We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Moderately interesting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Palace

Bahia Palace
Book In Advance
$43*
and up
Marrakech Full-Immersion Day Tour with Lunch
Ranked #13 of 153 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: After your hammam at Mythic Oriental, come for a stroll in this extravagant 19th century palace. You’ll be able to prolong your relaxation with the beauty and quiet offered here.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Moderately interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This palace was built in the late 19th. century for the then ruler. It only costs 10 dirhams to visit it and inside, there are a series of rooms which give some impression of what life must have been like. However, it is completely unfurnished, so it doesn't really compare favourably with some other places I have visited. The bare rooms give little idea of the vulgar ostentation of the times - as, for example, the Dolmabahçe Palace in Istanbul does.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank iangemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,977
    2,174
    855
    159
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ok resting place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Visited the palaces via a thomsons trip. It was lucky we had a decent guide aziz who I had before on a previous excursion. Lucky for us he knows his stuff, not one of my most favourite trips, but I as part of history of Marrakech walk. Oh be prepared for lots of walking so wear good shoes. You will need to negotiate the narrow streets trying not to get run over by the hundreds of bikes that do drive through the souks, be aware at all times so please please do not think of using headphones walking around the souks, it can be pretty dangerous. The palace was so so, it was good that they have preserved their heritage, but toilets in this place are vile and they asked us for money as we left disgusted...sorry fix up your facilities and then maybe people would be happy to tip.


Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank theempress90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love, love, love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place is a must-see in Marrakech, if you appreciate architecture and history, definitely visit this place. The work on it is amazing, very detailed, even though some of it is made of wood. Take a guide as this place has an interesting story and enjoy it. There are power outlets if your phone dies every 2 hours like mine. Beautiful place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ANARIA19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“small but beautifull palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

don't leave Marrakech without to see this palace. It' s doesn't take time ( maybe 1 hour is enought ) and the roofs are amazing.
the entrance fee is very cheep : 1 euro

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank fredbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely but disappointing since half the tour seemed closed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We went since this is one of the 'must-see' attractions and while the courtyard we did see was lovely, it was absolutely heaving with tourists in big tour groups blocking the paths. The rooms themselves were beautiful but very similar to in the Dar Si Said where we were able to wander more freely and which was less busy.

I think the main courtyard/riad/square of the palace was shut - a big disappointment to us since the map and previous reviews made it look like we would go through there, and this that might have contributed to making it so busy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maija S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahia Palace also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bahia Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing