We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic escape in the heart of the medina”
Review of Palais Donab

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palais Donab
Ranked #193 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic escape in the heart of the medina”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Really great place from which to explore the frenetic medina. Some of the best food we had in Morocco . Great Service. Very relaxing after the hustle and bustle of Marrakech . Only 6 rooms means that it feels very spacious. Just Fabulous, would come back to Marrakech just to chill out here without setting foot outside!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    47
    9
    3
    7
See reviews for
32
96
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Palais dar Donab is a beautiful spot in the heart of the medina. Whilst only a few mins stroll from the Place Jemaa el F'na, it is quiet and very peaceful - and the perfect place to chill out whilst enjoying beautiful food and drink. The hotel is larger than the average Riad but this is a huge advantage as the setting is lovely, with a large pool, fabulous rooms and very impressive public areas - as well as bars and interior restaurant...
I stayed in the Koutobia Suite which was large and sumptuous whilst my friends took the Royale Suite which was utterly sublime in a OTT way and larger than most flats in London.
Overall a fab hotel with great staff, fantastic food and the perfect location for sightseeing and enjoying the best of Marrakech

Room Tip: The Jasmin Suite has its own terrace but all the rooms are superb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaibeachfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have been there yesterday for dinner and had one of our best dinners in Marrakech. Goo food, very good service (even if we arrived very late they still served us food) and nice ambience near to the pool with relaxing chill-out music. Nice deco inside the ryad. Simply great!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ValeM512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a very ornate hotel, I say hotel as I would not describe this as a Riad, it feels very much like a business rather than a family run place. However, the staff are very friendly and the position of the hotel is very quiet. We had the Konoutobia Suite which was aesthetically very beautiful although it had a very strong smell of mothballs which wasn't very pleasant. The pool is amazing and much needed in the August heat. I was unsure at first if it was okay to lie by it in a bikini as when we stayed the hotel was very quiet with very few guests, but I did and it was all fine. The food was fine but nothing spectacular. We were a little disappointed when we were being served instant coffee which she said shen ew asked that it was from 'Asda' however, she did make some fresh coffee for us in the end. I would certainly recommend Donab to stay in Marrakech although I would suggest using it as a base and eating out which is what we did, but this is such a romantic stunning place to stay you would be mad not to treat yourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for 6 nights and we couldn't have had any more excellent service. The room was beautiful and the up keep of the gardens and surroundings are gorgeous especially compared to other riads. It is only 10 mins from the main square and souks ad only 1 minute away from a Spa - which was much to my delight.

The breakfast / lunch and dinner were all of great quality, some may say service is slow but I wouldn't agree at all. All the staff were attentive and knew us by name by the end of our stay.

I couldn't recommend this as a place to stay enough. We stayed in the yasmine suite but I can imagine that all the rooms as lovely.

A special thanks goes to a gentleman called Abdullah who looked after us everyday whilst we were chilling by the pool.

Room Tip: Yasmine suite is perfect for 3 friends as it is definitely bigger enough and also great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyHolmes1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We discovered the Palais Donab by chance one hot day, and had lunch by the poolside under the
benign cover of orange and lemon trees. We were so enchanted that we went back 5 times during our short stay in Marrakech.
The staff are quiet, gentle and helpful but don't expect speedy service, not that this matters as you sip a glass of Rose and take in the beautiful surroundings. The menu is not extensive but it is well cooked and very tasty.
I would love to stay here one day, budget depending!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
543 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Though not staying at the hotel, I stopped here for dinner on my second night in Marrakech. I sat under the orange trees at a table next to the pool. The food and service were first rate, and the atmosphere superb as evening fell and I just let the experience wash over me. The tables were nicely set out, and the chance to enjoy a drink, while waiting for the food was really welcome.

I had Moroccan bread and mixed olives, followed by pastilla fruits de mer. The mains was well presented with lemon slices and capers, and the pastry was light and crispy. The seafood filling was beautifully spiced and the flavours were really fabulous together.

The meal was leisurely, and there was no sense of being rushed by the staff. All in all a great meal, and a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padreray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Le Riad Monceau
Le Riad Monceau
#228 of 500 in Marrakech
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa Nomade
La Villa Nomade
#134 of 500 in Marrakech
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#144 of 500 in Marrakech
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 500 in Marrakech
1,985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Demeures d'Orient
Demeures d'Orient
#634 of 1,139 in Marrakech
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Donab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Donab

Property: Palais Donab
Address: 53 Dar El Basha Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 00345, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Donab 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The art of Moroccan-style living in a beautiful and majestic residence. Cut off from the bustle of the Medina, Dar Donab opens its doors on a haven of peace and cool. The sophisticated decor of lounges, guest-rooms and suites reflects the luxury an comfort of Moroccan stately homes... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Donab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Donab Hotel Marrakech
Dar Donab Marrakech
Dar Donab Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing