We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Unexpected Pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Az

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad El Az
Save
You added Riad El Az to your Saves list
152, Derb Sidi M'Barek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #719 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unexpected Pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We had booked into a different Riad, but there was a problem with our rooms and so we were moved to the Riad El Az. Although it was not as luxurious as the one we had booked it was beautiful and very quiet.
We had a lovely welcome from the manager and he gave us lots of advice on what to do around the city. The rooms were large, comfortable and very quiet we all slept very very well.
There were not many people staying when we stayed and this made it feel like we had the whole place to ourselves, which was actually quite nice.
The bread at breakfast was absolutely delicious and very fresh. We also had lovely mint tea when we arrived.
I would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charliegirl211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Riad El Az can be correctly considered a low cost but nice accomodation. The rooms are comfortable and clean, usual breakfast in the morning but savoury, good location because of its closeness to Royal Palace. The owner Danielle is very nice and also her staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

Riad El Az is a very clean, beautiful and friendly place to stay.. We felt like home. It is a very good location walking distance to all of the touristic attractions and Jameel Elfna which was very important to us as we did not spend our holiday waiting for the taxis every day.. The people are very friendly. The guy working there talks 6 languages that you definitely find a language to communicate. We had a lovely breakfast every day which was ready every day we waked up. It is safe that you can leave all your valuables without any hesitation. I recommend you this place if you are looking for a place which is very good for money.
Tijen

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

Lovely riad, comfortable and clean room, great location.

  • Liked — Beautiful and clean riad.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank suku76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nu from Malta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2007

Just came back from 8 days in Marrakech (Dec 2007). This quaint riad proved to be excellent value. Very peaceful, clean, and tremendously charming. The perfect hideaway immersed in old world charm.

I suppose we were lucky to be the only guests staying at the time due to it being low season....but this made the experience all the more wonderful........we had the whole riad to ourselves!.......Most of all, praise must go to the staff (Yusef & Hayat) who took care of us.Thank you for a pleasant stay.

The only thing this riad lacks is a TV (never mind if its communal) and perhaps a PC for internet access....otherwise, its highly recommendable and we're already planning another visit there.

  • Liked — Atmosphere
  • Disliked — No TV in room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank noelagius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

This riad is so beautiful and full of character although we were a little scared at first! This is because, as is usual with riads, to reach it you have to walk down a twisting little alley, then a smaller alleyway, before reaching a four-foot-tall alice-in-wonderland type door set into the wall.

Stepping through it you will find yourself in the spacious courtyard where we enjoyed pancakes, coffee, and the best fresh oj every morning.

The three-level house is built in a square around the courtyard with a pretty roof terrace above for sunbathing.

The rooms are quite large, stylishly decorated and the beds are comfy. Each room has an ensuite bathroom.

The staff are very helpful and considerate of your comfort. The manager, Youssef, speaks English and any questions you have i.e. how to spot good jewellery, where to change traveller's cheques etc; he will help you out with pleasure. The remainder of the staff speak a fair amount of French; so a few basic French phrases will come in very handy.

The magic ingredients of this riad is firstly how peaceful and quiet it is. It's refreshing to return to the calm of this guesthouse after the madness of the medina.

The other is the informality and friendliness of the place. Because it is quite small, the staff get to know you quite well. We stayed for four days before travelling out to the coast and returning for one day. As we made our way back for our second stay, it really felt like we were returning home.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank topofworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

Reviewer: British resident in Morocco

Feel the rave reviews of the Riad el az need to be balanced. For the same price, you can find much better quality riads. The main problem with the riad was that it completely lacked charm; there was an eerie silence and you could hear everyone's conversations. The riad offers little privacy in this respect. Also, we were woken up at 7.00am by people having their breakfast right outside our door.

Another problem was that the en suite bathrooms do not have doors. This is absurd! I for one will never stay in a place which does not have doors on the bathroom. I definitely will never go back there!!!

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — No door on bathroom!!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JesRabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Amskal
Riad Amskal
#476 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Goloboy
Riad Goloboy
#463 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Anya
Riad Anya
#79 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Sholmes
Dar Sholmes
#116 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Sidi Mimoune
Riad Sidi Mimoune
#228 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Az? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Az

Property: Riad El Az
Address: 152, Derb Sidi M'Barek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #719 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing