We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely little gem !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Djemanna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Djemanna
Ranked #302 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Ashtead,Surrey
Level Contributor
128 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Lovely little gem !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. A short walk from the main square, it is ideally placed. Each room is decorated individually to a high standard, and are very stylish. We were on the ground floor and had our own little courtyard area to sit in. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. An oasis !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzywuzyweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    27
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
71
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just back from a short break in Marrakesh, where we stayed in this attractive little riad in the heart of the medina. A friendly welcome and a cool, calm, clean oasis from the busyness of Marrakesh, just a few minutes' walk from the souks and the square. Our room was a suite on the ground floor, opening directly on to the main atrium, with a sofa, coffee table and ensuite bathroom which was beautifully decorated. We had some concerns that we would be disturbed by other guests' comings and goings but it was actually very quiet. We particularly enjoyed relaxing on the rooftop terrace after a day's sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This Riad was easy to find even though it was tucked away. On arrival we received a warm welcome from Zohara the Manageress who made us feel at home immediately. Our room on the 2nd level overlooked reception and plunge pool. The Decor was beautiful.
We found our way easily to the medina main square, a 10 minute walk and the new city 15 minutes through a local market in the opposite direction.
I would highly recommend this Riad for value, location and hospitality.

Room Tip: As it is a small Riad I imagine all rooms are of equal standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tasKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We loved our 5 day stay in the Riad Djemanna. The riad is small and run by a small team of extremly helpful and friendly staff, and it has a wonderful homely, relaxed and welcoming feel.

Our room (Sapphir - the standard room) was extremely clean, beautifully decorated, and matched the photo on the website. It was great for relaxing in on the bed after a day in the souks.

The rest of the hotel was just as good - very clean and beautifully done. The central courtyard was stunning with a beautiful little dipping pool to cool your feet in, and the roof terrace was a great place for breakfast, or to relax on as the sun goes down.

The location is good - about 15 mins walk from the souks or main square. You do have to walk down some narrow alleys off the main drag, but I never felt threatened and it felt perfectly safe. I would certainly recommend this Riad to any of my friends.

Room Tip: Our room (Sapphir - the standard room) was beautiful and comfortable, but if you want lots of living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_H_UK-1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a little gem, hidden away down a side alley. The welcome was good and the room 'turquoise' was excellent, with a good outside sitting area. We ate in one night and the food was very good. The staff were helpful, nothing was too much trouble. A good place to stay (and the work in the alley has finished) within easy reach of the square, the souk and walkable to Majorelle gardens.

Room Tip: The higher floors have bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjg1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The Riad Djemanna is a lovely place tucked away from all the noise but yet right in the old city. We were welcomed warmly with the traditional tea in front of one of the beautiful pools with rose petals floating on it. From there we were shown to our room which was very nice with a good bathroom. The bed again was adorned with rose petals and came with dressing gowns and all the trimmings. Breakfast was very good and available from 8-11 which was great. We were off on very early trips on two mornings and the staff were very kind and did our breakfast at 630 for us. The inside of the hotel is lovely and the sunny roof terrace great for breakfast. We had dinner in the hotel on one evening and had lovely food and great service. A real traditional Riad but done well so you get everything you would want from a modern hotel at the same time. The only downside is that to get to it you go down a long and when we were there dug up alleyway. That said it always felt safe and it was being dug up to lay pipes so by now it is probably shiny new. A good find.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The approach down the alleyway is more than disconcerting, positively dangerous as said alleyway is being dug out and is not advisable for folks with unsure gait. The riad itself is beautiful, it is actually a double one so double everything from patio to terrace. We had a room on the ground floor, actually a converted sitting room as they are on the ground floor, not recommended as a little damp. The higher the better. This justifies my rating, would have been very good had we been upgraded like the guests just before us.
Breakfast on the terrace is lovely, staff like everywhere in Morocco that we can tell extremely friendly and helpful. Location is more Dar El Bacha than Bab Doukkala, so convenient for the Medina in all directions.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor and ask about progress of the digging in the access alleyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pabcbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#147 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Rocmarra
Dar Rocmarra
#97 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#108 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#28 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais Khum
Palais Khum
#21 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Djemanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Djemanna

Property: Riad Djemanna
Address: 69 derb el Halfahoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Djemanna 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse in the heart of the medina, 5 minutes from the Jemaa el Fna square. This charming hotel combining luxury and refinement offers 5 rooms and 5 suites for rent or exclusivity. Located near the souks, parking and the major sites of Marrakech. Personalised welcome at the Airport, Moroccan cooking classes, Special offers for Valentine's Day & Honeymoon, special summer offers for families & couples, Hammam scrub & massages, excursions, night security guard. Beautifully restored, the Riad is built around 2 patios and 2 swimming pools, five rooms and five suites at combining oriental charm and modern comforts: air conditioning reversible, safe, hairdryer, steam room and 2 massage rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Djemanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing