We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Nimbus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar Nimbus
Ranked #216 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hamman and breakfast of roti (pancakes), bread, coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice! lots of friendly advice given as well
We were moved due to a large group coming to next door which was not as clean and the aircon was not as good and the bed not as comfortable
great location, 20 min to the square, directions given are great,be careful taking directions from strangers - you have to pay and can be lead astray
We had a wonderful stay at this riad. We arrived to our booked airport pickup, it was 120dh, a good price and you also get personally met and then escorted the last 500m by foot to the hotel. We had dinner for 15euro - the food is incredible, 3 courses of so of the most delicious food weve eaten! On arrival the manager met us, he is constantly available and helpful, he gave us a map and then escorted us to the start of the souks, then he sees if you can get back! but it is easy. there are also a few dairy's close by to buy water etc. The riad is approx 20min from the big square, best seen from 7pm on as it fills up - you will be hustled with fun, although if you photograph entertainers you will have to pay a few dirham. keep change for this and tips at food stalls as the price is the advertised plus 20dh for starters and a tip The nimbus was very clean and comfortable, air conditioned, wifi, great breakfast although not GF.many nooks to relax. The only downside was that a group came so we were moved next door to the other riad where the best was not as comfy or clean and the aircon not as good, but it was our last night so it was ok. breakfast etc and payment was still the same Definitely book a hamman, its upstairs and its alot cheaper than the other ones, local ones are cheap but DIY.for 10euro i had a sauna (very hot) then was washed with the soap and scrubbed i felt amazing! let them know in advance so they can heat it up. a wonderful stay in all and great value! thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mir7289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    66
    21
    5
    0
See reviews for
63
93
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very kindly people. . Quiet place in the north of the Medina. Ali - a very friendly man - shows you the way to next taxi. Following his description it is also easy to find the way back to the Riad. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This riad is definitely big and beautiful, with several separate area's to relax, lay in the sun or even cool down in the water. The owner is very nice and the rest of his staff are very helpful too. The rooms (with and without chimneys) are great and the bathrooms big. We were very impressed with this place and loved our stay. However, the breakfast was very disappointing, with a few pieces of bread, some Jam and coffee (you can ask for tea), Still, we would recommend this Riad, just go out for breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed 2 x 2 days in this Riad: two days planned in advance and booked via the internet, and after some administrative issues that kept me a few extra days in Morocco I just knocked on the door to check myself in for another two days, and this was no problem and they just charged the same price as the "special internet deal".
The riad is within the Medina walls (=the old city), but a good walk away from the main square (Jemaa El Fna) and mosque (La Koutoubia). You can reach the riad by taxi using the Bab El Inare Ben Abbes or by foot via the other babs on the northeast side of the medina.

The rooms are nice but basic (but you did choose for a riad and not a hotel), although each room has a AC unit (which I didn't use - preferred to sleep with open doors and window for natural cooling: but in mid July/August you probably would need AC).
The rooms are around two open spaces/galeries and outside your room there are loads of places to sit or lie on the banks. A very small pool allows you to cool down if/when staying in the riad during the hottest hours of the day. On the roof there are both sunbeds as well as couches in the shade. These places also offer great place to sit at night with friends as they are NOT directly outside someones room...
There is no public/shared TV, but the riad does offer you free WiFi internet that does provide speeds that allows for watching streamed TV or radio, although the internet connection does fail every now and then.
Breakfast (08-10 AM) is basic but OK, and is served outside. If you want to bring some additions yourself (eg bring your own cheese or anything else to eat) you can do that.
If asked/ordered in advance you can also get lunch or dinner in the riad.
Staff is helpfull and most speak good enough French to communicate normally, and one staff-member (Karim) also speaks some English, German and Spanish.
Owner is French, but not (always?) on site: he does live in France; but can be reached via email (darnimbus -at- yahoo -dot- fr
Staff can assist you in arranging airport transfer and car-hire where a driver will bring you out of the medina to the "new" city before handing over the car. Bus station is on (good) walking distance; from station or airport one needs a taxi or arranged transfer.

Room Tip: Swimming pool is very small: more a vert large bath to cool down in: swimming from one end to the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed two nights here and found the riad very clean, the service was very friendly. The Riad itself wasnt as pretty as others we have been to in Marrakech, but it has a lovely rooftop terrasse with views over the city. The main disadvantage was the access - impossible to find our way to Djeema El Fna without help, and impossible to find our way back in the evenings on our own!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaP13100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.6 mi away
Riad Amin
Riad Amin
#144 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Asdika
Dar Asdika
#100 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#120 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Limouna
Riad Limouna
#40 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
1.0 mi away
DadaMouss
DadaMouss
#268 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Hugo
Riad Hugo
#360 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Nimbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Nimbus

Property: Riad Dar Nimbus
Address: Bab Taghzout - 40 Diour Jdad | Sidi Bel Abbes, Marrakech 24000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Nimbus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a rooftop terrace and panoramic views of Marrakech’s Old Medina and the Atlas Mountains, this riad features an authentic Moroccan design. Guests can relax in the hammam or in the Spa or cool off in the plunge pool in the patio.The air-conditioned guest rooms at Riad Dar Nimbus are traditionally decorated with colourful Zellige tiles. All rooms have free Wi-Fi and an en suite bathroom, and some include a TV and a fireplace.Moroccan cuisine can be enjoyed in the dining area or on the terrace, and a continental breakfast is served daily. The riad can organise on-site massages, babysitting and visits of the surrounding area.The property is 1.6 km from the Majorelle Garden and 4 km from Bahia Palace. Marrakech – Menara Airport is a 15-minute drive away and an airport shuttle service is available upon demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Dar Nimbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Nimbus Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing