We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average rooms, poor customer service, overpriced, depressing pool, handy location for train station!”
Review of Mogador Opera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mogador Opera
Ranked #318 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel due to its location next to Marrakech train station. It is handily located for this but it is quite a trek 2 get to the medina. This is an average hotel which claims to be something better than it is. The customer service was appalling in every way. The receptionist was rude, the pool aid was reluctant to get towels & the breakfast staff were lazy. The breakfast was the worst we had in Morocco (& we stayed in some budget hotels). It is a buffet style breakfast but everything was stale, the bread, the cereal & the pastries. The juice was just squash & the jugs of hot water for tea had obviously been sat there from the beginning of service as they were no longer hot. There were plenty of staff to assist at breakfast, although none of them could be bothered 2 help. The room was ok, large & nicely decorated & had a shower & bath. Although the bath had no plug & the shower went from freezing to burning in seconds. The pool is also depressing as it is small & overlooked, boxed in by the walls of the hotel. Overall, this place was adequate for a night but it's nothing special & I would not want to pay full price or spend more than a couple of nights here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheafles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 413 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. It's located right next to the train station and in front of a beautiful theatre. Service is OK, rooms are nice and fresh. The restaurant is terrible (at least for the breakfast buffet). But maybe it encourages you to have breakfast outside the hotel and get to know real Moroccan food!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juan Pablo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was hesitant in rating this Hotel because its neither terribly good nor terribly poor. Average location (bit far from the centre, if one is not into walking taxis must be taken almost everywhere), a good 30 minutes to the Djemaa el Fnaa, Spa is not bad, rooms are ok, beautiful chandelier hanging on the entrance lobby. Breakfast was very poor but for less than 5 euros one can go to the cafe just outside the Hotel and have a quite good meal. Would probably stay again.
Rooms are ok sizewise, have to bang the door for it to close. staff very nice and friendly at Reception and Spa. Stayed for 4 nights.

Room Tip: try to get a room facing the pool. quieter at night, better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaPaulaLisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Situated near the train station (walking distance) and the airport, it was my last hotel of a 10-day trip in Morrocco. It was the perfect hotel for relax and unwind away from the busy streets of Marrakech. So for those who want "quick getaway" hotel for a good value , this is it. Otherwise, the location is rather far from all that's "happenings" in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We got a very competitive rate for this hotel and I thought it was very good value for what I paid.

Bed and Breakfast was utter rubbish. Busy and rude people everywhere just dumping yoghurt pots, and junk didn't like that at all.

The hotel was comfy, quiet, good shower, but couldn't take a bath because there was no plug!!

My view overlooked the main road but Moroccan traffic is entertaining to watch.

I felt it was an all round enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LD1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Myself and 3 friends stayed at this hotel on 17th march 2013 for 3 nights on a groupon deal...have to say we found the staff really friendly and the breakfast good...the rooms were clean and towels changed daily. no coffee making facilities in room but you could put a deposit down and have one. Also have to sing praises of Mohamed the one legged taxi driver who waits outside the hotel...had read about him on some reviews and we were not dissappointed...he was very reasonable, his english excellent and we hired him for 2 of our days...I do believe we saw more than we might have done had we gone through rep. He takes care to do what you want and is very good .I have tried to contact hotel both by e mail(came back blocked) and phone as i lost a little bangle either in the lounge there or in Mohameds taxi but have had no joy..perhaps this is something they should look in to.If you read this hotel people please look into my bracelet,booking in name of Y James

Room Tip: room overlooking pool was ok but did get noise of dogs barking...but thats not the hotels fault at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dispenser49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khadija o, Public Relations Manager at Mogador Opera, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your experience at we are delighted to read that you appreciated the service, the food and the accommodations!
opera staff are willing to offer you the best service quality for your stay; therefore your opinion is very valuable for us.
about your bracelet sorry but i think you lost it somewhere else cause we didn't find it in our hotel.i m sorry for your loss.
We thank you again for your comment and hope to welcoming you very soon in the ryad Mogador opera&spa.
Accept, , the assurance of our best wishes.
Miss.Khadija Elmourabiti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel in october for a week. First of all they couldnt find our reservation in their system so we had to wait until they find a manager to sort things out. Room was quit nice but expected more from 4 star hotel. Our safe box wasnt working so we called reception for help, they said they send somebody to have a look. An hour later we called again , because nobody came. My boyfriend got uspset and went downstairs to talk to receptionist third time. So finaly after 2 hours wait sombody came and fixed it. Breakfast was nice and a housekeeping done a very good job.

Thank Ugne D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
khadija o, Public Relations Manager at Mogador Opera, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear ugne D
Thank you for your feedback. We have noted your comment and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused.
i hope to welcoming you very soon in the ryad Mogador opera&spa.
Again, thank you for the comment which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service
sincerley
Miss Khadija Elmourabiti
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#211 of 499 in Marrakech
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Hotel Marrakech
Red Hotel Marrakech
#191 of 499 in Marrakech
537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mogador Express Gueliz
Mogador Express Gueliz
#404 of 499 in Marrakech
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#210 of 499 in Marrakech
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amani Hotel Appart
Amani Hotel Appart
#180 of 499 in Marrakech
290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mogador Menzah Appart Hotel
Mogador Menzah Appart Hotel
#360 of 499 in Marrakech
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mogador Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mogador Opera

Address: Avenue Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#160 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#182 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $44 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mogador Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located opposite Marrakech Train Station, the Mogador Opera Hotel & Spa is near the Royal Theatre. This hotel has outdoor swimming pools and a spa with a sauna and a traditional Hammam. Ryad's air-conditioned rooms are equipped with satellite TV and a private bathroom. Free Wi-Fi in the public areas and free parking are available. Ryad Mogador Opera has 2 restaurants, Le Bahia and Le Badii, that serve traditional Moroccan and international cuisine. Guests can also relax in Ryad's tea room. Services on offer include meeting facilities, hairdressing salon, baby-sitting, currency exchange and car rental. The hotel is easily accessible from the Marrakech Menara Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mogador Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Opera Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing