We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but nothing else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Ranked #382 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Location but nothing else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel was about 20 minutes walk from the old town and about 20 from the new area so good location. Swimming Pool was freezing and you need to pay to use the indoor one.
Breakfasts were pretty awful- scrambled eggs and lots of breads. I am usually okay with this but these did not taste like egg. Fruits were okay for breakfast with yoghurt but ran out very quickly. They do pancakes in the morning but a very long queue every morning to get a pancake, which was lovely once you got it! Bread was nice as were the pastries but not really an enjoyable breakfast. Cereals limited and not very fresh.
If you are just looking for a place to stay for the night then it's great, but don't expect much from the food. Indoor swimming pool, massages, sauna is all at an extra cost which is quite different from european countries I usually go to
Room was lovely- spacious and bathroom was clean, with shampoos etc replaced daily.
The old town was lovely and lots of nice restaurants, fresh juices to choose from.

Room Tip: Try and get a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samira345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    298
    261
    136
    89
See reviews for
188
340
52
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mortagua, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Not the best, but it is a good one... 30 minutes from Old Town... 10 to Gare... The same problem of almost everyone on the level... cleaness.. could be better...English is kind of a wall for those who don't speak french, like me, but staff help as they can... restaurant Marocain is a good choice...

Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The female receptionist was quite aloof when we arrived and didn't even have a road map for us! So we left the Medina without a map which was a bad idea. Apart from that, the rooms were good with balcony, location is OK (around 30 minutes walk and more to the city), breakfast was really good with a lot of selection to choose from! Supermarket (carrefour) is around 10 minutes walk away which was easy for us to get water supplies.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I recently stayed here as part of a package tour around Morocco. First impressions were less than fantastic, as we were in a room where the safe was not functioning. Eventually our tour guide got us a new room where the safe worked. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast is above average based upon what we saw. The Moroccan tea at breakfast might have been my favourite in Morocco.

By the end of the tour, I couldn't wait to get back to this hotel. It's in a nice, quiet area. There are some really good restaurants that serve international food within walking distance. They have dependable wifi in the lobby, which comes in handy.

We took a taxi to the Carrefour, which was not too far away. A really nice diversion on a rainy day. There isn't much to do in Marrakech on a cold, rainy winter day. Overall, I would probably stay here again. It is about average and I have stayed in worse in the US and UK.

Room Tip: A room on the pool side is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hjbentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Golden Tulip Farah is a brisk 40 minutes walk from the centre of Marrakech, so taxis (maximum 30 dirham each way - you will be asked for 150) are essential. It is in a good area.
The hotel has the advantages of a very quiet room of reasonable size with good furniture and a balcony. The safe is very useful. The room is a good retreat from the hurly-burly of Marrakech.
The downside is that the food is poor. Breakfast is basically scrambled egg and bread, with jam. Cereal is available, but not specially good. Evening meals are very overpriced compared to restuarants in the town.
The grounds are beautiful and spacious, having a large grassed area with numerous trees, and a good sized swimming pool.

Room Tip: You need to be on the second floor, away from the main areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinchesterExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Golden Tulip while celebrating the New Year in Marrakech. For me, the best part of my stay here was the service - specifically all the assistance we received from Reda in reception. As a non French or Arab speaker, it was fantastic to find a person on reception that not only spoke English but went above and beyond in terms of accommodating 3 girls from the UK. When we requested assistance/changes (a larger room to accommodate us, extra towels, blankets, help to book an excursion and dinner reservations, etc) all our needs were met. Thank you, Reda, for helping to make our first time in Marrakech memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelleb929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is situated in a good area where there are lots of posh places to visit and importantly the standard of the service provided in this hotel was very high, the staff were friendly, especially the receptionist named Reda Ader, he was extremely helpful and catered to all our needs, he even delivered extra pillows, towels, blankets for us. We did have a few issues when we came and through the guidance of Reda, we were able to sort out problems, he even changed our room as we were not satisfied with it. Also he made reservations for us, helped us find taxi's, recommended places for us, without his support, our stay in this hotel would not have been the same. I would definitely recommend this hotel purely because of it's service, the staff were pleasant and the overall experience was good.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisha643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rawabi Marrakech & Spa
Hotel Rawabi Marrakech & Spa
#311 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#281 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 1,927 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Andalous
Hotel El Andalous
#308 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atlas Asni
Hotel Atlas Asni
#252 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#155 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 899 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Suites Marrakech
Novotel Suites Marrakech
#264 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech

Property: Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Address: Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#183 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#200 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Golden Tulip Marrakech
Hotel Farah
Marrakech Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing