We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nine Nights in Marrakech Riad, April,2012” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Jardins de Mouassine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Jardins de Mouassine
Ranked #477 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nine Nights in Marrakech Riad, April,2012”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

An excellent location in the medina, but apart from the mayhem, down a quiet corridor. A cozy interior with an open floor plan. My husband and I were the only Americans while there. Other guests were French, Italian and Dutch. The staff was pleasant with little English spoken. Communication was not a problem, however. Breakfast was adequate served off the kitchen buffet style. The value was good. We thoroughly appreciated the homey atmosphere and comfortable beds when coming back from all the noise and excitement that is Old Town Marrekech. We were given our own keys and could come and go at any time.

Room Tip: Remember there are many stairs and if that is a problem ask for a room that will work for you. Our r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    42
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Everytime I visit Marrakech I stay here. The staff are charming and helpful and the place is cute and cosy. The prices are very reasonable too. I have spent some good hours up on the roof terrace with a glass of wine and a bowl of olives, or tucked up in the sitting room with a cup of coffee reading one of their fascinating books on Marrakech.
It's perfectly located in the Medina- close to everything but far enough back in the labyrinth to be quiet and peaceful. It's a good place for kids or groups too. They have a pool, but it's small- more a big hot tub!
Ladies- bring shampoo/ conditioner as they don't supply toiletries aside from soap.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmostMarchigiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Advantage 1: staff like Iman n Zack very accomodating, svc with a smile.Will ans every ques patiently, showing hot to get to nice attractions on d map. Giving useful, practical information.

Advantage 2: award received frm tripadvisor in 2010.

Disadvantage 1: Poor breakfast buffet. cakes, bread, butter n jam with fruits. Cold Coffee.

Disadvantage 2: No TV anywhere except in staff restrm.

Disadvantage 3: No one to answer to yr emergencies at night as the only staff will b asleep in his rm. you can wake him up if you knw which is his rm. this information wil nt b disclosed though.no telephone to make external calls too.

Disadvantage 4: shower head made of metal. Take a hot shower and you cant even hold the head. Failed praticality.

Disadvantage 5: this is subjective. There is a large white dog who wanders into kitchen n sleeps on the lobby sofa. Nt hygienic.

Disadvantage 6: cupboard has no space to hang clothes. No coat hanger to substitute this too.

Disadvantage 7: broken promise. Breakfast was promised even as we had to leave early to the airport. We were in d airport w dry throats. Nuff said.

Disadvantage 8: poor location. Very deep in d medina. Easily lost w no directional signs. Very dark street leading to it. Very dangerous fr families, ladies

EUR60 is steep to accept when u face such disadvantages.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siraj2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

We only stayed for one night at the end of our stay before we flew home. It was a beautiful riad, the staff were really lovely and accommodating. I found the location to be not as good as the other riad we stayed in purely because we found it confusing at night to find! All in all we were pleased but there were two snags which was that we were promised breakfast at 7:30am before we had to leave for the airport and the staff were not up in time, they just said they forgot, so we were just sat there waiting unfortunately! The second snag was that it is right by a mosque and at 5am we were kept awake by the praying. It was incredibly loud and no way could either of us sleep through it so try and book a room facing away from the mosque.

Having said that though the inside of the riad was really lovely and the rooms were clean. There was also a plunge pool that looked beautiful in the middle of the riad.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

I have been meaning to write a revue on Les Jardins de Mouassine for a while, however, being so busy just didn’t get round to it.

After being one of only two flights to leave the Gatwick due to snow and arriving in Morroco to around 20 degrees, things started of very well.

I rented out the whole Riad for friends and family for my 30th Birthday and it was one of the best experiences of my life. My friends and family left having falling in love with Marrakesh and I think a lot had to do with the Riad itself and the amazing Staff. David the owner and the other boys were amazing. Friendly, helpful and let us use the Riad as if it was our own.

We had a party there on the Saturday night which started on the roof top terrace with drinks and a traditional band and then moved down for dinner and a crazy party that was organised by David and his team.... Belly dancers were great and I have to mention the Chef who turned into one of the most amazing dance and singing acts I have ever seen....

I can not rate this place more highly, for value, area, friendliness, cleanliness and everything else on top....

I would like to thank David, Mohamed, Long haired guy whose name escapes me, and the rest of the team a personal thank you as well as a massive thank you from the rest of our group.

Christian

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christian1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

Despite it's humble exterior, this riad is truly a hidden gem! Reasonable priced (cards not accepted) it is well situated close to the "Big Square" (<1/2mile) but far enough away so that the noise is non-exsistant (apart from the call to prayer which starts very early and can be heard clearly if your room is on the roof terrace!!)

Rooms are beautifully decorated with traditonal decore but are also simple, the bed we had was a little hard but as we were only staying for 3 nights, it did not bother us.
The rest of the riad is also beautifully decorated and welcoming.
The breakfast is included and is simple but nice.
We visited at a fairly quiet time (not many other guests) so in peak times, breakfast might be bigger and i expect the roof terrace would be open for evening meals.

The staff are friendly and not in your face, leaving you with a relaxed and welcome feeling.

There is a plunge pool available to use and they do offer spa treatments, however, I cannot comment on these as we did not use them.

The Riad organises transfers from the airport and you are collected by taxi, but don't be surprised if soon after, you find your luggage suddenly being transferred to what looks like a giant wheelbarrow, with you expected to follow on foot. The "streets" are simply too narrow for cars and the entrance to the Riad is down an alleyway so there really is no other option!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helz16_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

This riad, a five minute walk from the souks and main sqaure is set in a quiet location. All the staff were warm, very hospitable and very helpful. Comfortable, traditional rooms with air con and heat.as required, gets chilly at night in March. Lovely breakfast of pancakes, cake, bread, fresh juice and fruit. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinto7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Dar Soukaina
Dar Soukaina
#186 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#68 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#62 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#58 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#36 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#22 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Jardins de Mouassine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Jardins de Mouassine

Property: Les Jardins de Mouassine
Address: 20 Derb Chofra El Kebir, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #477 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Les Jardins de Mouassine 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Les Jardins de Mouassine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De Mouassine Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing