We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Dar Attajmil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Attajmil
Ranked #5 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Everything and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Not knowing what expect this trip Riad Dar Attajmil provided an excellent base to explore the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The staff were attentive, helpful, and just plain great at their job. From our first meal on the rooftop terrace through to our departure, the team could not do enough for us.Excellent food, with attentive staff who encouraged us to get involved with life in Marrakech, which we were a bit nervous about after the recent events. The Riad itself is tastefully decorated and is very close to the main square where is just where you want to be. Just want to thank everyone that made our stay a memorable one, and we would thoroughly recommend Riad Dar Attajmil.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptygirl027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    25
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
169
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

Marrakech was an unknown quantity on our latest trip. To hear some tell it, I should expect to be rushed by a swarm of beggar children, crippled women and carpet sellers as I left the airport, and followed around by them for the duration of my stay. Obviously that was not the case, but Marrakech *is* a very intense city - a lot of noise, chaos, pollution, color, exotic smells etc - everything I had hoped it would be. But walking into Dar Attajmil was like walking into another world - calm, soothing and quiet. This riad was the highlight of our 22 day journey around Italy, Morocco and Spain. From the wonderful food served in the morning, to the helpful English and French speaking staff, to the clean and comfortable rooms, it was really a great experience. Also, the wireless was extremely helpful, enabling us to cache our iPhone maps for the twisty experince of navigating the souks.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaeleku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

Dar Attajmil was everything we expected and more!

From the friendly welcome we received from Lucrezia and her team of staff plus her two little black cats to the fabulous service they provided throughout our stay, we have nothing but praise.

Our airport transfer to the hotel was booked directly with Lucrezia (around 5 Euro per person). Journey time was about 20 minutes and when we arrived in the town late at night, we were glad that we did otherwise we would never have found it! Ibrahim from the hotel was waiting to meet us at the taxi and led us down the maze of tiny alleyways to the hotel.

The hotel is simply stunning, a typical “Riad” with a lovely interior garden consisting of vast banana trees and lots of exotic flowers and as there are only 4 guest rooms, it feels more like your own private house instead of a hotel.

The rooms are spacious and beautiful, decked out in Moroccan rugs and ornaments and with typical brickwork and tiling. Air conditioning is provided but we preferred to leave the doors slightly ajar to get fresh air instead.

Keys to the hotel are not provided nor needed – staff are available 24/7 and you simply ring the main doorbell to be let in, regardless of the time.

The roof terrace is breathtaking – a haven of peace and tranquillity and the perfect place to relax in the late afternoon, laid on the sun lounger with a large gin and tonic, gazing at the Atlas Mountains in the distance!

Breakfast is served here each morning, lots of fresh fruit, rolls and marmalades which set us up for the day. If you request it the day before, the team will prepare a typical Moroccan, 3 course dinner which is also served out on the roof terrace. There wasn’t any “set” menu but rather, whatever is available and fresh from the market on that day. After all the hectic activity in the town centre, this is the perfect anecdote. Sitting outside on a balmy evening under a starry sky, enjoying an excellent dinner (we had mixed salads with fresh crusty bread, a tagine and fresh fruit salad with small cakes). It was just perfect!

The old town centre with the famous market is only a 10 minute walk away. It took us several attempts to find it directly but half the fun was getting lost and discovering all the tiny shops dotted along the way. Watch out at corners though for speeding mopeds and donkeys!

All in all, it was the perfect short break and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeeBee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Quiet, gentle, attentive staff; such a relaxing, calm atmospere.
Proprietor away but looked after with respect and consideration in every aspect:

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenandMark5960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

An amazing and beautiful hotel! Lovely courtyard and roof terrace which is so quiet and relaxing with traditional Moroccan decor. We got served very tasty free lemonade when we were sat on the roof terrace once and got yummy mint tea on arrival. The room (The Tea Room) was lovely with a very nice and pretty en suite bath room (very nice shower!). However it was a bit dark inside which was fine in the evening (atmospheric!) but in the day it would have been nice to have a brighter light! Lots of air con so we were never too hot when in the room. Breakfast on the roof terrace was delicious! Moroccan pastries, yoghurt, fruit, freshly squeezed OJ and coffee or mint tea. We had lunch there one day and it was very tasty, best meal in Marrakesh although we did eat at relatively cheap places the rest of the time! We got picked up from the airport and taken to the hotel which was nice and it seemed easy to find. However, the first evening we went out and found the Jmaa el Fna easily but got pretty lost coming back! Saying that, it was easy to find when we were used to it. When we arrived we were given a very useful map of marrakech and shown some good places to visit. This was useful although we were charged for it on the bill which we werent aware of at first! Lucrezia gave us useful advice on how much we should pay for taxis and also about getting a henna tattoo (avoid the black ink!). Overall wonderful hotel and i would definitely recommend this as all our negative comments weren't major complaints and everything else was amazing!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahandjoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

This small riad is located conveniently in the medina giving a base to which you can easily return during the day. The whole building is furnished in a very authentic style and has a very Morrocan feel with western comfort. The staff in the riad could not have been more helpful or welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. This included arranging trips out of town at reasonable cost and with trusted drivers and guides. A very attractive breakfast is served on the roof terrace and dinner can be arranged as required although there are plenty of places nearby. We recommend the Cafe Arabe. Overall this riad is a good choice in the middle price range.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suffolkpunch56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at the Dar Attajmil in May 2010 for four nights. Never having been to Morocco before, we wanted to make sure to have a pleasant hotel and a safe haven. We definitely found it with the Dar Attajmil. It is beautifully decorated throughout, and although our room (Fiancee Room) wasn't huge, we felt 'at home' because it was so beautiful and above all and most importantly clean. The bathroom was quite big, with beautiful mosaic in the shower and around the sink. The roof top terrace is stunning, you can hear the buzz of the nearby little alleyways (but it is not disturbing or loud) and five times daily you can hear the call to come and pray from the nearby mosques, which sounds so beautiful. The Dar is very conveniently located, just a few minutes walk to the place Jemaa al Fna, where you can go to enjoy a meal in the evening (it doesn't look trustworthy, but it definitely is! And what an experience, with all the buzzing and drums, oriental music, cooking, people walking by....). The staff at the Dar have been incredibly kind, courteous and helpful, we have never experienced this anywhere else in a hotel (they even bought a tajine for us, so we would get one for a fair price)!!) We have also had dinner twice at the Dar, and enjoyed the meal in a very romantic setting on the roof top terrace. The food was very very good, both breakfast and dinner (and of course the mint tea!). The hotel also offers day trips, a cooking course (the cook accompanies you into the souk to buy the food as well!!) and hammam/massages. All in all, a very pleasant and tranquil stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weristdenndas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#11 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#14 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Attajmil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Attajmil

Property: Riad Dar Attajmil
Address: 23, Rue Laksour | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#23 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Riad right in the heart of old Marrakech. 4 rooms only and a large garden terrace with hammam. Excellent location, central, safe and easy access. Cosy feel and special mentions for the way it's cared for and the surprising cuisine. Last, but not least, the excellent price for what it has to offer. The riad offers an interesting cooking experience with its chef, with shopping in the old food market of Bab Doukkala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Attajmil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Attajmil Marrakech
Riad Dar Attajmil Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing