We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so good looking but avoid the plunge pool room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Vedra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Vedra
Ranked #130 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“so good looking but avoid the plunge pool room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in September, hot outside, cool inside in so many ways. Dar Vedra is a very male exposition in good design, with big leather pouffes, big leather curtain ties, heavy iron furniture, beautifully foliaged atria, exquisite roof terrace with views. We loved the greeting, and the food -- we ate there one night on the roof -- but didn't like the position of our room so much, we were on the ground floor by the 10' by 4' plunge pool, which was great in the heat, but not so great at night as other guests sat around it, outside our French windows, chatting till midnight - or until I went in and out of the room repeatedly and they got the hint. Not their fault as it's not totally clear it's a bedroom there. (And maybe the payback is that the ensuite bathroom has the biggest solid stone bath I have ever seen, you could fit a rugby team in, which thinking about it may have been someone's intention...) Anyway, if luxury in the middle of Marrakech's poverty is your thing, it hits the mark -- it left us slightly uneasy, as the juxtaposition inside and out is so enormous, but that's not the French owner/designer's fault. He is charming, and often on hand to answer your queries with a quip and an anecdote.

Room Tip: Ensure you are not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andnessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad-DAR-VEDRA, Owner at Dar Vedra, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest
First of all, we would like to thank you for your comment.
Our guests’ opinions are really very important for us to move forward.
We are sorry for what happened with people chatting if front of your room.
Please consider this as exceptional since our employees have instruction not to let use the pool patio in the evening. We renewed our instructions to make sure this does not happen again
We are in the Riad to make sure each guest have a nice stay, I’m sorry you did not say anything to the night attendant on that evening or ourselves the next morning, we would have solve this issue right away.
Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving.
Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Mr Didier Blat
Co-owner/Co-manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    21
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
178
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed at the Dar Vedra riad for a night during my visit in Morocco.
The staff was very polite and helpful and the riad was very clean, tidy and relaxing.
I would definitely recommend it to everyone without second thoughts!
Everything was moderately excellent.

Room Tip: If you're 4, use the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kostas k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just came back from Dar Vedra......what bliss. Beautifully decorated, all the staff Amal, Hadeeja, Jamilla, Hassin & Yoseph were gracious, charming and wonderful. Sebastien is informative and has done a great job. It is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the square but because it was So hot we chose to chill by the pool most of the time. I will return next year but not at Ramadan. The food at the riad matched any meal we had outside.....just divine. We went to Essaouira after 5 days in Marrakesh and if I could have picked up Dar Vedra and plopped her down in Essaouira, I would have!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms.....they are all charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BermudaBermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Riad Dar Verdra is located there where you would not expect such a Riad. You arrive at the door, you are welcomed to get in and you are flabbergasted. Outside it’s noisy and crowded, inside it is calm and quiet. The roof terrace is amazing, no noise, just birds chirping. Downstairs there is a splash pool to cool down from the Marrakech’ heat. The staff is friendly. You have the possibility to have dinner at the Riad, it is good, but a bit expensive for what you get. The location is between the new and old city. The old city (medina) is the most attractive part culture wise and a 20 minute walk away. The rooms are clean, although I found some hairs at the decorative plaid they put on the bed. Just put the plaid into the cabinet and it is all fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonny84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at this lovely Riad. The rooms were good and facilities such as the plunge pool were great after the heat of the day in the souqs. Sebastian was very helpful during our stay and in organizing our accommodation in Fez. Definitely recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank geoffofulladulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

After looking at countless Riads and deciding upon Dar Vedra, all fears that we should have booked another were laid to rest instantly upon arrival. Staff are very helpful and knowledgeable, food is good, and it is very well located. The plungepool is very necessary after walking around in the heat! They can book restaurants, massages etc for you. Easy play to relax as well. We had our own seating area outside the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NRS_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here in February on our first (but not last) trip to Morocco and had all the usual trepidation at booking into the unknown of course - but as soon as we arrived we realised all our fears had been groundless. Sebastien arranged our transfer from the Airport (which was seamless) and welcomed us warmly with tea when we arrived. We were in love with the place by the time we got to our room, the central courtyard is as charming and open as the hosts.
The room was tasteful, spacious and more than comfortable but the real highlight for me was the roof terrace. It's a lovely place to relax after a hectic day in the Souk and we looked forward to returning our little private oasis at the end of every day.
I really can't rave about the place enough, we just loved it, all of the staff were very friendly and helpful - in fact the meal we had one night in the dining room is still one of the highlights of the trip. My advice would be to book in at Dar Vedra and let them take care of you, nothing was ever too much trouble (arranging trips at the drop of a hat, recommending places to eat, things to do or even ironing a shirt) and the service from everyone was unobtrusive but efficient and friendly.
In future, all holidays will be compared to this - and I fear they'll be found wanting.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the proximity to the Mosque, I never used the ear plugs I brought. The phot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LidlPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#23 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Olema & Spa
Riad Olema & Spa
#117 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Bel Haj
Riad Bel Haj
#222 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar-K
Riad Dar-K
#11 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Bindoo
Riad Bindoo
#81 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Azza
Riad Azza
#382 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Vedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Vedra

Property: Dar Vedra
Address: 3 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ou Moussa | Bab, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Vedra 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter so you can book your Dar Vedra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Vedra Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing