We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooking class in Riad Attajmil”
Review of Riad Dar Attajmil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Attajmil
Ranked #18 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bydgoszcz
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Cooking class in Riad Attajmil”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have taken part in a few cooking classes and it has always been a great experience. Cooking in Riad Attajmil was quite different but it was very special for us. First, we were welcome with mint tea. Then we went for a shopping tour in the market. We bought everything that we needed for the dishes. We cooked in the riad's kitchen. We had to cut, peel, wash, slice etc. And we had a great fun.We felt that we were cooking for real. We worked with two friendly ladies and we had the opportunity to talk about life and people in Marroco. It was great fun. After that we had a great feast on the teracce. It was superb.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
175
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We loved staying at this beautiful guest house. It has everything you need and more. The breakfast is different every day, and dinners they prepare on request are lovely. Delicious food. The best we have had in Marrakech. It is a busy and crazy town and when you step in to the riad you can really relax. It is in walking distance of all the beautiful musea and the souks are around the corner. The hamam is a wonderful experience. We loved sitting on the roof terrace enjoying the view of the atlas mountains. We hope to be back with our daughters...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annebethlaurijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed here in January and had a wonderful experience. Hidden in the Medina, Dar Attajmil was an oasis in Marakech! The staff was outstanding and went out of their way to cater to our every need and want. Our accommodations were unique. We were in the Nomads room and it met our every need. We especially enjoyed the wifi. The food was also outstanding. We ate two dinners at the riad, but we really looked forward to breakfast every morning on the rooftop terrace. Lucrezia (the owner) helped us plan our stay in the months leading up to our visit and made us feel at home.. Then there was Mohammad. What can I say about him. I have never experienced such personal service anywhere in the world. He served our meals and engaged in great conversation with us. Although somewhat new to Dar Attajmil, Lucrezia found a jewel in Mohammad!!

The best part of our stay at the riad was the cooking class. Our guide to Moroccan cooking was Hend. She took us shopping in the streets and then enlightened us on Moroccan cuisine back at the riad. Along with the house cook, Hend really made the trip special.

Honestly, my wife and I found Marrakech a little out of our comfort zone, but Dar Attajmil made the trip for us. If you venture to Marrakech, Dar Attajmil will be your oasis in the sand!

http://www.charlestontreasures.net/2014/01/moroccan-cooking-class-and-day-19-of.html
http://www.charlestontreasures.net/2014/01/days-of-gratitude-11-18.html

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metung, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful small hotel in the Medina. A converted Berber house with bedrooms around a central courtyard. The breakfasts and other meals are excellent. The service is exceptional. The staff went out of their way to find a luggage scale for me. The cooking class was brilliant. Fast wifi in the lounge and courtyard.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank olderbutnotout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had an excellent time hanging out in one of the many relaxing areas, the hammam or the roof top terrace overlooking the Atlas mountains.

The warm and true hospitable staff will serve you great F&B....for example an everyday changing breakfast and excellent Moroccan food.
They really take care of you....Ibrahim and Mohammed walk the extra mile to make you feel right at home!

Additional upsides: perfect location, just 5 rooms, no tv's, no signatures.

Will return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvanderhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived by car, and then had to get to the Riad by walking with a boy pushing our luggage in a barrow. It is situated only 10 minutes walk from the famous square.

We were welcomed with mint tea and biscuits. All the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

We were in the Tea Room, which was beautifully decorated.

We decided to stay in and eat dinner in the Riad, and all the food was very tasty and beautifully presented. A lot of attention to detail was given. Breakfast was equally good.

I thoroughly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franny_coops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Our first point of entry to a three week trip of Morocco at the end of November was Dar Attajmil.
We were picked up at the airport and brought there, and into what a lovely world we entered. The Dar is charmingly decorated, and has a roof top terrace where we sat for delicious breakfasts accompanied by the most beautiful bird song. Lucrezia's staff are superb, and we could see this, as they ran the place during the first two days of our visit, since she was still in Italy. Food at Attajilmil was the tastiest we had in Marrakesh, and the whole dinning experience was a pleasure right down to the china, and the way the table was laid. Marrakesh is a wild and wondrous place, and yet how soothing it was to return to the care of Ibrahim and Mohamed, and the quiet pleasures of Dar Attajmil.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lois T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 499 in Marrakech
228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 499 in Marrakech
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 499 in Marrakech
886 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 499 in Marrakech
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Attajmil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Attajmil

Property: Riad Dar Attajmil
Address: 23, Rue Laksour | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad right in the heart of old Marrakech. 4 rooms only and a large garden terrace with hammam. Excellent location, central, safe and easy access. Cosy feel and special mentions for the way it's cared for and the surprising cuisine. Last, but not least, the excellent price for what it has to offer. The riad offers an interesting cooking experience with its chef, with shopping in the old food market of Bab Doukkala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Attajmil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Attajmil Marrakech
Riad Dar Attajmil Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing