We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Charming house in a lovely neighbourhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Bleue

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Villa Bleue
Save
You added La Villa Bleue to your Saves list
Ranked #643 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Paris
1 review
“Charming house in a lovely neighbourhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

We spent four nights in this beautiful Riad located near the Majorelle Gardens, in a quiet and lovely neighbourhood with flowers and wild orange trees bearing fruits in the very street... The medina is a few minutes away by taxi. Our room was lovely, in a simple moroccan style, and the patio with the pool is quite a sight - a shame it was too early in the season for us to enjoy it. Patrick is very helpful with suggestions and tips for us tourists, decorated his riad with an artist's taste and makes a delicious marmalade !
Isabelle (Paris)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icpascale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    24
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
62
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

We visited March 2008. Patrick and his staff were excellent. They made our stay wonderful. We had comfortable twin beds, and a continental breakfast was included. Our bags arrived two days late and Patrick drove us to the airport to pick them up. He also dropped us off at restaurants and gave us details about places to visit, things to see and where to eat. He also set up affordable day trips with reliable drivers at reasonable prices. The rooms were of a decent size, the water warm, great views of the surrounding area. It is in walking distance of the Medina, but taking a taxi - easy to do - is preferable. We were glad we stayed here rather than in a Medina riad. Getting back bteween 7 and 9 from the Medina can be tricky, though. The hotel's price is reasonable, and is even a bit less today (Jan 2009) than what we paid last year. Patrick is a great host, you'll be glad you stayed here. La Villa Bleu is also about 3 blocks away from the very attractive Majorelle Gardens, well worth a visit.

  • Liked — The friendliness and helpfulness of the hotel owner
  • Disliked — No Internet service, not in walking distance to good restaurants
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthro101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

I spent 4 days in early oct .Patrick waited 2 hrs at the airport to pick me up .Upon arrival I was given a large room overlooking the pool.Since i was alone and it was quite late he invited me to join him and friends to go to a local restaurant with belly dancing.
So that was my introduction to Marrakech.
Its Patrick that makes this place so special.He is truly driven to make one's stay a memorable one and to help in any way he can.
The place itself is well run and very clean. .Breakfast is an opportunity to meet people from all over the world.
The location as stated by others entails 25-30 min walk to medina center and there are no restaurants around.However taxi's cost $2 .to go anywhere in the city.
For instance I paid $4 to go to the airport

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank pierre45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

I loved my stay here. Patrick is a dude - he helped organise trips, gave us invaluable advice, created a relaxed atmosphere so you can socialise with other guests if you want to (but no pressure), and plays a wicked game of cards. You feel like you're being looked after, rather than just booking some accommodation.

Thanks to Patrick and Yassine we really got the most out of our stay. We even went to hear Yassine sing one evening, which was one of my favourite moments of my stay.

The riad has plenty of unique touches thanks to Patrick's artistic eye, and is a relaxed haven away from the hustle and bustle. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Liked — great atmosphere and friendly
  • Disliked — sometimes hard for taxi drivers to find
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrillianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

We stayed at this very warm and friendly riad for a week in July. It is an excellent place to stay with a big and very clean pool where you acctualy can swim, not only take a dip as in many other riads. The riad is located in a very nice and quiet neighbourhood about a 20 minutes walk from Jemna el Fna, if you walk in the cool morning, when it gets hotter in the afternoon you might choose to take a petite taxi for 20 Dirham (3 USD). We never had any difficulties with these taxis, as long as you know how much to pay and Philippe at the villa is very good at advicing you on how to get around.

It was low season when we styed here so we were upgraded to the suite in the back yard, when you stay in this suite (Suite Douiria) you will acctually have a complete house of your own with a balcony overlooking the swimingpool with a lot of flowers all around. The setting is equivalent to any four star hotel, but you don't have all the electronic stuff like TV, waterpot etc. but there is a good air conditioning in the bedroom and the riad is spotlessly clean.

Like all hotels the building is one thing and what really makes the difference in the end is the people running the place. The family running La Villa Bleu is very friendly and helpful, allways doing their best in taking care of your needs in a very respectful way.

Just one thing before you go. Make sure that you have a map or a good description of the way and an accurate phone number to the riad if you go there by taxi since it may be difficult to find the address the first time, it is in a quiet back street rather close to Jardin Majorelle.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, friendly staff, quite location
  • Disliked — A little bit far away from downtown
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Resevandrare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in the Villa Bleue for a week and had a lovely time. Although a little distance from the medina it was lovely to get away from the hustle and madness of the busy old town. Patrick and all the staff couldnt help enough, and were so friendly and welcoming. Our poor French language meant that communication was sometimes strained, but they never lost patience with us! Patrick organised two day trips for the guests, to the beach at Essoaria and the waterfalls at the base of the Atlas mountains. Both outings were amazing, great value for money and exactly what we wanted to see whilst in Marrakech- (Quite lucky really, as we had been unable to communicate this!!)

Breakfast was lovely, and informal, it was ready for whenever we decided to crawl out of bed. The pool area was beautiful as well, with comfortable sun loungers and a shaded seating areas. The villa is small so there were never more than a few guests around the pool. It gave us a chance to get to know everyone staying in the Villa which was lovely too- and a long way from some of the bigger hotels we considered booking for our stay in Morocco.

I cannot reccommend the riad enough, it really was beautiful....we cant wait to go back.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank AntJoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

A gorgeous villa set in a quiet street outside the centre of Marrakech, the Villa Bleue was a delightful place to stay. Patrick, the owner, and the friendly staff, were amazingly helpful and ensured that we got the best out of our short stay. This small residence is designed delightfully, with engaging modern art displayed everywhere you turn. There's a lovely pool in the central courtyard, and a tranquil terrace overlooking the neighbourhood. The villa is ideally located for the Jardin Marjorelle and is a short taxi ride from both the Nouvelle Ville (ideal for 21st century shopping, spas, bars and restaurants) and the Medina (for the souks, plenty of history, culture, architecture and other worldly experiences). With the most basic recollection of my school French and plenty of English sentences thrown in, communication was not a problem at all. The owner organised a trip to the nearby foothills of the Atlas mountains, which was very memorable indeed. Ideal for a short break from London, I can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Amazing hospitality, cultured guests, refined yet welcoming atmosphere
  • Disliked — That I did not get the chance to stay longer
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kheilyameib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.0 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#23 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.3 mi away
Villa Amira et SPA
Villa Amira et SPA
#322 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,613 reviews
6.5 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#109 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Villa Bleue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Bleue

Property: La Villa Bleue
Address: 97 Bd Moulay Abdellah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #643 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Villa Bleue 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Majorelle garden, a street, lined with orange trees, leads you to the Villa Bleue. This artist-owned villa offers you a magnificent stay and an enriching cultural and human experience. The shimmering water, the lemon trees, the doves, the painting and drawings on the walls... a longing to varied sensation! From the patio to the lounges, from the terrace roof to the hammam, everything accounts for a keen choice of colors, materials and objects. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing