'Ourika, km 13, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 276 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Jardins d'Issil 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Les Jardins d'Issil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins d`Issil Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing