We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Riad Ariha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Ariha
Ranked #129 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

An amazing riad, ideally situated for exploring the city. The staff were friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean, beautifully decorated and comfortable. I would certainly revisit this hotel again and highly recommend it to anyone visiting this wonderful city.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kedge19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArihaMarrakech, Owner at Riad Ariha, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We so appreciate it. Barbara, Bader and all the team at Ariha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    60
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
184
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Seamless booking, seamless transfers, relaxing friendly environment, beautiful surroundings and rooms run by friendly accommodating staff who could not do more for us. We felt at home the minute we walked in and our 48 hours here has been perfect. Perfect is a word we rarely use about the service industry (six, professional, very demanding females) but it is the only word that can truly do our time here justice. We will be back next time with the husbands. I hope you can appreciate how how wonderful we found it. Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z9_mizzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArihaMarrakech, Owner at Riad Ariha, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you so much

Barbara, Bader and all the team at Riad Ariha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I have recently returned from a stay at the Riad Ariha. My overall experience was very pleasant, the thing that makes this place special is the staff and the homely feel. However, I was slightly disappointed with my room after seeing the beautiful pictures (the largest room in the riad, the Jasmine room). I also feel that at the price paid it could have had a few nice (and relatively cheap) touches added, e.g. fresh flowers, which would have made all the difference. As a light sleeper I also had a fair amount of difficulty getting a decent night's sleep because of the proximity of all the rooms to the kitchen, but this is a traditional riad and if you want an authentic experience then that is the price you pay!

It is a 15 minute walk to the main square, which means that you get to see something of the medina, however it is very easy to get lost and I appreciated being given a mobile phone, because I did get completely and utterly lost on my first night!

However my niggles should not take away from this riad's main selling point which is its service and staff who were all very lovely.

Room Tip: The Jasmine room is the largest and has access to the loggia where you can sit and use wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fariha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArihaMarrakech, Owner at Riad Ariha, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are truly appreciative .
Barbara, Bader and all the team at Riad Ariha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My mother and I stayed at the riad during April and were able to experience the real Moroccan charm. Since our arrival we felt very welcome and at peace, everyone at the riad made sure we were always happy and comfortable. Being inside the medina was a one of a kind experience we were able to see how the community works and had a wonderful experience. I was surprised at the riad since a few days before my arrival my birthday had passed and I was greeted with a bouquet of fresh roses in my room with a beautiful handmade birthday card. If you are looking for a real one of a kind experience stay at riad ariha you'll have memories to treasure for a lifetime.

Room Tip: Every room is unique and with a lot of character they are all clean and neat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArihaMarrakech, Owner at Riad Ariha, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Barbara, Bader and all the team at Riad Ariha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed for three nights in the first floor in the room Jacanda. The room was neat, very clean with a typical bathroom that a a dome of about 7m. The bed mattress was hard (as it was the case in all Riads we stayed in). The room does not contain a desk. The stuff is very friendly especially if you speak Arabic. Yvonne the manager keeps her distance but she is polite. That is an appreciable behavior knowing in many other Riads, they manges to intimidate you to sign up for their expensive services (lunch/dinner, taxi, etc..). The is a dry cleaner (on the way to Ben Nasser mosque), the cost is around 10DH the piece. The Riad is about 100 meter from the Sidi Ben Slimane Zawiya, set inside in case you are Muslim, you feel Zen. In case you are staying for few days give small tip to the stuff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroArab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArihaMarrakech, Manager at Riad Ariha, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we very much appreciate it. I must point out that Yvonne is not the manager of Ariha, The manager is Amina and as you pointed out, she and the other Staff, look after our guests wonderfully . Yvonne is the reservations manager and may have been staying in Ariha for a few days. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay . Barbara, Bader and all the team at Riad Ariha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
2 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Riad Ariha is a delightful place to stay, a calm retreat from the outside world of the Medina. The Jasmine room on the first floor was perfect for our needs, spacious private yet accessible (we enjoyed the sweeping shape of the shower area and moulded basin).But what made our visit so very special was the staff. They were very friendly and hospitable from the moment we arrived to our departure. They could not have done more to make sure we gained the most out of our visit. The arrangements the staff made for picking us up at the airport and returning us at the end of our visit were invaluable, as was the visual guide of the route to the riad. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts which made a very relaxed start to each day. The dinners and lunch which were arranged at times to fit in with our programme, were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We will certainly recommend the riad to our friends!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor with access to the loggia area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalindLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArihaMarrakech, Owner at Riad Ariha, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Barbara, Bader and all the team at Riad Ariha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had three wonderful night’s stay in Riad Arhia. It really is a tranquil calm in the middle of a chaotic and magical labyrinth of alleyways and arches. The room was very comfortable and the staff charming and helpful. It was my birthday while we were there and I was so pleased to receive a completely unexpected bunch of fresh flowers from them. The roof terrace was a lovely place to relax and unwind with a pot of mint tea after returning from a day of haggling in the busy souk.

You need to have your wits about you and a good sense of direction – one wrong turning and you can find yourself quite disorientated. Groups of young guys will often tell you that the alley that you wish to go down is closed – only to then offer you their services to take you to where you want to go for a fee. We also found that they would claim gardens and museums to be closed and offer to take us elsewhere. Don’t fall for it!

Have patience when haggling – they will come right down in price and we picked up some great bargains. Enjoy the local food in the Medina – it’s a fantastic experience. We also enjoyed the food and wine in Café Arab which had a great atmosphere and a sunny terrace bar. We took a tour into the surrounding countryside with stunning views of the snow-capped Atlas Mountains - after the hustle and bustle of the souk it truly was a breath of fresh air.

The whole experience was amazing and I would definitely recommend a visit to Marrakesh and a stay in Riad Arhia. You will get hassled in the souk and slightly intimidated by some of the guys in the alleyways but they don’t mean any harm and everyone’s got to make a living right?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArihaMarrakech, Owner at Riad Ariha, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very valuable to us .

Barbara, Bader and all the team at Riad Ariha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#56 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#237 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#71 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#164 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#115 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ariha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ariha

Property: Riad Ariha
Address: 90, Derb Ahmed Elborj - Sidi Ben | Slimane, Kaa Sour - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#91 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ariha 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience another way of living—without forsaking modern comforts. Riad Ariha, a boutique hotel run as a maison d’hôte/B&B, situated in a residential quarter of the old city/medina of Marrakech offers individually decorated rooms, a soothing sanctuary after the tumult and colours of the souks. You are greeted with a friendly smile, Moroccan mint tea and pastries and lots of other goodies.Riad Ariha has five bedrooms, each with its own bathroom with shower. Your room also has a complimentary private safe, individually-controlled air conditioning and heating. There is a bottle of mineral water provided in your room upon your arrival. Free WiFi/high-speed internet on the premises. Freshly prepared breakfast every day, included in the room price.You will enjoy the organic toiletries by Nectarôme – wafting the aromas of the orient as you bathe: orange blossom, lavender, rose, lemon verbena.Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy our spa facilities, perhaps a relaxing hammam, massage or beauty treatment . Savour Moroccan dishes, including vegetarian dishes, freshly prepared by Khatija.Plunge pool in the courtyard.24-hour reception. We are flexible about early check-ins and late check-outs. Luggage can be left for those taking short side trips.Ideal for family reunions or getting together with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Ariha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ariha Marrakech
Riad Ariha Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing