We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Experience Marrakesh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palais Donab

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Palais Donab
Ranked #232 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Experience Marrakesh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

This hotel has one of the best locations in Marrakesh, close to the palace and the markets. It’s also very clean and has a great restaurant which serves excellent Moroccan and international cuisine. I enjoyed spending time just lazing by their pool when the weather got too hot. Such a great change of pace from the bustling city. The staff there are also really friendly and will help you with everything that you need.

They are really cheap as well! Our travel agent, luxury-riads.com, even gave us an extra night free when we booked three nights. Plenty of time to see everything in the city. They also arranged a driver who transferred us free from the airport. So convenient.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WaterlessFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    44
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
31
89
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

First impressions of the hotel were good, it is a beautiful, peaceful place in the middle of the medina, so the location is good for the souks etc.
We had a junior suite which was a very good size and furnished well, although the bathroom had slight issues, the tiling was looking tired and the shower door would not shut at one end. There was also a picture in the shower area (why??) that had got wet and was now mouldy, not very attractive and totally not needed. The overall cleanliness of the room was good though and was kept to a good standard all week.
Breakfast was not the best, the tables needed freshening up from the night before and there was no menu at all, so no choice other than to choose which croissant, or other pastry item you wanted, there was a choice of 4 or so but pastry is not everyones ideal breakfast. After realising it was not getting any better i asked for some fruit and they did make me a fruit salad. I just think a 5 star hotel should offer some chioce for breakfast. The orange juice was excellent though and so was the coffee.
We dicovered on about day 5 that we had our own roof terrace, which to catch the sun you needed as there was not much room around the pool and it was quite shaded in the afternoon. No one had mentioned this to us, and no wonder, as it had not been brushed for weeks by the looks of it and the sun loungers were broken and the mattresses cracked with the heat of the sun.
Pool towels were not left out anywhere for guests, you had to ask every day for one, which could then take 5 to ten minutes of hanging around unnecessarily.
Most of the staff were friendly enough but not all.
Overall i would recommend this hotel it was a calm place in the middle of a busy city,it just needs some finishing touches to bring it up to scratch.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

I LOVED Dar Donab. I stayed in the one tiny little single room and loved every minute. The staff is very friendly. The orange juice is the best I've ever had. The pool is paradise. There is also an indoor restaurant/aar area which is beautiful and can be used anytime, especially when the weather is bad. Apparently the owner lives in LA, so the place has a real LA vibe to it.

The riad is on a wide, well-lit street that taxi cabs know and can get to easily (this is not the case of many places in Marrakech.) Because of the royal palace next door, there are lots of police officers in the general area.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Most speak English very well.

I spent hours trying to select a place to stay in Marrakech. I ended up here and at another riad. The single room at Dar Donab is very, very tiny (!!) but the grounds of the palace are fantastic. At other riads, you won't find a big room at such a fantastic place without paying a hefty price.

I would NEVER go back to Marrakech alone, unless I had to -- it is an absolute mess and I would have left after 24 hours if I hadn't already paid deposits at other hotels. As it was, I spent a lot of time by the pool instead of out in the markets being hassled constantly. If you must go to Marrakech alone -- stay here!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnsanci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

I really cannot recomend Dar Donab more highly, their website does not do it justice.

This riyad is a truely beautiful haven very centrally located with stunning surroundings and the added bonus of lovely pool. There are also plenty of sun lounging locations around the spacious upper floor terraces and roof area.

The suites are all very spacious, beautifully decorated with very comfy and enormous beds!

The common areas of this riyad are just wow! While I was there a french magazine were doing a fashion shoot, which gives you an insight into just how fab the surroundings are.

The food was fantastic, traditional moroccan with international dishes if you fancy. The chef used to work at Yacout an amazing restuarant in Marrakech which was listed the fourth best restuarant in the world by the New York Times.

For me the thing that definately enhanced my stay was the staff. They really were the most helpful and wonderful team who went above and beyond the call of duty to cater for my every need. They made my stay in Marrakech truely memorable and I am looking forward to returning as soon as possible.

My advice is book this place now, I can assure you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshinerules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

The location was fantastic and the staff could not do enough for us during our week's stay at Dar Donab. As it was quiet, we were upgraded to a suite for the week, which was wonderful. Each day the staff arranged an excellent breakfast either next to the pool, or on our private terrace, depending on the weather. The staff at Dar Donab made our stay memorable for all the right reasons. We would recommend it to anyone wanting the atmospehere of the Medina, but also some peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieQte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

We moved to this Riad after staying one night at another riad which was off the beaten path. The location of the riad is very good, it is right next to the palace so the street is clean, paved and has two sets of security guards at all times. This is important when you return late at night! The taxi will not be able to drive up to the front door due to the security but it is only a short walk from the drop off point.

The riad it self is OK, it is nicely decorated and is generally clean. The service is also above average. We had suite 1, which was nice but the bathroom had problems. Water flow from the taps/faucets. Not much the staff could do about it.

You need to be clear up front on all your charges or you may get a surprise at the end. Our surprise was the shuttle back to the airport which we thought was included in our stay but it was not. On top the driver was a complete jerk!! When I informed the riad about the issue they did not seem to care.

In summary, the location is good but beware on other things.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmj92679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitch1978
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2008

hard to describe our trip without sounding cheesy, but we had such an amazing few days at Dar Donab that I fear it is unavoidable. Special mention has to be given to the staff, who were fantastic - literally everyone from the cleaners to the waiters to the hotel management were unfailingly bright, friendly, helpful and genuinely happy to do all they could to ensure we had an amazing time - which we did. This was especially welcome given that the aggressive Marrakechi approach to tourism out in the town itself can take some getting used to, and I am by no means an inexperienced traveller. The Riad itself is also magnificent; ornate, elegant and beautiful but welcoming and relaxed thanks to the efforts of the staff. I wholeheartedly recommend Dar Donab and thank everyone there for a fantastic stay.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Riad Monceau
Le Riad Monceau
#251 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#149 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Khum
Palais Khum
#32 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#58 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#61 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dar Rhizlane
Dar Rhizlane
#120 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Donab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Donab

Property: Palais Donab
Address: 53 Dar El Basha Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 00345, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Donab 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The art of Moroccan-style living in a beautiful and majestic residence. Cut off from the bustle of the Medina, Dar Donab opens its doors on a haven of peace and cool. The sophisticated decor of lounges, guest-rooms and suites reflects the luxury an comfort of Moroccan stately homes... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Palais Donab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Donab Hotel Marrakech
Dar Donab Marrakech
Dar Donab Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing