We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Peace and quiet in the heart of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ariha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Ariha
Ranked #146 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and quiet in the heart of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Riad Ariha is located in a narrow alley in the heart of Marrakech, about 15 min walking from place Jemaa El Fna, the main square (= a must!). Despite the proximity of the busy heart of the city, it is always peaceful and quiet in the Riad. Barbara and her husband, the owners, arrange everything fo you: a driver picks you up at the airport and a guide takes you through the narrow alleys to the Riad. In the beginning it all feels a bit awkward and you might get suspicious, but let the guide take you through the alleys, even if they seem very dark and narrow. You will be guided to the Riad, don't worry ;-)
The Riad is very clean and the rooms are furnished and decorated in the typical Moroccan style. The personnel is very friendly and always good-humoured. Amina and her colleagues give you advice on day trips and help you wherever they can. The breakfast is healthy and a combination of Moroccan and western ingredients.
If you want to explore Marrakech, Riad Ariha is really a good starting point. I will come back, for sure! Thank you, Barbara, Amina and all the others whose name I have forgotten (sorry! ) :-)

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. No bad choice here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArihaMarrakech, Owner at Riad Ariha, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Barbara, Bader and all the team at Riad Ariha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    59
    16
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
173
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Don't forget to arrange your airport pick-up with the Riad. Your warm welcome will start right then & there! After drop off at the parking, a boy will carry your suitcases and guide your first steps through the labyrinth. Amina and her team will give you another warm welcome and greet you with mint tea and cookies. I haven't seen that smile leave her face in the 4 days we stayed. The room is just gorgeous. It was the first picture we texted home :) We had our first dinner at the Riad, and I am a picky eater, but was ever so pleased to really enjoy our first traditional meal without a stomach ache. Our walks/rides/guides throughout town were both adventurous and impressive. The owners of the Riad really went out of their way to help us out, for which we are still grateful. Had our last dinner at 'home' again and I can only recommend it. Restaurants are okay in town, but the Riad's cook beats every one of them!! We're very impressed and can only recommend it. Have a lot of fun in Marrakech and may your trip be memorable like ours.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArihaMarrakech, Owner at Riad Ariha, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Heart warming to know that you enjoyed your stay at Riad Ariha. Thank you so much

Barbara, Bader and all the team at Riad Ariha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Abdul the manager is one of the most helpful people I have known. He along with colleagues clean, cook and advise. Beautiful rooms with comfortable beds and deluxe showers. Sublime courtyard to have breakfast and meet other guests. Local lads whom the Riad recommend are trustworthy and indispensable help to get around the maze of the kasbah: Mohammed and Hamza made my visit unforgettable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trk19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArihaMarrakech, Owner at Riad Ariha, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Barbara, Bader and all the team at Riad Ariha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma city
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Ariha for several nights, leaving for a few days in Essaouira, then returning for another night at Ariha. While pleased during our first visit, we were delighted to be greeted like royality when we returned. Amina is warm and helpful, Fatima's cooking is out-of-this-world, and the rest of the staff are welcoming and competent. We will definitely recommend the Riad Ariha to friends who will be visiting in Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lgtokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArihaMarrakech, Owner at Riad Ariha, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We much appreciate your kind words

Barbara, Bader and all the team at Riad Ariha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This Riad is the perfect getaway for a superb break in Marrakech.
Amina and all the staff make it a pleasure to come back "home" away from home every day after long walks and strolls around the city. I would recommend their cooking class as well as the amazing food prepared in the Riad's Kitchen.
The place is in a really great location, walking distance from the souks and the square and at the same time quiet to relax. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArihaMarrakech, Owner at Riad Ariha, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We do like to think we provide a home away from home in Riad Ariha and it is so nice to hear that you felt this.

Best wishes , from Barbara, Bader and all the team at Riad Ariha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I travelled with Sophie900 (review below) and just had to add that we had the most incredible time at the Riad. Every member of staff went above and beyond to help us and to make us feel welcome. The staff at this Riad became our family and we can not recommend them enough. We got a hand drawn map, shown where to go, taxis booked for us, food was amazing please try the 'courgette and milk soup' i believe it was, you must have a hammam and massage. Go and visit and enjoy.

Kate, Guildford (Surrey)

Room Tip: We stayed here twice during our 10 day trip (beginning and then again at the end) and had a look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArihaMarrakech, Owner at Riad Ariha, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are very proud of our staff and the service they provide for our guests.

Barbara, Bader and all the team at Riad Ariha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Some august body has ranked this riad among the five best in Morocco. The facility is fine, but much of that honor must be due to manager Amina and her excellent staff. She's the smile and laugh that greets you on arrival and instantly makes you feel welcome. "This is your home", she said, in a tone filled with sincerity. I had little doubt that I could come down late at night in my jammies, looking for milk and cookie, and she'd round it up.

One of the nice features of this riad is its location on a quiet street. It's an echo-y stone world here, and the kids (and adults) can be "expressive" into the evening, so it's nice to be away from most of that.

Others have commented that the riad is a five-minute walk from the nearest place cars are allowed and it's hard to find; the latter is only true the first time, when the riad will send someone to meet you. The luggage-cart guy knows the way, in any case, as soon will you. And the footpath is well lighted for those late-evening sorties.

Inside, the riad is well appointed. The rooms are clean or heated and cooled as the season demands. There are plenty of outlets for your electronic stuff, and there's free wifi in the rooms, although the signal could use an extra bar or two in some corners.

Breakfast is tasty and abundant, and a first-time visitor to the city might do well to take advantage of the riad's kitchen for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poorjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArihaMarrakech, Owner at Riad Ariha, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We truly appreciate such wonderfully positive feedback.

Barbara, Bader and all the team at Riad Ariha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#240 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#138 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
1.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#58 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#268 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#126 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#66 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ariha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ariha

Property: Riad Ariha
Address: 90, Derb Ahmed Elborj - Sidi Ben | Slimane, Kaa Sour - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#93 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ariha 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience another way of living—without forsaking modern comforts. Riad Ariha, a boutique hotel run as a maison d’hôte/B&B, situated in a residential quarter of the old city/medina of Marrakech offers individually decorated rooms, a soothing sanctuary after the tumult and colours of the souks. You are greeted with a friendly smile, Moroccan mint tea and pastries and lots of other goodies.Riad Ariha has five bedrooms, each with its own bathroom with shower. Your room also has a complimentary private safe, individually-controlled air conditioning and heating. There is a bottle of mineral water provided in your room upon your arrival. Free WiFi/high-speed internet on the premises. Freshly prepared breakfast every day, included in the room price.You will enjoy the organic toiletries by Nectarôme – wafting the aromas of the orient as you bathe: orange blossom, lavender, rose, lemon verbena.Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy our spa facilities, perhaps a relaxing hammam, massage or beauty treatment . Savour Moroccan dishes, including vegetarian dishes, freshly prepared by Khatija.Plunge pool in the courtyard.24-hour reception. We are flexible about early check-ins and late check-outs. Luggage can be left for those taking short side trips.Ideal for family reunions or getting together with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Ariha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ariha Marrakech
Riad Ariha Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing