We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samanah Golf Club

Samanah Golf Club
Ranked #132 of 420 Outdoor Activities in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Un parcours de classe internationale, concu par Nicklaus Design, ce parcours long ( 6735 m Par 72 ) aux normes USGA, se veut selectif mais sans pieges inutiles. S'etirant sur pres de 100 hectares, il sera adapte a tous les niveaux : exigeant pour les bons joueurs et agreable pour les moins experimentes. Une philosophie de conception deja appliquee par le cabinet de Jack Nicklaus, a plus de 250 parcours dont plusieurs figurent parmi les meilleurs du monde. Vous aurez le plaisir de jouer un parcours de grande qualite avec une vue imprenable sur les hauts sommets de l'Atlas. .................................................................................................................................... A world class course designed by Nicklaus Design, this championship course (6735 m Par 72) in the standards USGA, aims to be selective but without useless traps. Stretching on about 100 hectares, it will be adapted at every level: requiring for the good players and pleasant for the least experimented. A philosophy of design already applied by the cabinet of Jack Nicklaus, in more than 250 courses among which several appear among the best of the world. You will have the pleasure to play a high-quality course with a fantastic view over the high summits of the Atlas.
Northampton
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

What a beautiful course this is. The fairways are like an enormous green carpet. The greens are slick and true. The semi rough is better than our fairways at our home course.
By far the best course we played

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank baldric8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best looking golf course here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very long course in good condition and certainly the best environment out of the 3 I played in Marrakech but they still need to improve overall facilities
Bunkers and greens were good condition
Clubhouse fine for a drink but I wouldn't recommend eating there
A real bonus is how quiet all the courses are and 3 hr round again
We had a buggy but walkable too however if you do it's mandatory to have a caddy

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the most fantastic villa with the most amazing staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I went here with 10 other girlfriends for a week and the villa we stayed in far exceeded my expectations (and I have high expectations). It was very large with a contemporary feel and very clean throughout. 6 double bedrooms, all with bathrooms, 2 lounges, beautiful master suite with 2 sets of double doors onto balcony. It overlooked the golf course one way and the Atlas mountains the other way. Our roof top terrace was huge with bbq, sink etc already installed up there, again with the most fantastic views. The main seating area in the garden had a table large enough for us all to have our meals around and also corner sofas and tables to lounge at with a lovely large pool surrounded by 10 sun beds (our gardener very kindly brought another 1 to us within an hour of us being out in the garden on our first day as he realised we were 1 short). The staff were so attentive, nothing was too much trouble, our cook let herself in at 8am and proceeded to prepare and cook whatever we had requested the day before. She stayed all day preparing our lunch and then our evening meal, again all with our requested menu. She usually went home around 10pm and was happy, helpful and attentive the whole time she was there - Bushra you were a star!! Our rooms were cleaned by our maid every day and the minute we left the garden area/sofas etc they would be cleared and tidied again. Every single person in our group wants to go back again next year and definitely stay in the same villa - we loved it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gearings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely golf course, but not the best in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This golf course is beautiful and is a true test of golf. At the same time, it is fair to all levels of golfer and you will enjoy the views I am certain. If you are considering hiring clubs here though, then don't. They are awful. The clubs are so old that the grips are shiny and feel like they are going to slip from your hands.

I played this course, Royal Marrakech and Almaaden. The latter is definitely the best track of the three I played. See my other reviews on these courses.

If I had taken my own clubs, this course would have definitely a better experience, but I will go back and play again sometime soon. Inshallah.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, Essex
Level Contributor
157 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A quality golf resort inlcuding course and clubhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We played this Nicklaus designed golf course on a busy Thursday at 10:30 so it was warm. Located about a 20 minute drive from the centre of Marrakech this desert course features wide and long fairways with many strategically placed bunkers. A good test of golf - but fair. Playing off H13 - off the white tees - I was fortunate to start well and hit to 36 points; but thanks to my caddy helping with the read of putts.
Greens were as good as in the UK and the course was very well looked after. Water only really comes into play on 2 holes. As is usual nowadays! Lots of half started villas around the course but also many finished and used.
If you walk - as we wanted to - caddies are compulsory. Carry bags and clean clubs & help read putts (trust them - they do know) and for 150D although we gave 200D each (so £15). Showered afterwards with towels provided and a locker. After a great 18 holes, time to relax on the terrace of the clubhouse where we had a good meal with alcohol now served.
We booked through yourgolftravel in the UK and £45 (locally it is 750 D per person - so about £50).
Highly recommend. Would go again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samanah Golf Club also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Samanah Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing