We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“size of room important”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech
Ranked #129 of 1,168 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The people who own this Riad and the staff are all very nice and helpful. The only reason I write this is because this Riad has received such high reviews. Our room was very small and hot. So much so as to be uncomfortable and very difficult to sleep well at all. We had the smallest room. There was only about 10" of space on either side of the bed to the walls. Very little room to put suitcases, bags etc. anywhere in the room. If you select one of the larger rooms your stay should be very comfortable.

Room Tip: look carefully at photos and ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riaddarkhmissa, Propriétaire at Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2015
Google Translation

Merci infiniment pour ce gentil commentaire
je suis très content que ce riad vous est plu et qu'il est pu contribué à vous faire découvrir cette magnifique ville
Merci pour ce très gentil commentaire qui nous aide sincèrement dans notre travail de tous les jours
Milles mercis
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 306 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and adult daughter stayed here 9 nights, and would happily return for another stay. The prior reviews provide accurate information, to which we would add:
•One review had issues with limited English speaking. While this is true, we found it not a problem but rather part of the charm of Riad Dar Khmissa. We were able to communicate easily and, besides, these days there are French-English translation apps.
•The owners and staff are extremely nice and warm people, genuinely interested in being friendly and helpful. The owners, Vincent and Michel, rapidly become your friends.
•This is not a five-star hotel. But the location, attitude of the staff, and value make up for this.
•The bed/suite arrangements are sometimes not clear from the hotel website or various booking websites. If your party is larger than just two, it is worthwhile to email the hotel to see if you can be accommodated.
•Agree that you should ask to be met at the airport, which they are happy to do.
•The rooftop is developed into a breakfast/lounge/seating area, which is wonderful for relaxation.
•Google "36 Hours in Marrakech"; here is where 'they' stayed.

Room Tip: The bed/suite arrangements are sometimes not clear from the hotel website or various booking website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrosMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riaddarkhmissa, Propriétaire at Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2015
Google Translation

Merci infiniment
je suis très content que ce lieux aux milles promesses vous est plu et qu'il est pu contribué à vous faire découvrir cette magnifique ville
Merci pour ce très gentil commentaire qui nous aide sincèrement dans notre trravail de tous les jours
Milles mercis
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here for several nights while in Marrakech and loved it. It's close enough to the square that you can walk but also tucked far enough away from the square (on a little street) that you are able to escape the noise, hustle and bustle.

Our room was great - clean, beautiful and spacious. Breakfast on the balcony in the mornings was wonderful, and it was a real treat to have the entire place to ourselves.

Our only complaint would be the value of the private dinner party that the owner invited us to. While he was kind enough to drive us to the outskirts of town for an otherwise very enjoyable dinner, we were surprised to find the dinner billed to us at a rate much higher than what we would have paid for a comparable meal in town - I believe it was around 25 EUR/pp (which believe me - this is expensive for Marrakech)

Other than that we loved it and would highly recommend - just avoid any invitations to dinner at the owners place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I thought that this accomodation was perfect for our short stay in Marrakech. The location is great as it is close to everything (the main square is just 5mins walk), yet it is so peaceful and quiet as it is located down a side street. I would recommend you ask about a transfer from the airport as we got completely ripped off by a taxi on the way there) as this works out much cheaper and you know the person taking you will know where they are going. I thought the rooms were loverly, very nicely decortated and clean; beds comfy. There is a loverly roof terrace with tables, chairs and places to sunbathe and watch the sun set. Breakfast consisted of loverly fresh orange juice, tea, coffee, break, jam, and pancakes (it was very nice!), we were also told we could ask for lunch or dinner to be prepared for us, and am really regretting not taking up this offer as a quick peek in the kitchen revealed some delicious looking food!
Finally the staff...they were just fantastic, very helpful and polite...and I actually thought they spoke quite good english, they made our stay at this loverly riad even better!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liannebenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Riad Dar Kmissa

My wife and I, in our early 60’s, stayed at the Riad Dar Khmissa for eight nights in January, 2012. It has a GREAT location. The Riad is in the midst of the Medina, or Old Town area and within a short (3 minute) walk to the souks and the Djemaa El-Fna .

However, while the Medina swirls around you in what we can only term controlled chaos, the Dar Khmissa sits in a quiet back alley away from the crowds and noise. As others have pointed out, it is a peaceful oasis in the middle of a human maelstrom. And, once you walk to and from it once or twice, it is not hard to find again.

The owners and staff were very helpful. They created a very relaxed atmosphere that made us feel welcome and, moreover, that they were happy to meet any reasonable request graciously and expeditiously. For example, one of the owners met us at the airport,, which made our arrival an easy one, and one of the staff gladly did our laundry without asking for compensation (although we voluntarily gave her 15 dollars for what we figured was about 3 hours effort).

The room was small but quite sufficient for our needs. One small matter was that the shower had no enclosure so water tended to spread across a good portion of the tiled bathroom floor.

Internet access was good. This is in striking contrast to our subsequent experience in Essaouira and Safi.

We had only one problem with the Riad. As Americans with very lousy French, communication was an issue. The owners and the staff spoke either no or very limited English, which prevented us from taking advantage of their local knowledge and advice as much as we world have liked.

One small further observation. As others have noted, a Riad physical setup is different from a hotel. If there is a group of people that arrive late at night and eat or drink before retiring, or you asre still asleep when the staff begins to prepare breakfast, they are not in a room but in an open courtyard that can reverberate to your room. This was only a real problem for us one night and then for only a half hour or so. We did use soft foam earplugs as a precaution during our stay.

On balance, we felt it was, overall, a very good value and would likely stay there again despite the language difficulty. We will just have to work on our French. But we do feel the Riad would benefit from an English-speaking staff member, who undoubtedly would help attract guests from the United States, Great Britain, Ireland and other predominately English-speaking countries that regularly send tourists to Morocco.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
Thank JackfromMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

a truly wonderful stay. the riad was clean, and the staff was superb. from a timely airport pick-up, to a free upgrade on our room (our first night we were the only guests staying at the riad, so they bumped us up to a suite without any additional charge), to an unexpected but delightful guided tour through marrakech upon our arrival-from vincent the main host. vincent was helpful in pointing out best places to eat in the square, as well as getting us oriented to a city that is easy to get lost in. isham (the evening/overnight host) and layla (kitchen assistant) were extremely personable and kind. and beiga (sp?) the dada and resident chef was fabulous - our first meal, (four courses: two soups, salads, featuring a delicious chicken and olive tagine as the entree, followed by a delightful orange and strawberry iced dessert) was one of the best we had during our two-week stay in morocco.

great location. luxurious rooms. beautiful rooftop terrace. free laundry upon request. tasty food. free wifi. great board games (scrabble!). all in all, a wonderful place to stay and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aerielanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We just got back from our stay at Riad Dar Khmissa. It was a lovely stay, it was clean, comfortable and they certainly made us feel welcome. The dinner although a tad expensive was delightful. Breakfast is fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The Riad was so clean and tidy and in a really fabulous location. It could not be better really safe area and literally 3mins walk to the square. The only downsides are that I booked this thinking there was a swimming pool- there wasnt and that the door bell can wake you up during the night/in the morning. Aside from that I would recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nztolondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#38 of 501 in Marrakech
1,322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#26 of 501 in Marrakech
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 501 in Marrakech
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dar Mo'da
Dar Mo'da
#2 of 1,168 in Marrakech
452 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad 144 Marrakech
Riad 144 Marrakech
#44 of 1,168 in Marrakech
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Jona
Riad Jona
#35 of 1,168 in Marrakech
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech

Address: 166 Derb Jemaa Lakbira | Arset Moussa Lakbira, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 1,168 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $66 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Khmissa will seduce you with its freshness and calme. In the heart of the Medina, close to the famous Jemaa El Fna square, in a neighborhood that is the most authentic and warm Marrakech. You will see the top of his extensive garden terrace throughout the year, the heads of historical work of art marocain. In Riad Dar Khmissa, the art of living is obvious, as well as the art of giving the right to receive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Dar Khmissa Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Khmissa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing