We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice hotel with an excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Sagaya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad El Sagaya to your Saves list
Riad El Sagaya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #241 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    60
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
25
67
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you are looking for a fair price as well as a good place to stay this riad looks a good option.In fact, the riad is really nice. When we booked our room we specified a clean room and actually the room was really clean,and spacious. The riad and its rooms have a traditional moroccon style, so it looks really fascinating. The owner was a nice and kind man and he offered us something to drink when we arrived. We have spent just one night over there and we did not have any breakfast because we left the room very early in the morning. The room was provided of hot water and we managed to have a warm shower (trust me, this is very rare for cheap riads in morocco!); a set of towels ,with different size (another treat that not all the riads reserve to the costumers, according to my experience); soap and pantene shampoo and conditioner (absolutely a rarety!!!). There were a couple of things which i considered unfair: firstly, the riad is located 40 minutes walking from djemaa el-fna, the main square! and the area is not good...however, there are taxis and buses just round the corner. Secondly, we asked to the man at the reception to book for us a taxi at 4.30! and he charged us 100 DH (10 euros) for a very short distance, plus i did not understand why we had to pay at the hotel and not the taxi driver himself, instead.
I guess they planned for a fifty-fifty! Anyway, if compared to our taxi tarifs and also, by considering the time he picked up us, i do not mind. Finally, the room was cold! Unfortunatly, the riads do not have heatings but they only use air-conditioning and even if it was already set to 30 degrees, the temperature in the room was never so warm as a real 30 degrees. however, we managed to sleep by using a big covert. In the room there was also a space to sit with a little table. I suppose it was for people who wish to relax and have their dinner or breakfast in the room. The riad was silent and safe. they give you the look of your door which is the traditional padlock used in morocco. The riad is located close to some little shops. If you need something to drink such as water, yogurt, fruit juice or coca cola (very popular) or some snack, they have a variety. I suggest to ask for the dinner the day before or in the early morning because apparently, they need the guests to book the dinner. We arrived in the evening and we demanded for something to eat but they said the kitchen was closed. this rule must be the same for any riad. Also, there's a possibility to book long trips and excursions at the riad. I marked this riad a 3 score just for the unfair position and the cold, but if you don't mind walking and manage to find a solution for the room, the holiday will be really comfortable at the resort.

Room Tip: As I suggested in my review, demand for a clean and warm room-shower. Always, book the day before yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossella91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Youssif and Bushra were kind and thoughful hosts. We had the family suite which was worth the extra. The breakfast was light but OK. This riad is central to everything but is an oasis of calm and quiet when required. We really wish we were not leaving.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidjmortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at Riad El Sagaya with a friend and we love it so much that we continued to go back during our time in Morocco. The riad is a slice of calm amongst the hustle and bustle of the streets of Marrakech, there is a beautiful courtyard with a small pool and a lovely roof terrace. Chambre 5 which came to be known as our room was nice and clean but the real feature was the shower...
The staff are really what made this guest house so nice to stay in. They were so friendly and helpful. We booked our excursion to Merzouga at a bargain price through the riad, they picked us up and dropped us back at the airport and held our luggage whilst we visited other parts of the country.
The riad is right at the Bab Doukalla entrance to the city, a stones thrown from the bus station and within walking distance of the Jardin De Majorelle. It is a 20 minute walk to Djeema El Fna which is just far enough away to get away from the noise but close enough to walk.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondeonamission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Finding tranquility is a challenge in Marrakech, but your ears pop once you enter this Riad. Youssef and his team welcome you with Moroccan tea, even the dog comes to say hi. Youssef's unique design upgrades gives you all the charms of the stylish past with the comforts of modern conveniences (wifi, solar hot water, etc). The terrace is large and perfect for groups to socialize or for the lone reader to hide. There's even a private hammam if you need a good scrub!
Breakfast is provided with the room, and you can also partake in a lovely candle-lit dinner in the courtyard if you ask (menus in the room). The location is scooter-chaotic typical, but close enough to the medina wall that if you turn left you can easily walk a block and escape it all by taxi, or turn right and snake into the souks and the past.
I stayed here a few weeks, so got to know the goings-on, including watching as he prepares for new paint and renovations...stay tuned.

Room Tip: upstairs in the courtyard give you a bit more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaketravelsabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We (3 of us) rented the apartment suite upstairs. It has a master bedroom with an ensuite bathroom and shower. The living room / bedroom had 2 single beds, and 3 sofas. The room was enormous. We were thrilled with this accommodation. This riad is clean and comfortable. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast ( and more importantly coffee) was very good. I recommend this place if staying in the medina is what you want. My only word of caution is that it is difficult to find. Local teenagers will offer to take you there for a price, but they just walk you in circles so you'll pay them more when you finally arrive. Its best to bring the address with you and ask a local businessman.

Room Tip: If there are 3 or more staying, ask for the apartment suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CVfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a most pleasant experience staying in this lovely riad on a recent visit to Marrakech. The staff are so helpful and obliging, nothing is too much trouble for them. Youssef is fluent in English and French and will organise transport, give advice, whatever your requirements happen to be, there is a general feeling that they want your stay to be as good as they can make it. Very happy to recommend this establishment and would definitely stay again on any future visits, the location makes it a good base to be able to walk to the main square, the souks and other 'must see' places but is far enough away from the main areas to get a real feel of general everyday life in Marrakech. As you walk through the very unassuming door from the hustle and bustle of the streets there is an instant feeling of peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: All 9 rooms are individual, some have windows onto the street, some onto the inner courtyard, don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulyn_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#301 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#265 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#244 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#137 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#333 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#275 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Sagaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Sagaya

Property: Riad El Sagaya
Address: 150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#156 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Sagaya 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity - authenticity - Riad Elsagaya - Marrakech The riad is ideally located in the centre a Marrakech, a few minutes on foot from the magical Jamaa El Fnaa square and from the new city “Guéliz”. Annabella and Youssef, an Anglo-Moroccan couple, will look after you during time of your the stay. than the riad has 8 rooms that can accommodate 2 or 3 people and a large suite for 4 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad El Sagaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Sagaya Marrakech
Riad El Sagaya Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing