We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“excellent ambiance & friendly people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia
Ranked #387 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent ambiance & friendly people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

We spend 4 days in Marrakech and stayed at this lovely Riad. Thanks to the hospitality and kindness of Mohammed, Hakim and Cediq we have had a wonderfull time. We also had diner at the Riad, which was delicious. The rooms are very comfortable and the Riad is very well furnished by the owner, she knows how to rebuild an old Riad to a comfortable modern and comfortable new Riad. Besides Marrakech we also visited a part of the Atlas Mountain, together with Hakim, we visited 3 different valleys. It was great, thank you!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicoline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is a beautiful riad in the medina. A French architect renovated this old building and did a really good job. Rooms are really nice and clean. Staff are very friendly and helpfull. They speak english well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mizz r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

Just spent a whole week at the Riad Dar Zaouia in Marrakesh. It was always a delight to retunr to after the mayhem and nosie of the medina and the souks! we had two rooms one for my sons and one for my husband and myself. The hotel had put an extra bed into the boys big room so they didnt have to share a bed! Rooms kept very clean and every thought given to your comfort- simply furnished with lovely Arabic furniture and textiles. We had a problem when the shower holder fell off but this was fixed by reception very quickly. Reception staff all very pleasant and friendly and keen to help you have agood time- night porter 'Cous Cous' wasvery keen to make sure we enjoyed ourselves and help us out with informaiton on shops and restaurants etc.
Minibar prices very expensive so visit a local supermarket to stock up on beer etc! Not many of the local restaurants serve alcohol as a matter of course. Breakhast consisted of lovely fresh bread and rools, local honey and preserves and eggs cooked any way you liked. Also fantastic freshly squeezed orange juice- beautiful! No Tv in rooms but there a large screen one in downastairs lounge room if youw ant it. Comfortable roof terrace area with tables and cushions. Other Angsana riads provide you with pool and spa facilities. We had a Hammam in the Thai Spa of the Bab Firdaus which was a real experience.... ! Worth it!
Wifi throughout the Riad.
A lovely bolthole fromthe Madness that is Marrakesh!

Room Tip: A drink taken on the terrace @sundown is a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotty010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

Part of the Riad Angsana group, eg 3 others within 100 yards or so and you can use them for eating, sunbathing or accessing the spas/massages, and, I'm told, even switch rooms. The Dar Zaouia does breakfast (good), lunches (also good), room service but not dinner - you have to go to the nearby riads or eat out - either choice a winner. We had a suite that had its own outdoor area, great for breakfast or just chilling out. Bathroom large and the bath could be said to be a small pool - fantastic for sharing but no steps in or out, so you need to be reasonably fit. Very comfortable bed and although the riad is near "everything" the area is quiet and you should sleep well - we did, apart from 1 night when the local cats decided to have a "party" - can happen anywhere.
Reservations were very helpful but, unusually for me, wanted photo copy of credit card. Check in also smooth and receptionists throughout the week were co-operative and did their best to help. We used the riad's airport transfer for both journeys, bit expensive but it was well organised and if you are arriving early or late in the day, ensures a smooth link between airport and riad. If you do it yourself, useful to 'phone just as you are about to arrive at the public car park a few hundred yards from the riad - latter can then arrange for someone to be there to help you with luggage and direct you through the narrow streets - needed for your first time.
Would have no problems in returning to this riad or others in the group.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaleNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2008

A truly outstanding Riad. We were treated like family the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Nothing was too much for the staff and everything was delivered with a smile. The rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms a dream!. The Riad is in the ideal location and leads you to all the riches to be found in Marrakech. The party that was perpared for my Mother's birthday was a blast and excellently executed. I would recommned the Riad to everyone I know. Thank you for a magnificent time and for all your hospitality.

  • Liked — Clean, Luxurious and a fabulous atmosphere
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2008

Located in the ‘real’ Marrakech, in the Arabic quarter, within walking distance of the Djemaa El Fna square, the Dar Zaouia afforded us an extremely pleasant stay. The immaculate interiors are tastefully decorated, and the service is impeccable: the proprietor and staff were extremely friendly and welcoming, and the breakfasts, and the other meals which they prepared on request, were of the very highest standard. When we arrived, tired from the airport, there was no fussing around with checking in: we were ushered straight up onto the roof terrace for mint tea, and to fill in the forms at our leisure - very civilised!

With tasteful plants and upholstery, the roof terrace was wonderful in the sun. The room had no television (very relaxing, actually), but there were two lounges, one with a television with many different language channels, and another with a tasteful selection of art/design books.

In short, we had a most enjoyable stay and would happily return to the comfortable, stylish (in a relaxed, under-stated way) and welcoming surroundings of the Dar Zaouia.

  • Liked — Friendly, tasteful, relaxed, welcoming, very clean
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PradaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2008

We four friends (ladies) have just returned fom our first visit to Marrakech. Riad Zaouia has been just absolutely superb. Simozine and everyone there were just so helpful and attentive to every detail, the rooms were beautiful, the food delicious and the ambience of the riad so relaxing. Simozine arranged a most suitable guide (Hamza) for some of our stay - he was just the ticket for us ! He spoke fluent English and guided us around the great sites of the Medina. We can't wait to return Enshallah !

  • Liked — A very beautiful riad, such attentive service, cleanliness, calm
  • Disliked — nothing !
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KelsallCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#66 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Riad Monceau
Le Riad Monceau
#256 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#19 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#30 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Hasna Espi
Riad Hasna Espi
#324 of 512 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia

Property: Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia
Address: Derb Zaouia No 1, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#202 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Hotel Class:5 star — Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Riads Collection Morocco - Riad Dar Zaouia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Dar Zaouia Marrakech
Riad Dar Zaouia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing