We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful imaginings!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia Palace

Bahia Palace
Book In Advance
$41*
and up
Marrakech Discovery Tour
Ranked #15 of 153 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: After your hammam at Mythic Oriental, come for a stroll in this extravagant 19th century palace. You’ll be able to prolong your relaxation with the beauty and quiet offered here.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Beautiful imaginings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The palace is empty but beautiful tiles, ornate wood work, and fireplaces, graceful archways, and fountains make it fun imagining the people who might have lived in such a place and what it would have looked like with furniture. Worth a visit,

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betty668988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,917
    2,132
    842
    155
    24
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only interesting if you have a guide”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

There is no information available without a guide, it is a very interesting place when someone explains it but otherwise it is a series of empty rooms

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
196 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but hire a guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I went in 2008 with my cousin, and we just wandered, read our guidebook, and thought it was beautiful. I just went back with my fiance and his mother and a guide, and learned so much more! See if you can hire a guide for your visit, or even for the day, and you will get so much more out of it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A beautiful building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

For those who have been to Seville or Toledo in Spain this place illustrates how Spain and the North African countries were once connected. A bit busy to really enjoy throroughly but well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidCarolKt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
427 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“A Bit Overrated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I would skip this in favor of the Madrasa if you are short of time. Large place to wander through but not much character.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SKG109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahia Palace also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Bahia Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing