We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Location, Unfortunately Very Basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Ranked #360 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
birmingham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Great Location, Unfortunately Very Basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at the Golden Tulip Farah from 25th -30th March it cost us £244 for a twin room with a garden view for 2 people BB and around £500 each for the flights. Its and cheap price and the saying goes you get what you pay for. I wouldn't rate this a 4 star hotel more like a 2 star. I will begin by pointing out the positives. The staff are generally very friendly warm and attentive.If you ask them they will book restaurants on your behalf ect There is a pool and sun loungers and you do get breakfast included in the price and you get a bed shower television and your own toilet shower. It is also a fantastic location very close to the airport and Medina and other hot spots.
Now to the negative points - The lifts are tired and old and need fixing. The carpet on the 3rd floor is disgusting stained and dirty. The white bed linen they provided me with was stained and the duvet covers are old tired with fluff and bits. The cleanliness of the rooms was below standard. The cleaners came every morning to rearrange our belongings rather than clean. They don't change the bed linen. I resorted to putting mine in the bathroom and throwing water on it to ensure that i would get new bed linen but it was always stained somewhere so made no real difference. The television is basic with 1 British channel and then BBC world news. There was no remote for the television. The room is very basic so don't raise your hopes. There was no working wifi or computers for the duration of our stay. They had technical problems. I found this rather inconvenient we had to resort to going to the hotel next door (Kenzi) to use the managers office to search for Hamman spas in the area. The hotel breakfast was very basic if not dire! The highlight of the breakfast was the lady making pancakes. However, she was not there every day and once she had run out of mixture that was it. Breakfast is served from 6.30am 10.30am food should be provided like promised during those hours. But it was more like first come first serve and some days certain foods were just not there. There was no consistency. The eggs were cold and looked sloppy, the potatoes were cold. The cheese if they had any tasted like rubber. The fruit and pastries were decent. The hotel don't upsell their services at all. We had to ask about trips and certain services. We went to the Atlas mountains through the hotel and that was fantastic! Bring plenty of money because there are things to buy everywhere. You can get private drivers to the mountains a lot cheaper than the hotel. 400 Ds for 2 people was one quote we had but we had already done the trip and we liked the fact we were with other tourists.
Visit the Medina its very intense busy and dusty but there are some really nice restaurants overlooking the Medina. We paid 50 Ds but you can get a taxi there for 20-30D we just couldn't be bothered with haggling.
There are also plenty of really nice restaurants close to the hotel some places are a bit pricey but if you want to treat yourself then you will find it really good value.
Do visit an Hamman spa outside of the hotel. We went to Les Bains De L'alhambra we had a facial a scrub wash foot rub and full body massage and steam for £55 each or 550d. It was the most relaxing experience I have ever had. Its worth a visit!

Overall we had an amazing time in Marrakesh. Its a brilliant vibrant place full of culture and history. I will write a separate review for each place we visited.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    291
    256
    134
    82
See reviews for
174
333
51
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I took a group of students there for a 5 day school trip. They looked after us so well, accommodation was great, staff very friendly, lovely pool and lovely food. The place was busy but the standards were kept high. Our rooms were spacious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloeUK19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We just got back from a 5 night stay paying £124 per person in total for bed and breakfast.

We were four females sharing a bungalow and we found it fairly spacious. It was tedious and tiring to keep reminding them to leave four towels and not 2/3 each time when they cleaned the rooms but they got the hang of it on the last day. In the bungalows there we encountered less noise and more privacy. I asked for additional pillows and they were provided immediately.

We were a bit surprised there was no iron provided when asked and had to pay to have our clothes pressed but it wasn't expensive so we survived. So anyone travelling remember to take your travel irons.

Wifi was a bonus as most of us were relying on it for work purposes and was of a decent standard.

Breakfast was a buffet with grapefruit and very good yogurt, cheese, pastries, eggs, fried potatoes, plenty of bread and croissants, i was becoming sick of it by the 5th day. The waiters were attentive at breakfast and refilled quickly.

Location: The taxi ride from the airport cost 120dh for the four of us in the bigger taxi in the late evening (when the prices increase). The hotel is in a peaceful garden suburb in the clean area of Marrakesh surrounded by wide and green boulvards with luxirous hotels. It is about 25 minutes walk from the Medina (Taxis 20-30Dm to the Medina from the hotel). We walked it most mornings to the Medina.
Around the corner is cafe Extrablatt where you can get good quality cheap lunch and dinner as well as gorgeous desserts with a very pleasant service. We also had an evening reasonably priced meal here.

Concierge: Could be more useful in suggesting places etc they do help but only if you ask them. No information was found about anything in the hotel or in the room for excursions or activities.

Hotel Hammam: this was ok but we all found the massage was definitely not 40 mins as advertised but more 20-25 mins. We made the mistake of not checking the time before the massage.

To sum up this hotel i would say you get what you pay for. It was a comfortable stay for what it was.

Room Tip: Take your travel iron if on a budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RYousaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

For what we paid. this hotel was very good value and there was nothing wrong with it.
Our room was quite spacious with very comfy beds ,blackout curtains ,a sofa ,fridge ,hairdryer and good sized bathroom with bath /shower.Towels were changed daily ,and sheets were changed every other day.Our first room had a patio window that didn't lock ,and the receptionist immediately changed our room and sent a porter to help us move.We found all the staff to be courteous and helpful .
It was a bonus to have free Wi Fi in public areas.
The restaurant was adequate, with very attentive waiters,but food lacked variety and I would have liked to see some traditional dishes.On the other hand, we didn't see a chip all week and toast seemed to be an unknown concept.! There was a lovely old guy serving mint tea at breakfast,which was a nice touch.
The hotel is in a garden suburb ,about 25 minutes walk from the Medina and 10 minutes from Liberty Square,where there is a good supermarket.It was lovely to get away from the madness of the souks and Djemma back to the calm of the hotel at the end of each day.I would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Service is non exsistent at this hotel. Starting with our arrival there was no one to help us with the luggage from the car. Check in was efficent.
Room: desperatly in need of maintenance and upkeep, although room and bathroom was spacious for a 4-5 star you should have extra towels, pillows, robes in the room. WIFI in room NO,. Although they did provide an ethernt cable the location to plug into within the room is poorly designed. Safe in room didnt work.
General areas also need maitinance, carpets in hall ways were stained and furniture in bar and lobby areas need to be cleaned and or replaced.
Bar: decor poor, drinks very expensive, service poor
Concierge: asked concierge to help wth making and or suggesting restaurants for dinner, not helpfull at all: infact while trying to converse with him he walked away from us twice he just coudn;t be bothered.
Food: cannot comment woudnot take chance eating there went around corner to cafe Extrablatt where you can get good quality breakfast and lunch cheap. Made the mistake once and orderd coffee from room serivce one morning, had to call twice coffee eventually arrived cold and was undrinkable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgtny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direction G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech, responded to this review, August 8, 2015
Dear Customer,

First of all, we want to thank you for having chosen Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech for your last trip in Marrakech.

We are sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations and we would like to present our sincere apologies for the troubles you have met during your stay in the Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech.

Be sure that all your remarks has been considered and the appropriate measures have been taken.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better next time.


Sincerely yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was really nervous after reading the reviews, but if you have already booked DON'T WORRY - there is nothing wrong with this hotel !! My room was spacious and clean, towels and bedding included, well-lit, and the air-con / heating worked (important in December because cold at night), the staff spoke sufficient English and were friendly and helpful. A couple of minor requests for replenishing toilet paper and fixing the safe when it jammed, were dealt with speedily and effectively - no hotel in the world is free of faults, it's whether they are fixed that matters.

There's a snack-bar open all day by the pool which does coffee, cakes and light lunches, but you can sit for as long as you like without being hassled. Yes it is quite a walk to the Medina, but the hotel does not pretend otherwise, and the upside is peaceful gardens and space to relax. Which would have been even further improved without the muzak, but minor point. To be in the midst of the hustle and bustle, a riad would be better.

I had a room in the main hotel block on the third floor, and no issues with noise at all, though maybe this was because the hotel was not fully booked - cannot comment on the relative merits of the bungalows.

Food was fairly average but I'm not particularly keen on Moroccan food so that's my problem :-) Christmas Eve dinner was lavish and tasty, and would have liked to spread it over several evenings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
137 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed here for four nights and had a comfortable stay. The hotel has a pool area, three restaurants, a spa, and fitness area. It is located in the quarter Hivernage, about one kilometer from the Medina.

The rooms were nothing special, but proper and had a good size. The roomservice was reasonably priced, drinks were cheaper than in the international bars in the neighbourhood. The staff was friendly, but didn't provide the service you would expect from a four star hotel. The breakfast was sufficient, we enjoyed the Moroccan pancakes they served.

The best thing about the hotel was the location, it was only a ten minute walk to the medina and it was very nice to relax in this calm part of Marrakesh after a day in the city center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kfbkrebbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Rawabi Marrakech
Golden Tulip Rawabi Marrakech
#293 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#278 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 1,823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#156 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#309 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#204 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Atlas Asni
Hotel Atlas Asni
#271 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech

Property: Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Address: Avenue du President Kennedy, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#178 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#192 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and Travelocity so you can book your Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Golden Tulip Marrakech
Hotel Farah
Marrakech Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing