We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful oasis in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Moucharabieh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Moucharabieh to your Saves list
Riad Moucharabieh
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restful oasis in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

A beautiful riad with an unforgettable courtyard, large, comfortable rooms and a friendly staff, I would recommend this riad to anyone. The staff took care of our every need including a delicious breakfast at 5:30 in the morning, served with a smile. Our room was very spacious and attractive. The dinner was deliciously memorable, one of the best we had in Morocco. We loved being pampered at the Riad Moucharabieh and hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    19
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I and my friends stayed here for 2 nights during the New Year. Nora, the lady running this Riad and her staff saw to our every need.
The bed linen and toilets are clean. Rose petals greet us every evening when we return to our rooms. Her helper, Hassan lights the candles and fireplaces every evening so that we are comfortable.
The in-house chef cooks better tajin and local Moroccon food than the hotly recommended restaurants in Morocco.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmetic_Scientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Charming,good attitude ,great food, clean , welcoming, romantic,quiet!, massage good.
I have no trouble being positive about this place and I have been in a lot of Riads in Morocco.The staff were responsive to every need ,however small and we felt very much at home. candles were lit at night and several fireplaces took the chill of the November nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denys J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was a beautiful Riad, with friendly staff....nice size rooms with large showers!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julieleblanc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crib point
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We arrived late in the evening & were offered (the mandatory) mint tea & some bowls of dried frutis & nuts. We were asked what we would like for dinner. I had been battling a stomach bug all day & asked for soup. I was told there was no soup just tagine & couscous. Why ask in the first place?
We were taken for a tour of the place. The whole riad is quite poorly lit & navigating up & downstairs was a real problem. We were shown to our equally poorly lit room. The room was quite small, clean though. The room was not well insulated as we could hear everything from the other rooms - toilets flushing, talking, showers running. The real problem was some other guests - a group - were dining downstairs & the nosie from their talking & laughter gravitated upstairs & we had to wear earplugs to get to sleep.
The next morning - me still really unwell - headed downstairs for breakfast. I had orange juice & a black coffee (all my stomach could handle). There was 2 crumpets, cut in half, 4 small assorted puffed bread things & 2 "Moroccan Pancakes" with an array of condiments. No fruit.
The breakfast for our next morning was the same, only we had a bowl of fruit too!!!
The real downside was the staff - with the exception of one wonderful gentleman that tried his absolute best to keep us happy. The 2 women that run the riad smiled only once at us.
I was so obviously unwell on the second day we were there. They knew I was in the room on my own. They knew my husband was going out for a pre-arranged tour & not once did they come to check to see if I was OK, needed water - nothing.
The location is a bit "seedy". You have to nivigate past the markets & down a couple of alleys, ill lit & smelly.
There is no internet, no fridge in the room, no tv, no telephone!!!!
No smiles, no welcoming feel!!!.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didi3958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in the Riad Moucharabieh and it was an absolutely beautiful riad. Upon arrival we were greeted by our hospitable hosts who offered mint tea, dried fruit, and nuts and we felt immediately welcomed. You really get the feeling that you will be well taken care of. There were fresh roses adorning the jacuzzi, which was a bit strangely arranged in the center of the courtyard, but pretty nonetheless. Our room was very spacious and there were rose petals on the towels placed before the shower (and even in the toilet!), such a nice little gesture! The mosaic shower was gorgeous, a piece of art in itself. Since I have a gluten allergy and can't eat bread, Majid prepared an omelette for me both mornings, and that was much appreciated. The location was good, right in the middle of a market, with an internet cafe very close by, and not too far from the Djemma el-Fna. It was very quiet within the riad and we were able get a couple of good nights' rest.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinav3_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parthenay, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights on B&B basis.Welcome and explanation very good and sure that for 1 night it's OK but we noticed that this place needs a good refurb..it's got that Arab mystique,sure but you notice the peeling paint,the fountain that leaks on the terrace and the blast from the nearest mosque @ 3 and 5 am!Dinner was offered @ 35 Euros/person and some other UK guests,who had been there a few days,told us that the tajine was swimming in oil and the wine was awful..you can eat far better and much cheaper at loads of places in the Medina
The room was smaller than expected with terribly low lighting(so you can't see the poor state of decoration!) and the shower was poor.The location is off a side street from the market and you have to put up with the bikes,scooters etc which seem to want to knock you down all the time!
The staff,however,were very good,from Majid one of the managers to the cleaning lady,very polite and nothing was too much trouble.We were not charged for a load of beers which we had each night.
Breakfasts were boring..the same thing every morning and not too tasty either.For the price we paid we could have stayed in super luxury in the Sofitel! Had a better hotel in Fes,which was a tour group property and had half board for half the price of this riad!
Won't be going there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canard52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Bahja
Riad Bahja
#186 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Asna
Riad Asna
#263 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#90 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#105 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#32 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
0.8 mi away
RIad Al Loune
RIad Al Loune
#124 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Moucharabieh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Moucharabieh

Property: Riad Moucharabieh
Address: 27 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#146 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#155 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#175 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Moucharabieh 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, ETB, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Moucharabieh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Moucharabieh Marrakech
Riad Moucharabieh Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing