We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By trip's end my standards may have been compromised but this was just fine!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Farah Marrakech
Ranked #410 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Of the four hotels we stayed at during a recent visit to Morocco the Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech was the best. It was not four star as advertised but fine for our needs.While the rooms were not bigger or significantly nicer than the other hotels the property was set up and designed to be accommodating. Service was for the most part delivered with the grace and sincerity that Morocco is famous for. My husband left a book in the restaurant and it was safely waiting for him at the front desk the next morning.The garden and pool area were delightful and our room enjoyed a lovely balcony where each morning I could sit and enjoy the fresh air before the onset of the day's heat. I grabbed coffee from the restaurant buffet, returned to my room and lingered with the view before facing the frenetic pace of the Moroccan traveler.The bar was spacious and the wine selection adequate and served, for the first time in our trip, by the glass. A large lobby also accommodated our group socializing.Unfortunately the food in the buffet was disappointing both at lunch, dinner and breakfast but at this, the final phase of our vacation, we had come to accept the limitations of the food and eat with some caution as others in our group had become ill by the time we reached Marrakech. The hotel includes a few quite interesting shops that were always closed when I was in the hotel which was disappointing as I had some Moroccan currency that I wanted to get rid of and had seen some quite nice items in the store windows.The hotel location is perfect for easy access to the famous Jemaa El Fna square and the labyrinth of soukes. The property seems to be a vacation destination for young French vacationers who fully utilize the bar and pool area.

Room Tip: As the elevators are a little undependable ask for a lower floor so the stairs are doable. Be sure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction G, Directeur général at Hotel Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Dear Guest,



It was a pleasure to read your review, thank you for such a lovely feedback !

We are so happy we made it right for you and you had such a lovely stay with us. Thank you for feedback about our staff.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor.fr !

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Hotel Farah Marrakech.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 984 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is set in very attractive gardens in a quiet part of Marrakech. It's about a 20 minute walk to the main square and the soukes or about 5 mins in a taxi, horse and cart or tuk tuk! Cost for each vary depending on how good your negotiating skills are and how receptive the driver is. Anything between 40 and 80 dhs.

The room we were in was a duplex that opened out in to the very leafy and well kept garden. The bed was upstairs along with a cupboard. The bathroom and small living area are on the ground floor. Both parts were clean however the bathroom towels were a bit thin but perfectly usable.

The breakfast was a typical continental fare event with a mixture of pastries, cold meats and cheeses. Generally all of these were fresh. There were also a couple of hot items which didn't look very appetising!

The best (free) wifi reception was in the lobby area with virtually no wifi in the rooms.

All in all, a pretty safe bet for Marrakech on not quite a budget but a solid 3* hotel with great pool and gardens.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlaswegianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction G, Directeur général at Hotel Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all, we want to thank you for having chosen Hotel Farah Marrakech for your trip in Marrakech.
We are sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations and we would like to present our sincere apologies for the troubles you have met during your stay in the Hotel Farah Marrakech.
Be sure that all your remarks has been considered and the appropriate measures have been taken.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better next time.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed here last week for 4 nights and were quite disappointed. The room allocated was a duplex (two levels). Its ground floor was sticky and crawling with ants. Paint was cracked and peeling off the walls. The upstairs ceiling was very low. The air-con was basic. The bathroom paint was damp and, in places, mouldy.

Tired, we slept there the first night and in the morning asked for a change of room. The new room had (slightly) better air-con and a great view of a brick wall just outside the room. Interestingly, the receptionist did not appear at all perturbed when we asked for a change of rooms.

For a (purported) 4 star, this was very basic indeed.

Others have criticised the breakfast, so the less siad about that, the better ..

We shall not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thebatsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction G, Directeur général at Hotel Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all, we want to thank you for having chosen Hotel Farah Marrakech for your trip in Marrakech.
We are sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations and we would like to present our sincere apologies for the troubles you have met during your stay in the Hotel Farah Marrakech.
Be sure that all your remarks has been considered and the appropriate measures have been taken.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better next time.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights last week and I was disappointed.
The hotel is fine - clean but in need of updating, a basic at best and certainly not 3 star.
The restaurant and bar staff were extremely nice, the reception staff were extremely rude at check in and checking out. We also consulted with reception about tourist options and were told they done have any tourist literature - (not even a photocopied map with the city highlights indicated) and that there isn't much to see n Marrakech except some gardens. A huge disadvantage to a hotel in a city where there is so much to so and do. Luckily we are self sufficient people.
The bedroom was fine - old but clean however the table on the balcony was broken.
The buffet breakfast is very poor quality.
The pool area is really nice but a huge lack of sun beds and a tolerance for people reserving beds ALL day even when exploring this great city all day.
I have to say I wouldn't return to this hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank RnRLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction G, Directeur général at Hotel Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all, we want to thank you for having chosen Hotel Farah Marrakech for your trip in Marrakech.
We are sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations and we would like to present our sincere apologies for the troubles you have met during your stay in the Hotel Farah Marrakech.
Be sure that all your remarks has been considered and the appropriate measures have been taken.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better next time.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed two nights In this hotel + when travelling with my family. We booked a quadruple room and I can’t imagine to spend in such a room two weeks holidays. All this type rooms are located on the ground level (what causes in practice that you can’t keep window opened so often). There is a double bed on the upper level and two small single beds on the basic (ground) level, where also TV is located. However – there is no English channel available. There is not so much space in the room – so it is OK for the people who arrive for 1-2 nights but not for a long family stay. The fridge is available in the room but there was no kettle to make tea/coffee. The safe was in the room but the cost was high )50 drahms per day). The A/C in the room was very bad, especially on the ground level. It was much more comfortable to seat outside the room – in the lobby. There is no Internet in the room, Internet is available in the lobby/reception area (free). The breakfast was really basic (even no juice – only a sweet drink with slightly fruit taste). In the afternoon and in evening there was no possibility to eat a’la carte. The only one possibility was a buffet dinner, starting at 8 pm and the price was 200 drahms per person (drinks are paid additionally).
The staff was very polite but my impression is that an overall hotel policy is first of all to charge the guest all the time (high price for safe, comparing other Moroccan hotels, only an expensive buffet dinner as the proposal to eat something in the evening).
And final remark – Marrakesh is a very hot city in July and August. We arrived to Marrakech from Agadir with only one purpose – sightseeing and next back to Agadir for leisure. I am sure, I would be very tired after holidays spend in July in Marrakech, even spending all the time at the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction G, Directeur général at Hotel Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all, we want to thank you for having chosen Hotel Farah Marrakech for your trip in Marrakech.
We are sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations and we would like to present our sincere apologies for the troubles you have met during your stay in the Hotel Farah Marrakech.
Be sure that all your remarks has been considered and the appropriate measures have been taken.
We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better next time.

Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked this hotel knowing that it had some bad reviews however looking at the nice pictures of the hotels gardens and pool convinced us that it can't be all that bad. I'm afraid we were very wrong.

True the garden is nice but that can't be said for the rooms. Tired looking, flat pillows, broken tv. No kettle for making tea in the room. On top of that the breakfast which was a buffet was a nightmare. Queues of people waiting for the food trays to be replenished. Worst hotel breakfast we have ever had.

My opinion stay only if you are looking for shelter for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qamarR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Tulip F, Directeur général at Hotel Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2015

Dear Customer,

First of all, we want to thank you for having chosen Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech for your last trip in Marrakech.

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations and we would like to present our sincere apologies for the troubles you have met during your stay in the Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech.

Be sure that all your remarks has been considered and the appropriate measures have been taken.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better next time.


Sincerely yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked this hotel through BA as a package with our flights etc and paid quite a good price considering it was a 4* hotel in the Easter holidays. I wouldn't rate it as 4*, the food was fabulous in all the a la carte restaurants though expensive (did not try the buffet) and the pool was nice, however the rooms were not what I'd expect in a 4* hotel. Fortunately the staff were very helpful and upon seeing our displeasure at our family being placed at different bungalows in different parts of the hotel (one of which was up some stairs in the back of some driveway area and the doorknobs were broken!) we were moved to much nicer and more modern split level suites at no extra cost.
The staff were helpful, the bar is lovely and the moroccan tagine was delicious, though they seemed short-staffed in the restaurant each day.
Location wise it was an easy walk to the souk and the main sights.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDatta81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction G, Directeur général at Hotel Farah Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2017

Dear Guest,



It was a pleasure to read your review, thank you for such a lovely feedback !

We are so happy we made it right for you and you had such a lovely stay with us. Thank you for feedback about our staff.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor.fr !

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at Hotel Farah Marrakech.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#245 of 501 in Marrakech
2,463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlas Asni
Hotel Atlas Asni
#293 of 501 in Marrakech
1,216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#383 of 501 in Marrakech
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Andalous
Hotel El Andalous
#394 of 501 in Marrakech
824 reviews
2.9 mi away
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
Zalagh Kasbah Hotel and Spa
#457 of 501 in Marrakech
828 reviews
0.4 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Farah Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Farah Marrakech

Address: Avenue President Kennedy | Avenue du Président Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech)
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#191 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#215 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $48 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Farah Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Farah Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Golden Tulip Marrakech
Hotel Farah
Marrakech Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing