We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hideaway in the middle of the medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zagouda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Zagouda
Ranked #313 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Mainz
Level Contributor
99 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Hideaway in the middle of the medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Tastefully decorated riad, 10min to Djemma el Fna to walk. Neat rooms with aircon/heater (which is a good idea still in March). Sunbeds on roof top. Very nice host which brought us mint tea when we came back the first day from an exhausting stroll through Marrakech. Good value for money. Only breakfast could offer more choice.
Book the transfer for the way from the airport, this is much more relaxing and is just 15 Euro for 2. They bring you to the riad's door, which is not easy to find (only on first day, then you can find easily back).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveladdicted4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Well, where do l start! We were booked into Riad Barroko but it was only when l contacted the Riad direct, Venere were not helpful, that we were told we would be staying here and it would be the same but nearer to the centre. Partly correct. Simonne was very helpful and a perfect host. The bed was a bit narrow. If there had been full occupancy there were not enough sun beds. The Riad was so peaceful and comfortable. The only down side was the 'lady that does' - cleaning etc..,she made us feel that we were unwelcome guests, in the way and beneath her. Even getting her to show us how to turn the pool pump on and off so she didn't have to keep doing it and glaring at us didn't soften her, oh well we are all different but WE were on holiday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill8858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I booked the Barroko Riad as part of a package. We arrived there really late at night and there was a note telling us we would be moved the next morning to their sister Riad because they couldn't honour our booking. We thought, great, here we go!

The following morning we were taken by taxi to Riad Zagouda. The riad was smaller but a lot nicer than the Barroko riad, it seemed much cleaner and just in much better shape.

We were greeted by Simmo, the manager, who made us tea and sat down with us to have a chat about any trips we might like to book or any information we needed. Then he told us to let him know whenever we were ready and he would walk us down to the square so we would know our way.

The rooms aren't huge but they are really nice and clean and well looked after. There's a stereo etc in them. The bathroom was nice and a good size. And whenever we arrived back from a trip out Simmo was on hand with tea!

We were booked in for 6 nights but travelled to Essouira for 2 nights. When we told Simmo about our travel plans he went off to buy us bus tickets the day before for the trip.

We had dinner twice in the Riad which was really good. There was a lovely lady who was there every morning, I think she was the housekeeper and looked after breakfast etc. When we booked dinner for the evenings there we guessed that she probably made it in the afternoon and left it ready for Simmo to serve. Dinner was good, really nice salad and bread to start, tagine for main and fresh fruit. You could also get a bottle of wine if you wanted. The dinner for 2 worked out at €20 - bargain.

Breakfast was pancakes/pastries/fruit/coffee. The patry/pancakes were nice and homemade, although something savoury perhaps on alternate days would have been nice but I think this is pretty much the standard breakfast fare in the Riads.

Throughout our stay at this Riad, Simmo could not do enough for us. His english is not bad - better than our french, so whilst we had one or two miscommunications there really was very little difficulty. He was really friendly and genuine, and really went out of his way to make our trip a great one. I think he's one of the best hosts we ever encountered!

There's a small pool in the centre of the Riad - it wasn't really warm enough whilst we were there. But I think you would be really grateful for it in the summer months - its not big enough to swim in but you could certainly make use of it to cool down in the summer months. Also, there was a roof terrace that we went up to with chairs and couches.

I would definitely recommend this riad to anyone planning a visit to Marrakech. You can walk down to the main square in about 6 or 7 minutes but its tucked out of the way enough that it is very peaceful and quiet. Also, Pepe Nero restaurant is just around the corner and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms in this Riad and as far as we could tell they all looked good. We had a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
espanol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Pretty, welcoming, clean, friendly, central we enjoyed every bit of the riad. The very nice gadizha , the gentle and helpfull Simo.
They made marrakesh an onforgetfull experience.
A perfect riad. Very, very, recomendable. Good cooking,. beautifull sun terrace. the lights an d candles on the pretty pation around the little pool. and all the cups of marrocan tea that simo made...! Unforgetable!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eugeneanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2006

I must be the first to write a review on Riad Zagouda in Marrakech [-----](I stayed there with a friend in December 2005/January 2006 for 4 nights. It is reasonably priced and will not break your wallet. It is owned by french owners but run by locals. The manager speaks very good English. It is located in the medina about 5 minutes walk from Place Jemaa El Fna. Not the easiest place to locate but if you call the riad, they can give directions to the taxi driver. It is accessible by car, yet you can walk to the square easily, negotiating the narrow alleys which at once transports you to a different era and adds to the exotic feel and the delight of staying in such a wonderful little riad.
>
>The riad has 3 levels, but the rooms are located in the first and second level. The third level is a roof terrace which was not used when I was there as it was winter. There are not many rooms, so it is quite quiet, peaceful and intimate.The rooms are not that large but adequate and they are well appointed with traditional local furniture. The taps and sink in the bathroom are made of brass/gold. As with other riads, there is a common area in the middle of the riad which is open to the elements. There is a small dipping pool in the middle of the common area which was too cold for use in winter. But I imagine it would be very nice to plunge in during summer.
>
>We had our New Year's eve dinner in the riad. It was organised by the managers of the riad for us, the 6 guests who were staying there, at our request because all the restaurants in Marrakech were fully booked. As it turned out, it was the best new year party I have ever had. There were 2 oud musicians and a belly dancer to entertain us. We all danced to the arabic music and tried belly dancing and ululating. Even the cook joined in the celebrations. The atmosphere was simply priceless. Kudos to the management who went all out to plan a party that we will never forget for the rest of our lives!
>
>Kathija the riad cook whips us the most fabulous moroccan dishes each day, which puts any of the restaurants in Jemaa El Fna to shame. If you stay here, forget about eating out. The best lamb tagines and chicken cous cous are to be had in house! That is one of the perks of staying in this riad.
>
>I would recommend this riad highly. When you stay here, it feels like you are a guest at someone's home. I would most certainly stay there again shd I return to Marrakech.
>

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank lieblingsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad BB Marrakech
Riad BB Marrakech
#290 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Basma
Riad Basma
#235 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Oasissime
Riad Oasissime
#220 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#52 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Maipa
Riad Maipa
#265 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Noor Charana
Riad Noor Charana
#223 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zagouda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zagouda

Property: Riad Zagouda
Address: 58, Derb Djid | Royaume du Maroc, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Zagouda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing