We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary”
Review of Riad Ariha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Ariha
Ranked #127 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Sanctuary”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here for a week in May and were very impressed. The place is spotless and the food as good if not better than any we had outside. The staff could not have been more welcoming and we felt very comfortable and at home there. We were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves apart from one other couple, and maybe the place might not have been quite so restful if all the rooms were occupied but this is a minor point. We stayed in Jacaranda on the second floor which has an amazing roof dome with stained glass.
The only possible drawback is its position, similar to many others in the area, as it is down many small winding alleyways, but this is also a strength as it is a welcome sanctuary after the frantic outside.

Room Tip: We had booked a ground floor room but decided to upgrade to a second floor overlooking the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetw566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    60
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
184
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My partner Leo and I loved staying in this wonderful, clean and stylish riad. I read in another review that it's Farrow and Ball meets Marrakech and that seems very much the case!

It has a lovely, bright courtyard with a beautiful bougainvillea climbing the wall. It's a truly peaceful place to have breakfast and come and recuperate after a hectic day in the centre of Marrakech.

The staff are an absolute joy. Amina and Abdul are so good natured and friendly and so helpful.

The breakfast was really nice, fresh fruit, omelettes, bread and jam- you can eat dinner in the Riad though my partner and I weren't able to.

Our bedroom was stylish and clean with a very comfy bed. We particularly liked the bathroom!

It's a 15 minute walk from the centre of Marrakech but we actually really enjoyed being away from the madness!

All in all it's a very chic and affordable place to stay- highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucylucylucy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Riad is in a quiet location which is most welcome after the craziness of the surrounding area. It's only about a 15 min walk through the Souks to the main square. The Riad is small but this is perfect as it's always quiet. The rooms and main areas are spotlessly clean and the staff can't do enough for you. If you're lost they will come and find you, they will suggest and book things for you to do...nothing is too much trouble. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Just a few tips about Marrakech.........if you need directions ask a woman or policeman-they will always tell you the right way. Barter in the souks-it's expected. Have a price in mind that you want to pay and start lower, if you get to the price and it's not agreed walk away-they will generally call you back and agree the price
Visit a hammam-the Heritage Spa was amazing and also Cafe Arabe serves fabulous food and serves alcohol. Oh and finally...take a hat as it's scorching hot there

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms and I would choose one on the second floor as they're a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbo70SouthWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

During my many visits to Marrakech, I have found it difficult to find a conveniently located, traditional style riad at the lower end of the price range which I have actually enjoyed staying in. Riad Ariha however, ticks all the right boxes. It is beautifully decorated in a wonderfully calming palette of white and greys and with prices starting from just £58 per night, it is surprisingly affordable. Only small negative is that it is a bit further from the hustle and bustle of the main square and souks than you might hope. It is about a 15 minute walk but the other positives far outstrip this small negative. By the time you have been served a delicious breakfast in the little inner courtyard and whiled away the hours on the roof terrace star gazing, it becomes very difficult to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIFFBAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Amina and Abdul made my wife and I very welcome. The Riad concept of hotel, found in the Medina of Marrakech, was very enjoyable. This one has five bedrooms, modern and is very well arranged. We had three nights there. It was perhaps a 1 - 1.5 km walk through the souk to the Jemaa El Efna (main square). It is only 50 meters to the Restaurant Dar Zellij, very good food at a good price, and 400 meters to the Heritage Spa, where my wife and I had a shared hammam experience. On one rainy night we had dinner in the hotel. We had tajina-cooked meals and they were well priced and tasty. The WiFi service in Riad Ariha was very good and easy to connect. Amina helped us find our way around and offered useful tips and advice. She arranged a day trip to the Atlas Mountains where we followed the Ourika River to a waterfall near its source. It was a good place and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: It is about 100 meters from where the taxci dropped us off to the Riad Ariha. This is common in Marr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Riad Ariha for three nights. It is the staff that make the experience truly special. Warm and attentive. Amina, our host, was charming and helpful. The riad itself is very comfortable and above all, peaceful. I highly recommend staying in one evening for a home cooked Moroccan meal, delicious cooking. Now you do need to get yourself a good map to navigate your way back to the riad. It's a 20 minute walk to the main square and we got lost... The staff are more than happy to walk you to the square to find your bearings which is helpful!
The new owner needs to keep investing in the riad to ensure its quality and freshness is maintained. The rooftop chill out area needs some love, coming out of low season I'm sure it's on the list. Overall, a truly wonderful stay for our time in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxhayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Me and my husband stayed 5 nights here and had exelent time here thanks Amina who served us in any way - nothing is a problem for her. The breakfast is served in the patio - freshly squezed juice,pancakes,youghurtand different kind of bread. Everything here is clean,cool, and quiet.We had the Jacaranda room which is a good choice.The bathroom is big with bathtub and a very beatiful loft. Amina and the staff are good at cooking so don´t hesitate booking for dinner here. We can highly recommend Ariha.
The location are a bit fare from Jema el Fna ( about 25 min. by foot) and the firt day it´s difficult to manage in the tiny streets.Just ask Amina and she will help you with a map.The Riad is quite close to Marrakech museum and Ben Yussuf.
Jema el Fna is busy and funny in the evening and ther is a lot of foof stalls.We tried nr.31 which was a goog choice.The waiter placed a little bit of everything in front of us and it was amazing good.It´s not easy to find a restaurant with alcohol in the medina but go to rest.Arabe which is a beatiful place in 3 stocks. If the wearther is fine go and eat at the terrace or else is the restaurant in the bottom nice with good morrocan and french food and cocktails.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lfliv83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#60 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#239 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#49 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#70 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#160 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#123 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ariha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ariha

Property: Riad Ariha
Address: 90, Derb Ahmed Elborj - Sidi Ben | Slimane, Kaa Sour - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ariha 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience another way of living—without forsaking modern comforts. Riad Ariha, a boutique hotel run as a maison d’hôte/B&B, situated in a residential quarter of the old city/medina of Marrakech offers individually decorated rooms, a soothing sanctuary after the tumult and colours of the souks. You are greeted with a friendly smile, Moroccan mint tea and pastries and lots of other goodies.Riad Ariha has five bedrooms, each with its own bathroom with shower. Your room also has a complimentary private safe, individually-controlled air conditioning and heating. There is a bottle of mineral water provided in your room upon your arrival. Free WiFi/high-speed internet on the premises. Freshly prepared breakfast every day, included in the room price.You will enjoy the organic toiletries by Nectarôme – wafting the aromas of the orient as you bathe: orange blossom, lavender, rose, lemon verbena.Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy our spa facilities, perhaps a relaxing hammam, massage or beauty treatment . Savour Moroccan dishes, including vegetarian dishes, freshly prepared by Khatija.Plunge pool in the courtyard.24-hour reception. We are flexible about early check-ins and late check-outs. Luggage can be left for those taking short side trips.Ideal for family reunions or getting together with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Ariha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ariha Marrakech
Riad Ariha Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing