We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just not happy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Farah Marrakech
Ranked #442 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My girlfriend and I were in Marrakech for a five day break for my Birthday,We decided to stay an extra day so we looked on the net and found this hotel,a cheep price on a last minute booking site but on arrival we're put into a room that did not match the one we had booked,we were given twin single beds pushed together not even may up as a double but two singles.i went down to reception to ask about this just to be told that's all that was available by a young man with a sarcastic attitude and smile,he continued to say we will sort you out a better room next time you come,there won't be a next time ,the pool area was nice,the deal was full board,the breakfast was nice lunch and dinner let it down with not much variety

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction G, Directeur général at Hotel Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all, we want to thank you for having chosen Hotel Farah Marrakech for your trip in Marrakech.
We are sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations and we would like to present our sincere apologies for the troubles you have met during your stay in the Hotel Farah Marrakech.
Be sure that all your remarks has been considered and the appropriate measures have been taken.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better next time.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

The bedroom was spotlessly clean and the bathroom very clean and all in working order. The beds were comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful but a bit boring - only one sort of juice, limited fruit, one cheese, one meat. But there was plenty of it. Overall, the hotel seemed rather drab - an excess of red and brown, even the artwork on the walls was fairly colourless. Staff went about their jobs diligently but without much enthusiasm. A smile or a 'good morning' always goes down well but neither were forthcoming from the staff here. The hotel was adequate; I would stay here again if I had to but it is far from being a favourite.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction G, Directeur général at Hotel Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all, we want to thank you for having chosen Hotel Farah Marrakech for your trip in Marrakech.
We are sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations and we would like to present our sincere apologies for the troubles you have met during your stay in the Hotel Farah Marrakech.
Be sure that all your remarks has been considered and the appropriate measures have been taken.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better next time.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Comfortable and good size hotel rooms. For the price you pay I think you get pretty good value for money. Swimmingpool area good and very helpful man around the pool.
Breakfast totally ok and nice to be able to sit outside to have breakfast. The staff in the Bar could be a but happier, not a very relaxed athmosphere in there and the staff in the reception was a bit varied. The man by the gate really friendly and helpful to make sure you get a taxi from across the road when needed. Good location, 5-7 min in taxi to the Medina and you always pay 40-50d. Make sure you put the do not disturb sign up otherwise be prepared to be dressed at all times as cleaners just walk traight in without knocking. After telling reception they knock but leave you no time even to open the door before they let themself in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagdalenaNilsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amine_lakrary, Multi-sites E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like thank for taking time to give us your feed back during your stay , we are also glade that your experience has been pleasant and hope you felt home .
We at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech are focused on Guest service quality in term of consistency also committed to create everlasting experiences .
Looking forward to welcoming you at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech very soon and for la longer stay.

Warmest Regards

Mohamed Amine Lakrary
Multi-sites E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

On arrival at Marrakech airport, we were greeted by Hammid, a holiday rep who drove us to the hotel and helped with our bags. There were also various trips available through him such as a horse and carriage ride to and through Jema El Fna, as well as trips to the Atlas mountains and tours of the city.

The Hotel had a decorous pool in the day with plenty of sun loungers but by night it was lit from beneath creating a dim calming aura, perfect for grabbing either an alcoholic or non-alcoholic beverage from the bar and taking a seat in the harmonious atmosphere.

One brochure commented on the hotel saying that it was a 10 minute walk away from Jema El Fna, but we found that it was 15 minutes when you walk through the drive way of the Royal Mansour and approximately 20 minutes when you walk around the city walls, but both routes have exquisite views so it was not a problem. In addition, it is good not to be to close to the centre as it gets quiet loud and busy but it is not so far that a taxi is required.

There are a Myriad of different sights to see and places to be, both in the day and at night. For our visit we used 'Pocket Rough Guide Marrakesh', and if you can then pick up a few free maps whilst your there so you can always know your way. The Golden Tulip Farah is often located on the map along with the Kenzi Farah.

I would recommend Musee Marrakech, which is a museum with various pieces worth a look at. For 60 Dirham you may gain entry to both the museum and the Koranic school, which I believe to be the oldest in Marrakech, if not Morocco featuring great architecture.

The Saadian tombs play host to great history running parallel with great architecture again and the Koutoubia gardens and mosque are a pleasant sight, although non-Muslims are unable to enter the mosque, but may still visit the gardens.

You can also head into the new part of the city which has a marble shopping area and has the start of the bus tour with the red busses which is an enjoyable ride. There are two tours, one for the North of the City, one for the South, but one ticket will get you on both.

And of course, Jema El Fna which by day is nice with the market, you must get a glass of fresh orange juice for 4 dirham. The souks are narrow and all sell the same 4 things; silver tea pots/Silverware, spices, leather or knock off clothes. Some restaurants in the Souks have open top roofs, giving you attractive views of the Atlas mountains and a few that we found offer 3 course meals for 60 Dirham each. By night, it has a vibrant, spirited and energetic atmosphere with cheap traditional food, great music, snake charmers, and story tellers who every time tell the story different so to not bore the locals.

If you can, then avoid the tanneries, as they give you a four minute tour then take you in to an over priced leather shop. Then on exit ask you for 50 dirham per person for the brief tour.

So all in all a pretty good Hotel.

P.S Take Imodium just in case, and watch out for the motorbikes. When you cross the roads, just be brave but watch for red-light jumping at traffic lights.

Room Tip: They are all fairly basic, but cleaners are daily and if you hang the sign on the handle, they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction G, Directeur général at Hotel Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Dear Guest,



It was a pleasure to read your review, thank you for such a lovely feedback !

We are so happy we made it right for you and you had such a lovely stay with us. Thank you for feedback about our staff.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor.fr !

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Hotel Farah Marrakech.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I was there on 7-8 May, with expectation of a great hospitality though I am not great critique of the facilities hotels provide. The reason I had expectations because I had a good Biz related interaction with a Senior Gulden Tulip representative and the way he behaved set my expectation very high..

The Location of the hotel is good, very close to the center point of the Marrakech, so I give full point on this. It is also close to Railway station. And most of the things are a km walk away form the hotels. Most of the good hotels are also around so location wise this is amazing hotel. I like it. BUT

Rooms are out of date: In India, a 3 star hotel has better rooms than this.
Bathroom: same story, the flush button was not functioning properly.
Floor: I am not happy.
I was not happy with the room they gave but on request they changed.
Swimming pool is OK,
Breakfast is worst there was no fruits, only 1 juice option, Mesamen was also not up to the standard. You can get a better Mesamen on the street of Marrakech.

I request hotel to get some reviews and improve the breakfast asap.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harapila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction G, Directeur général at Hotel Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all, we want to thank you for having chosen Hotel Farah Marrakech for your trip in Marrakech.
We are sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations and we would like to present our sincere apologies for the troubles you have met during your stay in the Hotel Farah Marrakech.
Be sure that all your remarks has been considered and the appropriate measures have been taken.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better next time.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were there on BB basis and I have to say I wasn’t very impressed with the breakfast. Not much choice for my liking....However I loved the Moroccan tea they served!! The Hotel lobby is beautiful and their restaurants with Moroccan architecture were lovely! The hotel’s garden is also impressive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prashan3253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction G, Directeur général at Hotel Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Dear Guest,



It was a pleasure to read your review, thank you for such a lovely feedback !

We are so happy we made it right for you and you had such a lovely stay with us. Thank you for feedback about our staff.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor.fr !

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Hotel Farah Marrakech.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I am coming to Morocco for 30 years and this is my favorite hotel in Marrakech, well placed for walking to medina (20 minutes slowly) with nice, peacefull garden and large swimming pool. It is reasonably priced hotel. I made reservation by MTS travel agency, madame Najat Badri, who found me a nice room with balcony looking to the garden (room 554) in high season.
Breakfast buffet is varied and fresh, you can have also lunch in the garden. Generous evening buffet, specially Friday with delicious Moroccan evening, great buffet and nice music. Staff is really friendly and helpful, room comfortable and very clean.
I certainly recommend this hotel any visitor, because I am coming here for years.

Room Tip: I have double room with balcony, loking to the garden (room 554)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amine_lakrary, Multi-sites E-Commerce Manager at Hotel Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
We would like thank for taking time to give us your feed back during your stay , we are also glade that your experience has been pleasant and hope you felt home .
We at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech are focused on Guest service quality in term of consistency also committed to create everlasting experiences .
Looking forward to welcoming you at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech very soon and for la longer stay.

Warmest Regards

Mohamed Amine Lakrary
Multi-sites E-Commerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#246 of 500 in Marrakech
2,548 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Rawabi Marrakech & Spa
Hotel Rawabi Marrakech & Spa
#296 of 500 in Marrakech
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Andalous
Hotel El Andalous
#404 of 500 in Marrakech
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#453 of 500 in Marrakech
1,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#413 of 500 in Marrakech
437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#213 of 500 in Marrakech
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Farah Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Farah Marrakech

Address: Avenue President Kennedy | Avenue du Président Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#197 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#219 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $42 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Farah Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Farah Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Golden Tulip Marrakech
Hotel Farah
Marrakech Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing