We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad El Sagaya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad El Sagaya
Ranked #238 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at Riad El Sagaya with a friend and we love it so much that we continued to go back during our time in Morocco. The riad is a slice of calm amongst the hustle and bustle of the streets of Marrakech, there is a beautiful courtyard with a small pool and a lovely roof terrace. Chambre 5 which came to be known as our room was nice and clean but the real feature was the shower...
The staff are really what made this guest house so nice to stay in. They were so friendly and helpful. We booked our excursion to Merzouga at a bargain price through the riad, they picked us up and dropped us back at the airport and held our luggage whilst we visited other parts of the country.
The riad is right at the Bab Doukalla entrance to the city, a stones thrown from the bus station and within walking distance of the Jardin De Majorelle. It is a 20 minute walk to Djeema El Fna which is just far enough away to get away from the noise but close enough to walk.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blondeonamission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    61
    22
    6
    1
See reviews for
25
69
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Finding tranquility is a challenge in Marrakech, but your ears pop once you enter this Riad. Youssef and his team welcome you with Moroccan tea, even the dog comes to say hi. Youssef's unique design upgrades gives you all the charms of the stylish past with the comforts of modern conveniences (wifi, solar hot water, etc). The terrace is large and perfect for groups to socialize or for the lone reader to hide. There's even a private hammam if you need a good scrub!
Breakfast is provided with the room, and you can also partake in a lovely candle-lit dinner in the courtyard if you ask (menus in the room). The location is scooter-chaotic typical, but close enough to the medina wall that if you turn left you can easily walk a block and escape it all by taxi, or turn right and snake into the souks and the past.
I stayed here a few weeks, so got to know the goings-on, including watching as he prepares for new paint and renovations...stay tuned.

Room Tip: upstairs in the courtyard give you a bit more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaketravelsabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We (3 of us) rented the apartment suite upstairs. It has a master bedroom with an ensuite bathroom and shower. The living room / bedroom had 2 single beds, and 3 sofas. The room was enormous. We were thrilled with this accommodation. This riad is clean and comfortable. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast ( and more importantly coffee) was very good. I recommend this place if staying in the medina is what you want. My only word of caution is that it is difficult to find. Local teenagers will offer to take you there for a price, but they just walk you in circles so you'll pay them more when you finally arrive. Its best to bring the address with you and ask a local businessman.

Room Tip: If there are 3 or more staying, ask for the apartment suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CVfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Had a most pleasant experience staying in this lovely riad on a recent visit to Marrakech. The staff are so helpful and obliging, nothing is too much trouble for them. Youssef is fluent in English and French and will organise transport, give advice, whatever your requirements happen to be, there is a general feeling that they want your stay to be as good as they can make it. Very happy to recommend this establishment and would definitely stay again on any future visits, the location makes it a good base to be able to walk to the main square, the souks and other 'must see' places but is far enough away from the main areas to get a real feel of general everyday life in Marrakech. As you walk through the very unassuming door from the hustle and bustle of the streets there is an instant feeling of peace and tranquility.

Room Tip: All 9 rooms are individual, some have windows onto the street, some onto the inner courtyard, don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulyn_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Spent 3 nights with friends on our first trip to Morroco where we went to find a place that was independent, authentic and well priced. El Sagaya is all that and more as Youssef and his team provide an oasis of calm and an easy transition onto the hurly burly of life in the alleys of closely packed shops and souks full of colour that form the Medina the old part of Marrakech. Each evening we enjoyed coming back and chilling around the pool or on the terrace.

Happy to recommend, would easily go back to El Sagaya for more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PipoCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sible Hedingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have just returned from a weeks break in Marrakesh with my sister. I found the Riad El Sagaya through Lonely Planet and although the review there does not quite match up to what the Lonely Planet guide said, I really could not fault it.

The booking was made through Hostelworld and I contacted the riad directly to confirm the booking and arrange transport from the airport. I'd also checked their own website which doesn't really reflect what they offer. The pictures are a fair reflection of what the riad looks like but time has taken its toll and the reality is just not quite as polished as the photos portray.

Our flight was delayed but we were met at the airport by a very plesant man with a helpful sign and good English. The taxi had been paid for in advance by the riad so we didn't have to worry and the cost was added on to our final bill. I'm very glad we didn't try and find the riad ourselves as the door was so unassuming in a very busy street. From the chaos and hustle bustle on the outside, we stepped through to a beautiful calm courtyard, lit with candles and completely shutting out the outside world.

The owner, Youssef, was there when we arrived and after living in London for a number of years speaks very good English. He was very welcoming and gave us the guided tour, assuring us we were to treat the riad as home for the next week. He gave us a brief outline of the best places to visit and when as well as a "useful" map. We soon learnt that no map truly reflects Marrakesh....

The room was clean and comfortable, Towels and basic toiletries were provided along with a few hangers in the very spacious wardrobes. Although the bedding and towels were well used, they were clean and changed regularly throughout the stay. The rooms were also cleaned daily. There is plenty of storage and although there are no safes, the cupboard door in our room locked and there is a safe in reception although there is no access in to the riad from the outside world so I was not worried about the security of my possessions.

Breakfast in the morning was basic, Moroccan pancakes and fresh bread, fresh coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice and apricot jam. There were no set times and breakfast was served when we managed to drap ourselves out of bed and in to the courtyard! There is a small kitchen which isn't accessible to visitors but they will spare you some space in the fridge if you need it. The Moroccan diet seems to be quite carb rich so you might want some fresh fruit tucked away somewhere. The staff were friendly but their English is limited although they all spoke and understood French well.

The riad does offer meals but these have to be arranged first thing as the ladies who do the cooking do not normally work all day. We didn't take advantage fo this but there was a large group of Italian visitors who had two meals in the riad that looked and smelt great. Prices are very reasonable and it is possible to get drinks during the day.

Time does seem to stand still and although you hear the call to prayer from the nearby mosque, there is very little noise from the street which is surprising.

The riad is a lovely place to sit and chill out and an ideal spot to be based in. It's roughly fifteen minutes walk from the main square and right on the medina wall. We walked for miles and always managed to find our way back again but it looks very different when all the shops have closed and there is no one hanging around the streets!!

The staff were very welcoming and I think that if we'd asked for anything more they would have done their best to provide it.

If you are an animal lover there is also a very friendly spaniel that will appreciate your attention - he got so friendly at one point he decided to take up residence at the end of the bed!!

The price was reasonable, the beds were comfortable and the location ideal. There was no hassle and stress and I think if I'd wanted to stay there all day I'd have been left to it!! My only word of advice is all the rooms are en suite but the bathrooms have no doors, only curtains..... Just know your companion well ;-)

For a first time visitor to Morocco, Riad El Sagaya made my stay some much easier and I think we got a better impression of the city than you would staying outside the medina walls in one of the resort hotels. There was a little plunge pool which we didn't use but it was more because we didn't have the time rather than not being able to.

Couldn't fault it and if someone asked me where to stay, I would recommend this riad.

Room Tip: The rooms shown on the website aren't a true reflection on how the rooms are set out. We were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Wow!! I am an avid traveler and have been all over the world.. This Riad is beautiful, the location is great (on the edge of the medina, 10 min walk to the souq or 5 minute walk outside the medina). Youssef, the owner is kind and helpful. At times during my visit, I thought, I just don't want to leave the Riad. My room was amazing!! Very good experience and the price is right.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supersamdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#265 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#300 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#247 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#128 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
2.0 mi away
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
Domaine Le Relais de Marrakech
#349 of 504 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#330 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Sagaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Sagaya

Property: Riad El Sagaya
Address: 150 Rue El Gza | Arset Ihiri, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#156 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Sagaya 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplicity - authenticity - Riad Elsagaya - Marrakech The riad is ideally located in the centre a Marrakech, a few minutes on foot from the magical Jamaa El Fnaa square and from the new city “Guéliz”. Annabella and Youssef, an Anglo-Moroccan couple, will look after you during time of your the stay. than the riad has 8 rooms that can accommodate 2 or 3 people and a large suite for 4 people ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad El Sagaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Sagaya Marrakech
Riad El Sagaya Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing