We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real hidden gem away from the madness”
Review of Riad El Sagaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad El Sagaya
Ranked #261 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

As with all the accommodation I book on holiday, I always check out reviews on Trip Advisor first. I had narrowed it down to the El Sagaya and another, I made the right choice.
Admittedly its a little difficult to locate at first as it's a good 10-15 walk away from the main square, but it's well worth the effort, besides, it's ideally situated for other attractions.

Once inside, I was greeted by the manager, Youssef, a very polite, kind and warm man and host. Initially we were booked into the wrong room, but we were booked into ( in most opinions) a superior slightly bigger and more private room on the first floor.

Breakfast was included in the price and although fairly basic, it was lovely and plentiful. The dining area/main lobby was an oasis of calm and tranquility. The room was spotlessly clean and even though the water had stopped working once I had arrived, it was back on in a few hours and piping hot (this was NOT a hotel problem, the whole street had lost water too).

The bed was extremely comfortable and the chill area just compact enough to lounge around, read etc. One of the highlights though was possibly the main reason we decided on this riad.......the fantastic roof terrace. A huge open area of sunbeds, settees, cushions and basically lots of room to just do nothing but catch the sun or smoke shisha ( did both ).

Spotless, friendly, fairly well situated, great staff, chilled atmosphere and competitively priced, what more could you possibly want :-)
I'm ashamed to say that I didn't get to learn the names of all the staff, but I thank each and every one of you for making our 4 night stay a memorable experience.

Room Tip: If a couple, room 4, which I think is the Aladdin room is the one to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoppy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 189 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

You arrive in a busy noisy street but find when you step into the Riad calm and charming place. Yassine speaks good English and is a great character who is so helpful and makes sure that you are having a good time. My daughter and I had a great short break.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizandmiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Had a brilliant time at the riad, beautiful and peaceful. Lovely staff, very helpful, breakfast is great. Make sure you meet Yassine, true legend. Very Clean with a wonderful rooftop. Definitely stay here when you come to Marrakech! We truly recommend!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Neklas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Once inside, this is an oasis with plants, a fountain, clean spacious baths. The design is authentic, lovingly furnished. The staff is very helpful and the food is plenty + well prepared. It is best to get there from the city gate where the street is not covered (a very short 3-min walk).

If you come from the opposite side, via the Medina, you have to make your way through suffocating + deafening moped exhaust that drives tears to your eyes. In other parts of the Medina, the streets are shaded by reeds. Here it is mostly corrugated metal, trapping the fumes + noises (much worse for the market people who have to endure this daily).

I hope the Riad owners in the neighborhood find a way to limit the traffic or increase ventilation. (In Meknes or Fez there is no motorized traffic in the inner Medina.)

And to end on a romantic note, enjoy the cry of roosters from one of the lounge chairs on the beautiful roof terrace.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderLustig55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed here, it was an oasis of calm away from the craziness of Marrakech, it is in a great location, easy to walk around, lovely rooms, simply decorated, lovely food, great atmosphere, very much made to feel at home. However, what really made our trip was the kindness, the helpfulness and genuine friendliness and care that Youssef, Yasmeen and the rest of the staff gave us, they couldn't have been nicer, we will definitely be back- we highly recommend it

Room Tip: we looked into several of the rooms, they are all lovely, the one on the ground floor on the right h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 116tamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just stayed in El sagaya and it was a lovely experience. I don't think I could have coped with the madness I marrakech without the riad to go home to. Knowing I had a place to escape to was an important factor in me having a Good time.

The riad itself is gorgeous. There is a pool in the center which you can swim in however I didn't see anyone swim while we were there. The rooms are a good size, authentic looking and have good air conditioning. There is no noise from the street so it is very peaceful.

The staff were friendly. The two girls didn't speak much English but helped where they could. They also cooked the best lunch we had and it was very good value, 100 dirhams i think. There was a guy (who's name escapes me) who was lovely and a great help. We shared his shish with him on the roof terrace which is absolutely beautiful.

I would definitely go back to this riad if I went back to marrakech.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittynewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Fantastic riad, an oasis of calm and tranquility in the heart of the medina. Beautiful, simple traditional rooms, great friendly, cheerful and helpful staff, lovely rood top terrace. Well placed for walking to all the sites. I wish I could have stayed longer - recommended!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and even those nearest the street are amazingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandaj66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#459 of 501 in Marrakech
711 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#144 of 501 in Marrakech
535 reviews
1.3 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#253 of 501 in Marrakech
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#148 of 501 in Marrakech
345 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 501 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Sagaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Sagaya

Address: 150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#152 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $35 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Sagaya 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity - authenticity - Riad Elsagaya - Marrakech The riad is ideally located in the centre a Marrakech, a few minutes on foot from the magical Jamaa El Fnaa square and from the new city “Guéliz”. Annabella and Youssef, an Anglo-Moroccan couple, will look after you during time of your the stay. than the riad has 8 rooms that can accommodate 2 or 3 people and a large suite for 4 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad El Sagaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Sagaya Marrakech
Riad El Sagaya Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing