We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Think twice” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kasbah Tiwaline

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kasbah Tiwaline
Ranked #357 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Think twice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

We stayed at the Kasbah Tiwaline in June 2010 and would like to share our experience with you.
The Kasbah, per se, is a beautiful place to stay at, far away from the maddening Medina. Far far away from the noisy Marrakech and, above all, far far far away from all the smog.
The whole complex consists of three separate Kasbahs, each with a pool and a garden area. Anyhow, not all the pools were working and we had to demand to have our room changed. The rooms are rather dark and there are some amenities missing that the web sites and Jeremy, the owner, promised the room would be equipped with. There is no proper light, which is not a big problem after all, but a safe was promised and was not there. Unless they use big ceramic pots for safes. The rooms are also quite shabby. The bed I was sleeping in hardly held together and the first room we were offered smelled as if someone just switched off a big 100 years old generator in there and one look in the shower corner would make a fine stomach turn around.
The restaurant that promised a choice of local and international dishes was nothing but a communal kitchen, where food was served three times a day under the motto: you eat what the staff eat. No choice whatsoever, breakfast was always the same, bread, pancakes and jam every single morning. dinner was served at €16 per person and, what is interesting, you only get soup, one plate with the starter and one plate with the main dish to share. Being so far from Marrakech we did not have much choice but have dinners there. The food was nice, though the price was quite steep for what you were actually getting. The same with the overall service. Not being French, as we noticed, we were ignored every time we came to the restaurant. We always had to wait at the table for at least 15 minutes, while the owners were comfortably sitting and browsing internet and eventually we had to order ourselves from the absolutely lovely local staff, Mustafa, Fatima and Aziz right through the kitchen window. Whenever, though French guests came in, the owners, also French, were jumping with joy and attending to them within seconds. The music in the restaurant started playing as soon the French guests arrived, the same with the fountain. One can simply not overlook this, especially being the only non-French couple there...
Also, be careful with the final bill, better keep a record of everything you eat and drink as we were overcharged for wine we never had. On one bill we were charged a special tax which somehow never applied on the other bill. So better double check your bills.
Overall, although a very nice place to stay, the very disturbing service from the owners sometimes made us feel unwelcome and regret the choice. For the money you end up paying, you can easily afford a 5-star hotel in the new town of Marrakech, as we later found out from fellow travellers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstTimerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    29
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
42
34
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Soto del Real, Madrid
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

At first we were a bit hesitant to stay 13 km from the center of Marrakech. In hindsight, we are very glad we did! The Kasbah was the perfect place to relax and unwind after experiencing the chaos of Marrakech. The room we had was beautifully decorated and very spacious, as well as clean and comfortable! A short distance from our room was a well-maintained pool with lounge chairs, pool towels and hats. It was heaven lying under the shade of the umbrella with occasional dips into the pool to cool off (in the 40C heat). The grounds were gorgeous...we were amazed at how they were able to keep all the plants alive in such extreme heat. The food (lunch and dinner) was probably the best we had in Marrakech. Of the 5 days we spent there, 3 of them we ate at the Kasbah. Hats of to the cook! Finally, the staff (particularly Aziz) were incrediblly kind and helpful. We highly recommend the Kasbah. Don't let the distance from center prevent you from booking here. First of all, they offer very affordable transfer service (10 Euros/room/day). Secondly, you wouldn't regret having such a beautiful, relaxing place to go back to after spending time in the chaos of Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caminodesotobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2010

4 of us stayed in one of the Kasbahs for 3 nights at the end of May 2010, before we ventured into the medina for 4 nights. There are 3 separate kasbahs (fortified houses) each with a terrace (upper) suite, a garden suite and a double room. We had both suites in Kasbah 'Ayour'. This place is set in the Palmeriae area on the outskirts of Marrakech and is away from the hustle and bustle. Great for a relaxing trip before the madness of the medina! The staff were friendly and helpful - I think they are in the process of changing ownership as Jeremy and his brother seemed to be taking over.

The whole kasbah complex is visually stunning, although rustic - and the suites were large and full of traditional furniture and architecture. Each kasbah has a pool and ours was the better of the three (one seemed to be shut at the time we were there and we got a few couples turning up at our pool). Lovely quiet rural setting with a view of the Atlas mountains and many birds in the gardens (three owls were a regular feature at the back of the kasbah!)

The restaurant was lovely with a big open air centre with a pond and huge fireplace (not lit when we were there!). Food good- but no choice- you just ask for lunch or dinner and enjoy the surprise! We ate very well with four courses for 10 Euro for lunch and 16 Euro for dinner. Alcohol is served and is about 4 Euro for a Casablanca beer and 10-14 Euro for a bottle of wine.

There is a minibus service which we didn't use, to the medina for 10 Euro per day per room with about 5 trips during the day and up to about 11 at night. We did one trip while we where there which Aziz organised- a camel trip to a berber house. The trip is done from a place about 5 minutes car ride and cost 25 Euro each. It was well worth it - we were on the camels for about 2 hours with a stop at a fantastic berber house for snacks and mint tea- didn't feel like a tourist trap at all and our guide (Eddie Murphy) really made the trip for us.

The only slight negative I would say about this place is that the rooms were dark and there was no place to hang clothes or any drawers to unpack in. Not a major problem. Also - check your bill as we didn't and found out later that we had been charged for a lunch that we didn't have! (Oh well, live and learn)!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssJayWhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed in April 2007. A wonderful stay for two nights away from the bustle of Marrakech. Host was wonderful. Dinner was very intimate in the tent style dining room. The kasbhs were very cool and comfortable and what you would envision when you thing of Morocco. The bathrooms - very nice. A great place - would love to return for a week.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aeiodaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2007

We stayed at the Tiwaline at the end of March and found this the perfect place for us. The contrast between the fantastic bustle and noise of Marrakech and the serenity of Tiwaline was perfect for a mixed group of 30 somethings. Taxis fares were ok split between the five of us. Hospitality and warmth of the owners helped make this a special place.

  • Liked — Location and atmosphere
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 24NKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2007

We stayed at Kasbah Tiwaline for 3 nights in April 2007.

The location is about 12 km from the Medina which is the heart of Marrakech. This place may not be for you if you like to be in the middle of all the action. However, Marrakech can be a bit overwhelming and this is a wonderful getaway, only 20 minutes by taxi (10 Euros), to get back to after a hectic day in the souks.

The owners are a lovely Franco-Morrocan couple and do all they can to make your stay comfortable. The rooms are simple with lots of character. The central dining area is set out in traditional Moroccan courtyard style and the staff are always on hand to cater to your needs. The food is delicious.

Would return!!!

  • Liked — Character
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amolkarnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2007

The Kasbah Tiwaline Hotel in Marrakesh is a place I'll always remember. Its rooms screamed Morocco to me; the restoration of this hotel was done with great care to reflect local traditional construction.
I stayed at Kasbah Tiwaline for 7 nights (with a friend) in January 2007.
The hotel is located Marrakesh, Morocco, in a plush and quiet residential area.
The hotel staff (from receptionists to housekeeping) were very polite and welcoming.
Description
•Charming Hotel in the heart of the Palmeraie in Marrakesh.
•An excellent restaurant in the hotel
•Rooms are typically Berberian, quiet and romantic
•Summer is not a problem, Kasbah Tiwaline have air-conditioned.
•Moderately priced--cheap if you consider the charm

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank kam0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.1 mi away
Kasbah Le Mirage
Kasbah Le Mirage
#154 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
20.6 mi away
Kasbah Caracalla
Kasbah Caracalla
#290 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
4.5 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#86 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#87 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
7.4 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#165 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
7.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#4 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Tiwaline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Tiwaline

Property: Kasbah Tiwaline
Address: Bab Atlas | Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#195 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasbah Tiwaline 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kasbah Tiwaline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Tiwaline Marrakech
Kasbah Tiwaline Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing