We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Riad... Location could be better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryad Dyor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ryad Dyor
Ranked #85 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Global
Level Contributor
168 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Riad... Location could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a great few days here in the terrace suite. The room is spacious, private and comfortable with its own fire place that staff will happily set up for you on cold winter nights. The staff at the Riad are very helpful and friendly and will make arrangements for guides etc as required. You can also have meals - delicious ones! - at the Riad if you give a few hours notice. The roof top terrace is great with lots of loungers and outdoor sofas. In all honesty the private section of the terrace that came with our suite was not worth much as it's pretty much always shaded. The main negative of the Riad is the location at the far end of the medina. This adds an authentic feel as there are very few tourists around, but also means that getting anywhere is a hassle. You either need to negotiate with cab drivers every time or you need to find your way through the medina (you will definitely get lost a few times). The quiet section around the Riad can also feel a little intimidating at night time. Overall, good experience but next time would look for a Riad closer to the main square.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    30
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
140
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Ryad Dyor was an oasis of tranquility amid the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The dyor, itself is located in a "no-car" zone of the Medina, but the staff arranged transportation to the closest point and then a porter took our luggage and led us to the ryad from the drop-off point through the twists and turns of the Medina to the ryad. The moment we walked inside, the din and clamor of the Medina faded away and we were greeted with mint tea and pastries. The staff was very gracious and made every effort to make the ryad our home away from home. My wife and I decided to eat dinner at the ryad, and we were not disappointed (the beef and date tagine was amazing as was the ambiance and atmosphere of eating dinner fireside). We decided to eat dinner at the ryad the next night as well. Breakfasts were also very delicious as well. Everything about the ryad was top-notch, from the beautiful decor and tranquil atmosphere to the attentive service and delightful meals.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZBold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have traveled to many places around the world and stayed in many big names hotels, Ryad Dyor is one of the best places that I have ever stayed in terms of hospitality, food, city guidance, tidiness.
The Ryad Dyor is also a peace of art if we talk about architecture, every single detail from the entrance to the bathrooms.

They will definitely help you to have a great experience in Marrakech as the stuff are very helpful friendly that you feel that you are family and very professional, but also make sure to try their delicious fresh food as me and my wife agreed that we had the best dinner in Marrakech at Ryad Dyor.
Definitely if we are going again to Marrakech it will be Ryad Dyor.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Superior Suite great one, You cant really tell which suite or room are the best as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SGhossein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful stay in Ryad Dyor with top service and hospitality from Hicham, Ibrahim and the rest of the good & welcoming staff ! From the dinner on the patio under the stars to the delicious breakfast on the rooftop terrace. An extensive, warm and fantastic service. An hidden treasure in the Medina and we advise you to go to this special place...
Misslead (25 years of friendship)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annemieke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Splendid riad, ideal for a romantic week-end. Our marks:

A+ for the tasteful + classy/sophisticated decor; the service; the sense of being somehow out of space and time (it was tempting to just stay in and do nothing all day).

B for location: although it is only 5 minutes walking to the nearest taxi drop off point, the way to the riad is a bit of a mess: you need to pay attention not to get lost. Also, it is a good 15 minutes to the main square.

C for value: I know many hip riads in Marrakech come with a high price tag and this is actually presented as a well priced one, but I felt overall that for 4-5* hotel rates we got service and facilities of a (though) beautiful B&B. Also, the dinner in the riad – though pretty good – was pricey compared to several other dining options in the area. I would recommend eating elsewhere with the same budget.

F to the decorator who thought that no window shades and thin curtains are a great stylistic choice, not thinking that most people on this planet find it easier to sleep in the dark and do not appreciate to be woken up at sunrise by blinding lights, especially on holidays!

Overall, a beautiful, peaceful, place with lots of atmosphere but not necessarily the best value for money you can get.

Room Tip: I would avoid the patio suite: doors and windows open (as you can easily guess) on the patio, so not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Franz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

At the risk of sounding like I have copied the previous reviews, this experience was just too good not to write about. As an Interior Designer and Travel Agency director this beautiful ryad just ticked all the boxes. Our rooms were absolutely beautiful with every detail just so well thought out and put together. After a hard days shopping in the souks (!) there was nothing better than being welcomed by Hicham and Ibrahim who had set up our dinner in front of a lovely fire - it was just like home. Thanks to all concerned for the making our trip to Marrakesh, we will be back.

Room Tip: Room 6 and 7 overlooking the courtyard were sunny and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lederle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Thanks to Hicham and Ibrahim who are very warm and friendly, our trip went smoothly and we left all the restaurant and daytime activity planning to them. Unfortunately one of the restaurants ruined our dinner experience and both Hicham and Ibrahim were extremely sympathetic and did their best to make it up to us in other ways even though it was not their fault. Hospitality was top-notch and we felt really taken care of. Everything we asked for, we got. The riad is beautiful and comfortable. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 900valeriec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#148 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#70 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#52 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Tzarra
Riad Tzarra
#182 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#4 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#40 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Dyor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Dyor

Property: Ryad Dyor
Address: 1 Derb Driba Jdida Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#104 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Dyor 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the medina of Marrakech, two ryads have been transformed into a fabulous guesthouse with plunge pool. The owners have now added their personal touch to this ryad in Marrakech. Let yourself be surprised by the stunning atmosphere of the Medina's streets and alleys, leading to the doors of Ryad Dyor. Behind these doors an oasis of serenity welcomes you....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ryad Dyor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Dyor Marrakech
Ryad Dyor Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing