We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Les Couleurs de l'Orient
Nearby Hotels
Riad Idra(Marrakech)
$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$345
$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$209
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$300
$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$257
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$90
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad 72(Marrakech)
$152
$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$591
$515
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
33
16
5
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
16
5
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 58 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Nice hostel,very authentic. Breakfast although simple, was lovely. The only thing which made me feel a little bit uncomfortable was that our (private, en suite) room had no lock on it at all. So every time we left our room we had to leave our things inside the room without any sense of security. Otherwise, the location was excellent, the staff were, on the whole, nice. They always prepared a lovely pot of fresh mint tea whenever we sat in the common area which was lovely. One last thing I forgot to mention was that the sheets were quite torn and old. I would recommend this Riad to any one who wants a really authentic experience of Morocco.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davewavehm, Public Relations Manager at Les Couleurs de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Jessica,

Sorry for the delay answering your evaluation. I don't want to be negative, but as far as our staff remembers, you choosed not to stay in the room with lockers, but in one of the first floor room with no lock. It seemed to us that it was your choice.

Regarding the cleanliness of the room and sheets, sorry with all our heart if you feeled that. Our Riad manager, Mohamed, is crazy about this and checks sheets and all very often, on top of the job our maids are doing.

I really hope we can offer you a tea again if you pass by. And yes, people visiting us love the authenticity of the riad, that is 200 years old, by the way :)

Cheers from all our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here :) The rooms are so spacious and comfy, and the decoration is perfect! The breakfast is quite good, but the best thing about it is that you can enjoy in the beautiful main patio.
The location is great! It is a stone's through Djema el Fnaa Square :)

As a bad point I would like to say that the owner is quite serious and didn't seem very friendly, but at least he was very efficient.

Oh! And do not order any nail treatment or massage there. They are a rip-off!

Room Tip: The rooms at the ground floor are the best!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yo_yoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We did not book in advance, a man on the street took us to it, we stayed 4 nights 27th-30th December 2011 and on 7th Jan 2012. It is an old Riad which has signs of ware. This does give it an authentic charm. The room has a double bed and a bunk bed, the rooms are big, with shower and sink. There was a seperate bathroom with showers and a toilet on the same floor. The room had ornate panels in the roof, throw pillows and authentic lights. The rooms have high cellings and large door and windows. There is a central court for chilling and breakfast and access to the terrace roof. We found the staff to be helpful, the breakfast is at a set time and they will not move it for early departures. The breakfast was really good. If you are security minded it is hard here, they gave us a paddlock for the door but the windows dont lock so its fairly pointless, there is a metal cabinet large enough for suitcases which you can lock with the paddlock. The room was clean allthough the water in the shower was not extensive but hot. I lived in Morocco for 3 months and in comparison to most morrocon accomodation in this price range this place is at higher standard than others.

We paid 300dhm per night for the room (between 2 of us that was fine). If I return to Marrakech I would stay here again we thought it was great for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lola_kud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

The three of us booked beds in a four-bed dorm. No fourth person ever showed up, so we had a room to ourselves on the first floor overlooking the patio with floods of sunlight and a shower and sink in the room. We actually appreciated that the toilet was separate. The tile work, lanterns, throw pillows, drapery, and elegantly carved wooden table made our room cosy and fun! We were greeted at the Riad with Mint Tea. Breakfast included the same, freshly squeezed orange juice, lots of bread with butter and natural jam. There was no set cut-off time for breakfast, it was simply "when you wake up", which was a definite plus! The center patio is lovely and they have huge table umbrellas for when it rains. There is an awesome balcony where you can sunbathe and have picnics. When we decided to stay a few extra nights, there was no problem at all. Our stay was peaceful and altogether enjoyable. The location is excellent, extremely close to the main square and several museum spots. The staff was friendly and helpful, despite the occasional language barriers (the three of us only had basic French, the staff basic English). And they have a turtle!
Things to consider:
1) Like most riads in the Medina, this one is found in a little dark alleyway. Expect to pay a local to show you the way.
2) This is a very pretty hostel, but it is not luxurious. Just right for students and young people bursting with energy!
3) There was always a slightly dank smell in the room of wet clay (due to the shower, and the fact of it being an older building). We enjoyed the "naturalness" of everything in Marrakesh and simply threw open the windows and curtains letting the fresh air in.
4) Security - there aren't proper locks on the doors and windows, although their are lockers inside the rooms, so be sure to bring little luggage locks and a padlock of your own. That said, we felt perfectly safe in this Riad, without putting aside a general sense of awareness that is necessary at all times in Marrakesh.
5) I can't comment on the spa options because we didn't use them.
6) No computers, just free WiFi that sometimes works and more often doesn't.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elisabedda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanessaeric, Gérant at Les Couleurs de l'Orient, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011
Google Translation

thanks so much regards Vanessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I would highly, highly, recommend this place to anybody looking to enjoy their time in Marrakech, Morocco. This place was exactly perfect for what myself and friends were looking for (cheap, easy, and clean) and we couldn't have better things to say about it. When entering, they sat us down to give us Morocco's amazing mint tea while we signed the paperwork for our stay. This is certainly a hostel and not a luxurious hotel, but our rooms (stayed in an 8 bed room as 5 travelers) were huge and decorated like crazy with cool Moroccan art...the whole place was. For breakfast, I looked down from the second floor to see a table set for us 5 in the center of the hostel. Our breakfast was incredibly good and we were able to ask for seconds just fine if we needed it. I don't like to spoil everything but I definitely recommend this hostel. *Oh I forgot to mention there is a very cool terrace up on the roof where my friends and I hung out late into the night as we looked over the city of Marrakech.

-Terrill Petersen

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tpglove20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews