We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but a little complicated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia
Ranked #379 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Let me explain: Angsana has 5 riads very close together in the Riad Zitoun area, a 10-minute walk to the Djemaa, but only one (Riad Si Said) has a restaurant, so you have to go there for meals, and another one (Riad Bab Firdaus) has the wonderful spa. Some (not Dar Zaouia) have small pools were you can wade. So if you want to just roll over from bed to table in the morning, or you want room service, ask to be lodged at Si Said. Management was very helpful at all times and there are security guards to go with you from one to the other at nights or to open the street door (we were alone at the Dar Zaouia for a couple of nights). Very clean and well appointed, but no TV in the room. We were given a mobile for our stay to call reception at Si Said in case we needed anything.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garcini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Greetings from Angsana Riads Collection.

Thank you for your great review post about your stay in Angsana Riads Collection for your visit to the red City of Marrakech. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyable stay with us. We highly appreciate that you are highlighting the service provided by our colleagues & cleanliness of the room & great helpful details of our each Riads.

Kindly be assured that your feedback is shared to our entire team at the hotel and they are all very happy to know that their efforts are so well appreciated. I am certain that this will serve as a great motivation for us to reach higher standards of excellence in the future. Thank you for recent stay with us & recommending our Riad! We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Angsana Riads Collection.
Meanwhile please do not hesitate to contact me for any further assistance.


Khaled Elwan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 34 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

This hotel was wonderful. We never had to walk anywhere at night alone. The hotel organized a taxi to take us and wait for our return. We were walked to the taxi and an attendant was waiting for us on return to walk us back to the hotel. Breakfast was always a pleasure. Nothing was too difficult for the manager to organize for us. He suggested tours, restaurants, guides etc. and all were wonderful.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear MaryC,

Thank you for your kind review of the Angsana Riads Collection, we really appreciate your feedback and we hope to see you soon again next time you are in Marrakech.

I look forward to welcoming you back at the Kensington Hotel

Kind Regards

Karim Irrgang
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We spend 4 days in Marrakech and stayed at this lovely Riad. Thanks to the hospitality and kindness of Mohammed, Hakim and Cediq we have had a wonderfull time. We also had diner at the Riad, which was delicious. The rooms are very comfortable and the Riad is very well furnished by the owner, she knows how to rebuild an old Riad to a comfortable modern and comfortable new Riad. Besides Marrakech we also visited a part of the Atlas Mountain, together with Hakim, we visited 3 different valleys. It was great, thank you!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicoline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is a beautiful riad in the medina. A French architect renovated this old building and did a really good job. Rooms are really nice and clean. Staff are very friendly and helpfull. They speak english well.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mizz r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Just spent a whole week at the Riad Dar Zaouia in Marrakesh. It was always a delight to retunr to after the mayhem and nosie of the medina and the souks! we had two rooms one for my sons and one for my husband and myself. The hotel had put an extra bed into the boys big room so they didnt have to share a bed! Rooms kept very clean and every thought given to your comfort- simply furnished with lovely Arabic furniture and textiles. We had a problem when the shower holder fell off but this was fixed by reception very quickly. Reception staff all very pleasant and friendly and keen to help you have agood time- night porter 'Cous Cous' wasvery keen to make sure we enjoyed ourselves and help us out with informaiton on shops and restaurants etc.
Minibar prices very expensive so visit a local supermarket to stock up on beer etc! Not many of the local restaurants serve alcohol as a matter of course. Breakhast consisted of lovely fresh bread and rools, local honey and preserves and eggs cooked any way you liked. Also fantastic freshly squeezed orange juice- beautiful! No Tv in rooms but there a large screen one in downastairs lounge room if youw ant it. Comfortable roof terrace area with tables and cushions. Other Angsana riads provide you with pool and spa facilities. We had a Hammam in the Thai Spa of the Bab Firdaus which was a real experience.... ! Worth it!
Wifi throughout the Riad.
A lovely bolthole fromthe Madness that is Marrakesh!

Room Tip: A drink taken on the terrace @sundown is a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scotty010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Part of the Riad Angsana group, eg 3 others within 100 yards or so and you can use them for eating, sunbathing or accessing the spas/massages, and, I'm told, even switch rooms. The Dar Zaouia does breakfast (good), lunches (also good), room service but not dinner - you have to go to the nearby riads or eat out - either choice a winner. We had a suite that had its own outdoor area, great for breakfast or just chilling out. Bathroom large and the bath could be said to be a small pool - fantastic for sharing but no steps in or out, so you need to be reasonably fit. Very comfortable bed and although the riad is near "everything" the area is quiet and you should sleep well - we did, apart from 1 night when the local cats decided to have a "party" - can happen anywhere.
Reservations were very helpful but, unusually for me, wanted photo copy of credit card. Check in also smooth and receptionists throughout the week were co-operative and did their best to help. We used the riad's airport transfer for both journeys, bit expensive but it was well organised and if you are arriving early or late in the day, ensures a smooth link between airport and riad. If you do it yourself, useful to 'phone just as you are about to arrive at the public car park a few hundred yards from the riad - latter can then arrange for someone to be there to help you with luggage and direct you through the narrow streets - needed for your first time.
Would have no problems in returning to this riad or others in the group.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaleNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

A truly outstanding Riad. We were treated like family the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Nothing was too much for the staff and everything was delivered with a smile. The rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms a dream!. The Riad is in the ideal location and leads you to all the riches to be found in Marrakech. The party that was perpared for my Mother's birthday was a blast and excellently executed. I would recommned the Riad to everyone I know. Thank you for a magnificent time and for all your hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#82 of 502 in Marrakech
447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#12 of 502 in Marrakech
1,297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#62 of 502 in Marrakech
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Si Said
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#81 of 502 in Marrakech
2,090 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia

Address: Derb Zaouia No 1, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#202 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $106 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Dar Zaouia Marrakech
Riad Dar Zaouia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing