We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New guy at old place.”
Review of Riad Dar Attajmil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dar Attajmil
Ranked #18 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“New guy at old place.”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Have just completed a brace of 3 day visits to Dar Attajmil with a trip to Oulidia in between. Standard from last year has not dropped even with the loss of the wonderful Nouridin. His replacement Hassan is obviously a fast learner under the tutelage of the remarkable Ibrahim.
As Lucrezia's right hand man Ibrahim runs this riad with the utmost courteous efficiency ... All staff are friendly and respectful and this quality is the topping to this lovely accommodation in marvelous Marrakech.

Room Tip: See if the Tea Room is available... Also try the smaller Nomad Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billabongshade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    28
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
176
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mebourne
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We have stayed at Dar Attajmil a number of times and it never fails to disappoint. The riad is peaceful, beautiful, clean and rooms are lovely. Lucrezia and the staff are friendly, warm and helpful. The riad is also in a great location - close to Djma el Fnaa and Bab Laksour.
I highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metroviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks,
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Like many others, this was our first trip to Marrakech and this riad was recommended by some friends.

It didn't disappoint and was absolutely beautiful. We were well looked after, so much so that on the night of my partners birthday when we decided to have a evening meal at the riad, they presented a birthday cake to my partner. It was so touching and simply reflected the care and attention that the staff give to the place and all who stay at Dar Attajmil.

This is a piece of heaven in the midst of the hustle and bustle of the souk. It's very well situated and only a few minutes walk to the main Square.

We will definitely stay here again and I can't recommend it more highly. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I expect all the rooms to be as wonderful as the one we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiFruit_Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was our first trip to Marrakech and this was the perfect place to base ourselves. From the welcoming cup of mint tea to the organising of the taxi for our trip to the Mountains, this Riad provided for our every need.
Its location is perfect, right in the heart of the Medieval Medina, less than 5 minutes from the main square and souks. When it all got a bit too much you are able to retreat behind an almost hidden large wooden door into a banana tree filled oasis of calm. The relative smallness of this Riad gives an intimacy that absorbs you in, filling you with such peace.
We ate at the Riad for our first night and were blown away by the flavours (and the size) of the meal. Delicious Moroccan salads followed by a traditional tagine and then dessert.
Hassan, who welcomed us at the edge of the Madina (taxis are unable to get to the Riad) and escorted us through the maze of streets (actually only about 400m but felt a world away) waited on us for the rest of the stay, ensuring that we were perfectly looked after.
The breakfasts were served on the roof with a view of the main Koutoubia mineret and were big enough to set us up for the whole day (although it is near impossible not to graze on nuts and olives as you go around the souks).
Our room was well appointed with an excellent shower room, the only interruption was the morning Adhan that reminded us that we had some more sleep to do!
We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to any who ask.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VandATruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

i stayed 6 nights with my husband at Dar Attajmil We arrived there in the middle of the night At first glance, we were afraid because the street of Dar Attajmil was little dark and small but next day We discovered that the place is very safe. , very close to the mosque el Fna Square There are many shops and super markets around Dar Attajmil , Moroccan decor was beautiful, the furniture was very comfortable ,staff was very Friendly , Nice and helpful ,food was amazing we really enjoyed thank you Lucrezia for this such a wonderful place :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Dog
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Marrakech you won't find better than Riad Dar Attajmil, we absolutely loved it. It was the ideal oasis in this mad mad city. There are only four rooms, so very intimate atmosphere. Lucrezia and her staff, Ibrahim, Hassan, and the totally amazing cooks couldn't have been more friendly and eager to make sure that we were as comfortable as possible.. The rooms are smallish but very clean with fluffy towels and an array of exotic lotions and potions to use in the shower. Much of the action takes place on the roof terrace where you can eat breakfast, lunch and dinner, or simply relax with a drink and a good book. Notice the word 'drink', it's not that easy to find alcohol in this moslem country but the 'Dar' will always provide you with a cold local beer or a glass of very nice Moroccan wine.
On our last night it was a bit chilly outside so Ibrahim laid out our dinner in one of the small rooms downstairs, he lit the fire and put out scented candles and then served the most wonderful last meal for us. Yum, those artichoke hearts !
As for the city itself, we expected to haggle but we didn't expect to be constantly hassled. We ended up hardly buying anything because even just browsing was such an unpleasant experience. No one will leave you alone and everyone demands money. Don't ask anyone the way or even dare to take anyones photograph because they will ask for money and get quite shirty if they think you haven't given them enough. I know it's a different culture, just takes getting used to I guess.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Lucrezia and her wonderful staff did their best to make our 10 day holiday as enjoyable and easy as possible by booking restaurants and several excursions for us and lending us an adaptor so we could recharge our batteries. We celebrated a birthday and were surprised to be presented with an extravagantly large vase of roses and a card. We had one delicious lunch and dinner at the riad, and breakfast produced new delights every day. We enjoyed the beautiful terrace with lots of different seating areas, ideal for meals and relaxing. The free tea and coffee served with Moroccan pastries was much appreciated. We were sad to leave.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms can be small, but this does not matter as there are so many places to hang out, ei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 499 in Marrakech
228 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 499 in Marrakech
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 499 in Marrakech
886 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 499 in Marrakech
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Attajmil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Attajmil

Property: Riad Dar Attajmil
Address: 23, Rue Laksour | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad right in the heart of old Marrakech. 4 rooms only and a large garden terrace with hammam. Excellent location, central, safe and easy access. Cosy feel and special mentions for the way it's cared for and the surprising cuisine. Last, but not least, the excellent price for what it has to offer. The riad offers an interesting cooking experience with its chef, with shopping in the old food market of Bab Doukkala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Attajmil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Attajmil Marrakech
Riad Dar Attajmil Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing