We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A fine place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Az

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad El Az
Save
You added Riad El Az to your Saves list
Ranked #718 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A fine place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I can wholeheartly suggest this riad. Its lovely in its details, an very caring restauration took place. The only disappointment was that seating options for breakfast are limited to one nice table in the gorgeous courtyard and only cushions on the floor await you if you come late to breakfast, or the seating in the darker diwan room. I suggest that the owners should consider some more seating options for the breakfast in the courtyard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karimcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    19
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Riad el Az and enjoyed it very much. The rooms are big and comfortable, and the bathrooms DO have doors. The Riad is located 10 minutes from Djemaa el Fna, but in a quiet area. There is WIFI in the entire Riad area (also in the rooms) and a beautiful roof terrace. The superfriendly staff served a basic, but good breakfast in the courtyard. All in all a superb Riad where the price-performance ratio is convincing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soffiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The setting was stunning, of a small alleyway in the medina. the communal areas off the courtyard were very pretty with morrocan tiles. The rooms were basic but comfortable and there was a great roof terrace. Our Bathroom was very attractive with a very ornate door

the staff made the stay very special, they were attentive and genuinely friendly and a pleasure to be around.

The breakfast was fresh and consisted of bread & honey, moroccan pancakes and coffee. The location is superb, it is by the hospital and tourist police station - About 5 minutes easy walk to the main square.

This property is located near the Tourist Police building, there is a hotel at the end of the road (the turn off to the Sidi mimoun is just before the hospital) However this would be very hard to find without some local advice eg Taxi driver.

It is a 5 minute walk to the main square

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matty-os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, it was very hard to find and the phone number provided didn't actually work but once we found it, it was a very beautiful building with a lovely terrace and rooms. It was a bit confusing as there was no reception desk so when we wanted to speak to a member of staff we had to wander around looking for one.
The breakfast was a bit disappointing, literally some french bread and jam.
But it was good value and good location, and the manager took us to the airport himself when we had to leave which was nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L88London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We had booked into a different Riad, but there was a problem with our rooms and so we were moved to the Riad El Az. Although it was not as luxurious as the one we had booked it was beautiful and very quiet.
We had a lovely welcome from the manager and he gave us lots of advice on what to do around the city. The rooms were large, comfortable and very quiet we all slept very very well.
There were not many people staying when we stayed and this made it feel like we had the whole place to ourselves, which was actually quite nice.
The bread at breakfast was absolutely delicious and very fresh. We also had lovely mint tea when we arrived.
I would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charliegirl211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Riad El Az can be correctly considered a low cost but nice accomodation. The rooms are comfortable and clean, usual breakfast in the morning but savoury, good location because of its closeness to Royal Palace. The owner Danielle is very nice and also her staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

Riad El Az is a very clean, beautiful and friendly place to stay.. We felt like home. It is a very good location walking distance to all of the touristic attractions and Jameel Elfna which was very important to us as we did not spend our holiday waiting for the taxis every day.. The people are very friendly. The guy working there talks 6 languages that you definitely find a language to communicate. We had a lovely breakfast every day which was ready every day we waked up. It is safe that you can leave all your valuables without any hesitation. I recommend you this place if you are looking for a place which is very good for money.
Tijen

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
4.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#108 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
1.3 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#269 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
11.2 mi away
Be Live Family Aqua Fun Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Az? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Az

Property: Riad El Az
Address: 152, Derb Sidi M'Barek | Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #718 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing